bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
Sep 12, 2001
I knew knobends existed in this country but wasn't aware that jocks existed. Actually, I went to a school that had a union team and they were mostly jocks. Just havn't seen them around for a long time.

Was in Melbourne on the Thurs night before the granny. Was at a pub in the city where they had TFS on a big screen. Pub was full of Eagle supporters.

There were 4 guys seated at a table not far from where I was. They were drinking and carrying on like jocks. Not just back slapping and high fives, but really strong and robust high fiving. Absolutely smashing each others palms into each other and doing the "ooh ooh ohh" shyte. I bet these guys would have been walking around and bashing their heads into lockers when they were at school. And lucky the pub was serving pots - had they been serving cans I'm sure these guys would have been crushing them on their foreheads when finished.

Where do these people come from? Anyone else had any similar experiences?

bunsen burner said:
I knew knobends existed in this country but wasn't aware that jocks existed. Actually, I went to a school that had a union team and they were mostly jocks. Just havn't seen them around for a long time.

Was in Melbourne on the Thurs night before the granny. Was at a pub in the city where they had TFS on a big screen. Pub was full of Eagle supporters.

There were 4 guys seated at a table not far from where I was. They were drinking and carrying on like jocks. Not just back slapping and high fives, but really strong and robust high fiving. Absolutely smashing each others palms into each other and doing the "ooh ooh ohh" shyte. I bet these guys would have been walking around and bashing their heads into lockers when they were at school. And lucky the pub was serving pots - had they been serving cans I'm sure these guys would have been crushing them on their foreheads when finished.

Where do these people come from? Anyone else had any similar experiences?
Welcome to the Wonderful (and Brainless) World of the Collingwood Supporter.

• Banned
Dogwatcher said:
Bunsen - what are you on about????

BTW secret, I don't wear jocks when I play footy.
Jock - Often depicted in American College movies. Guys who play sport, love themselves, and cruise around headbutting each other etc. Adam Sandler often takes the pi ss out of them in his movies.

• Banned
RoosterLad said:
Why didnt you say something to them BB if you were so upset?
Because it's disrespectful. You can't just walk up to someone, or a group of people, and say "you guys are complete tossers and I bet when you go home tnight you're going to **** each other's ****holes".

Not scared are ya?
It's fair to say that if I said what I thought I'd deservedly get my head punched in. Scared doesn't really come into it though. It's about respect or even wise decision making rather than fear.

It's like the guy who mouthed off at Dean Brogan. Disrespectful. Deserved to get a slap.

yeah BB agreed.... we don't get too many of them though given it's more of an american thing.

We've obviousbly got those sorta guys who are good at sport and go around thinking there king ****... but not too many who do the whole high fiving or chest pumping every time they do something good etc,. but i have noticed it creeping in to a lot of 13, 14 year olds when you walk around Sydney.

It's terribly American and something i'd hope doesn't become a mainstream thing in our society.

For anyone who still thinks their a jock once they've left school.... well they've just got issues. One thing i learned the minute i left school was how unimportant to the real world i was when i was in school. And that carries over to 99.99999999% of school children.

I remember you used to have the guy that everyone would be like "ooo don't **** with him, his brother has got connection", then there'd be the sporty (nearly jock-esque) types.... who i might add 99.9999% of them are now nothing more than average sportsman. then there were the guys so immersed in their studies but now struggle at university etc,.

best piece of advise i ever got (and i ignored it) was from our year 11 yearmaster who said at one of year assemblys "right now... your 16... your nothing... no one outside of your family cares about you... you'll hit that real world.. and that cosy little world were you're the coolest, the toughest, the best sportsman, or the smartest kid in the world will be shattered into a million pieces"

Did you get picked on as a child Bunsen?
I dislike jocks ...but you seem to have an unhealthy dislike of these people. Did they use the word "champ"

If they were giving you the shyts you should have told them to relax for a while so you could watch TFS. They only want attention.

A bribe would work also. Buy them a few beers and asked them politely to keep the noise down. (this will work if you are big, ugly and sober.)

Groove said:
Did you get picked on as a child Bunsen?
I dislike jocks ...but you seem to have an unhealthy dislike of these people. Did they use the word "champ"
Nope, but these people are waankers of the highest order. Maybe you're a jock and are just defending yourself?

skipper kelly said:
If they were giving you the shyts you should have told them to relax for a while so you could watch TFS. They only want attention.

A bribe would work also. Buy them a few beers and asked them politely to keep the noise down. (this will work if you are big, ugly and sober.)
The noise didn't bother me. The behaviour didn't aversely affect me in anyway except and had to stop and acknowledge to myself, "No way, I never knew that people could act like such bell ends and not be aware of it. Even worse is that these guys think they're cool as f***".

Should have glassed the biggest one there and told him to get the F out of your pub, but then, you strike me as a bit of a blouse bunsen.

Jock is my most hated word. I suppose it depends on each individuals definition of a jock but me and my mates were called referred to as jocks at during our high school years and usually by people who were for some reason jealous of our social standing/sporting ability or something like that. Always thought that people who use that word have a bit of a chip on their shoulder. That is not having a go at you BB because you might use the word differently to the people I know. Generally sporting environments bring out the sort of behaviour your talking about though.

Dog Town said:
Jock is my most hated word. I suppose it depends on each individuals definition of a jock but me and my mates were called referred to as jocks at during our high school years and usually by people who were for some reason jealous of our social standing/sporting ability or something like that. Always thought that people who use that word have a bit of a chip on their shoulder. That is not having a go at you BB because you might use the word differently to the people I know. Generally sporting environments bring out the sort of behaviour your talking about though.

Really depends, I mean that behaviour happens in footy and cricket of coursse, and basketball to an extent. Jocks to me are the kinds of guys who compete in rowing and polo and sh*t like that. You know, f*ckwits.

most of the jocks i encountered came from all boys grammar schools...i.e. there were'nt any chicks to tell em they were complete w**nkers!

once a chick tells you that you are a ****er, it tends to change your tune especially at age 16 or 17:p

whippersnipper said:
I assume you have that name because you like to check out the local ladies standing in line at Centrelink in Collingwood? Or is it the cheer squad?

Man, I'm re-reading what I wrote, and I'm not even sure what I meant by the Stephen Kernahan comment....

Anyway, whatever you reckon....resorting to stereotypes. Try another insult.
I'm not crying yet.

emperor said:
most of the jocks i encountered came from all boys grammar schools...i.e. there were'nt any chicks to tell em they were complete w**nkers!

once a chick tells you that you are a ****er, it tends to change your tune especially at age 16 or 17:p

Didn't work on me, I used have chicks telling me I was a w@nker almost daily.

Actually come to think of it, I kinda still do. Bitches.

jock.JPG

jocks