Jared Brennan

Vipertooth

May 16, 2006
Tasmania
Brisbane Lions
Anyone got any thoughts, anyone know him etc, i really want him to turn into an amazing afl player, he has so much potential but seems to be in a world of his own out there. He played pretty good in defence, hope they leave him there untill he becomes consistant. Will he be in our best 22?

Re: Jarred Brennan

Brennan has heaps of athletic ability, it's his decision making and consistency that let him down. He's still young though, and his development has been put back by an assortment of injuries.

He can still fulfill his potential. Even the likes of Lynch and Darryl White didn't develop consistency until later in their careers. It's just these days it's too easy to be impatient.

I have him in our best 22 in 2007. In my team, he either plays as a flanker or starts on the bench. In time he may become a KPP - he's 94kg, which is 10 more kilos than Jason Roe, who played on Barry Hall. He is yet to develop the physical side of his game though.

Jarred is one minute from oblivion unless he knuckles down and plays accountable football. We all know he has got the ability but has he got the mental toughness, time will tell and very quickly.

That's the thing with Brennan though: flashy useless player or unfulfilled potential?

From what Leigh Matthews said prior to trade week that the club "had high hopes for Brennan, and that he would not be traded" suggests that he'll be given every chance to prove himself.

Could be one of our most important players IMO. I'm not saying he will ever be in our top 5 players, but he is such a difficult man to match up on. Needs a good season this year, or he will take the Cupido path.
I agree its crunch time for Brennan next year. I thought the Lions might trade him this year whilst he still has some pretty high value. I think the Lions are taking the punt that he develops as, as everyone agrees he has huge physical talent but he just hasn't been able to convert that into the AFL game yet.

There was no-one that frustrated me more this year. He was finally fit but he kept making stupid mistakes, giving the ball away and seeming to bring a lackadaisical attitude to his game which highlighted his mistakes.

I disagree with you Vipertooth on where he should play. When he was tried in defence in that last game he was terrible. Not accountable and seemingly afraid of any body contact. I think they have to play him at half forward a kick in front of Brown and Bradshaw. Let him roam around drag men out and burn them off with his athletic ability. You have to hope though that his kicking can improve so that once he gets rid of his man he can actually deliver a decent pass into the forward line.

I agree its crunch time for Brennan next year. I thought the Lions might trade him this year whilst he still has some pretty high value. I think the Lions are taking the punt that he develops as, as everyone agrees he has huge physical talent but he just hasn't been able to convert that into the AFL game yet.

There was no-one that frustrated me more this year. He was finally fit but he kept making stupid mistakes, giving the ball away and seeming to bring a lackadaisical attitude to his game which highlighted his mistakes.

I disagree with you Vipertooth on where he should play. When he was tried in defence in that last game he was terrible. Not accountable and seemingly afraid of any body contact. I think they have to play him at half forward a kick in front of Brown and Bradshaw. Let him roam around drag men out and burn them off with his athletic ability. You have to hope though that his kicking can improve so that once he gets rid of his man he can actually deliver a decent pass into the forward line.

I think hes kicks are pretty decent besides the fact the person he kicks to is under pressure most of the time. I thouhgt he did well in the back line, he got more possies then he usualy does as well. When hes at hf he seems to go missing a bit!

I still think Brennan could be one of the best players in the AFL. He is indeed a confidence player, and I think this may result from him getting very down on himself when he plays a bad game. But that burning desire to play well is also a good thing, if it is harnessed correctly.

I don't think his form has been bad as people think. This year was his first year of getting regular game time. He had quite a good patch at the start of the year and then fell away a bit. But he wasn't the only one. I don't think he has had too many shockers, and much of the time he is being criticised is when he had 14 or 15 touches but had 2 or 3 glaring errors which stands out in people's minds.

I've always seen Brennan as an instinctive player struggling to come to terms with team structures and disciplines. I still think he has a long way to go, but he's good enough that he doesn't have to play his best footy to be a very good player.

I think one option for us is to move Bradshaw back in defence and play Brennan and Brown as our 2 pronged attack. Firstly I think Brennan has the ability, but it would really do his confidence and football education a boost working in tandem with the big fella. Brown would give him a kick up the bum if he was getting too down on himself as well.

Mod/Lady Lawrence

Please change title of thread to correct spelling of Jared (one R).

125259ag.jpg

i like him especially coz of his debut against none other than collingwood honestly could not have picked a better team to make such a debut against :D

and yes i do agree next season could be his last if he doesnt play to his potential

07 will be the year he has to prove himself, but personally i see his future in the forward line, not as a backman. His gift is his confidence, freakish nature, etc and that is too limited for him in the backline IMO. Start him on th half-forward flank and let him go!

As long as he doen't get lost on a bloody flank. Find the ball this year Jared!

Nope he is not going to make it. Unfortunate, since he could be one of the most exciting players in the comp to watch - but he won't. Simply too lazy to be anything more than a bit-part flashy player.

I don't know if he's improved on the commitment side either - the year he had all the injury problems (2004 maybe?) I saw him running around kicking a footy on an oval two days after injuring himself in a game - and didn't play again for about another three months.

He could be great for the game up here but I just don't reckon he'll make it.

All jokes aside, it is make or break for Brennan this season. Brisbane have obviously invested alot of time and energy into this young man, and whilst he has so much natural ability, I am not sure that he is ever going to get his head around the needs of being an AFL footballer.

I hope he does make it, but I really am beginning to doubt it. Damien Cupido had all the talent, but just plain lazy (from an outsider) and never got his head around his talent. I am not putting Brennan in that same mould, but he really has his career at Brisbane on the line this season.

I hope this isn't from a supporter of a team with Rusling and Egan?
Fair call. They're both probably overrated so far in terms of what they've actually done - Rusling especially.

The difference of course being that Brennan has been in the system four years compared to Rus and Eags' 2.

Cupido and Brennan may be comprable in terms of potentially wasting talent, but I think their attitudes are very different. Cupido was overconfident which led to a lack of application, whereas Brennan IMO lacks confidence which can make him try too hard.

Interesting point Grim.

I have been looking at the loose-defender role the Dockers like to use Mitchell Johnson in, and think that that would be an ideal role for Brennan, team-orientated but with room to channel his natural flair (for want of a better word) in a positive direction.

Gm's comments are spot on, it is not about over confidence but more of a fear of doing ordinary things. When Jared first came to play his performance was freakish and the whole footy community jumped on it. It was evident this year that he hung on to the football too much instead just passing or having a ping at goal. This is something he needs to get over, sure there will be times when he does something extraordinary but for the most part he must focus on quick thinking team play.

I think we should play with without an opponent possibly in defence as stated before and get his confidence up then I am sure he will blossem for us, imagine that, all our gun young players from this year playing well next season and the added bonus of new drafted players, harding, hooper and brennan all coming good, thats a lot of future superstars coming together at the same time, we will be back up there again!!!!!!!!

GO LIONS :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Jared Brennan