List Mgmt. Josh Kelly to North II - It's Over

We won't trade for Kelly though, even in your scenario. GWS only have trade capital if they get Kelly's compo pick. And we already have Kelly.

Id like to get Kelly and Horne also :)

If we have Kelly then how do we get it over the line?

Kelly is a RFA so GWS can match.

And if we bump up the cash to price GWS out we are using up more cap space which could hurt retention.

If we play nice with GWS we might get Kelly for 850K pa rather than having to bump it to 1.2m pa.

Id like to get Kelly and Horne also :)

If we have Kelly then how do we get it over the line?

Kelly is a RFA so GWS can match.

And if we bump up the cash to price GWS out we are using up more cap space which could hurt retention.

If we play nice with GWS we might get Kelly for 850K pa rather than having to bump it to 1.2m pa.
If we get him as a RFA we get him. No side deals for pick trades later, that would be draft tampering anyway.

3 x 1st rounders for #1 is not an unreasonable trade thus will be ticked off by the AFL thus wont equal draft tampering.

Under your scenario we risk losing Kelly but get Horne.

Under mine we get Kelly and console ourselves for not getting Horne by having 3 x 1st rounders in good spots for adding to our long term list build.

I think the latter option is better for the list as a whole.

3 x 1st rounders for #1 is not an unreasonable trade thus will be ticked off by the AFL thus wont equal draft tampering.

Under mine we get Kelly and console ourselves for not getting Horne by having 3 x 1st rounders in good spots for adding to our long term list build.

No, under my scenario we get Kelly and Horne. Remember who we are when it comes to the afl ticking off trades. Then again, they might, because it is heavily weighted in GWS favour. We need elite talent, not 3 teens picks over two years.

Id argue we need both elite talent and extra 1st round picks over multiple years.

Josh Kelly is elite talent thus my plan ticks both boxes.

Also saying 3 teen picks is misleading thats a worst case scenario and we arent going to get the f/s academy guys anyway thus they arent really in the open pool.

Id argue we need both elite talent and extra 1st round picks over multiple years.

Josh Kelly is elite talent thus my plan ticks both boxes.

Also saying 3 teen picks is misleading thats a worst case scenario and we arent going to get the f/s academy guys anyway thus they arent really in the open pool.
Fair enough, agree to disagree. I just don't think that it is our best interest to put our pick behind other talent. I'd rather Kelly and pick one than picks in the teens, particularly if other clubs are getting access to better talent on paper, or otherwise.
We are in a competition and should not give advantage to rival teams for the sake of mid to late first round picks.

Tad extreme. But I agree we shouldn't trade our first pick. I'm actually hoping it isn't pick one.

I'd be annoyed if we traded pick 2 as well.

Your devotion is admirable mate but it's like you apply a completely different 'loyalty means test' to Josh than any other player. We'd have been in his ear every year post 2013 and it's on the record we definitely were in 2017 and 2019.

He knocked us back every time. If he comes now, great. But he never demonstrated his passion to play for North Melbourne all this time.

waiting till free agency maked perfect sense for him, his contract, and where the respective lists were at when he re-signed with GWS. Made sense then and does now. What has happened since, GWS have lost more key players, look unlikely to challenge and may even be looking for a new coach. North have bottomed out, brought in a lot of young talent, have a new coach and coaching panel already in place, are starting to string together some competitive performances and will bring in more top end talent in this year's draft. Compelling story to believe the club will be a challenger within the next 3-5 years when JK will still be at the top of his game. The decision to stay at GWS last time around was one using his head. A decision to leave to come to North this year would be one made with both head and heart! I have no inside information, but it makes sense to me, in the same way staying at GWS made sense last time round.

He would have been a North player in his draft year if he could have had his way. Some folks just struggle to get that.

He would have been paid well no matter where he landed.

He has never entertained a move to any other clubs.

There's nothing "clinical" about any of it, other than the timing.

He is also attached to his mates & club in NSW, and that's the only hurdle to overcome.

If that is overcome, he's a North player.

There is the another hurdle - his girlfriend is a Sydney sider!

waiting till free agency maked perfect sense for him, his contract, and where the respective lists were at when he re-signed with GWS. Made sense then and does now. What has happened since, GWS have lost more key players, look unlikely to challenge and may even be looking for a new coach. North have bottomed out, brought in a lot of young talent, have a new coach and coaching panel already in place, are starting to string together some competitive performances and will bring in more top end talent in this year's draft. Compelling story to believe the club will be a challenger within the next 3-5 years when JK will still be at the top of his game. The decision to stay at GWS last time around was one using his head. A decision to leave to come to North this year would be one made with both head and heart! I have no inside information, but it makes sense to me, in the same way staying at GWS made sense last time round.
I'm guessing he hoped we were better placed for a flag tilt by now too.

Pretty sure the Snoz will weave his magic on this one.

IF we end up with JK and have to trade for him, it would be very surprising if he gave up the Hornet.

Then again if pick 1 was on the table then I have little doubt he can get us MASSIVE overs for (what should be) a generational talent in Horne.

I think we'll always take best available with our first pick, wherever it falls. If we finish outside of 1st pick I could still see us taking from the next couple on the board (Callaghan, Sonsie etc) and not a KPF unless one comes in with a wet sail.

By the sounds of things we may have already picked up the best available key forward this year in the mid season draft....lets see how he develops, ruck-fwd, fwd-ruck, fwd, ruck, etc.....hopefully we're going to get a look at Comben later this year. I also like the way Nobes is prepared to move players around,,,,reminds me very much of the Pagan era, who knows we might see a Tarrant or McKay move forward as a stop gap. On limited evidence since Tarrant came back I think McKay looks better without Robbie there, perhaps accountability a little less clear. Might take a few weeks to click, OR, move Robbie forward as a stop gap till Edwards/Comben develop. Yes we do need another key fwd, but for me, reckon we might already have a few options there and I can't see us not taking Horne on current form/ladder position. This WILL be our only #1 draft pick in my lifetime (and I got plenty of years left touch wood), lets make it a flipping good one.

We can't lose Kelly we don't have him.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

yep agree 100pct, we need elite talent, tapping free agency and trading away a #1 draft pick is paying away to sell time value..... no way any club should ever trade away elite young talent (that costs less with 10+ years of footy ahead of them) for existing elite talent that costs a lot more and has a lot less years left in their career........(sorry that the options trader coming out in me).

To put it bluntly, NO way in the world should we entertain trading out #1, there's generally a big difference between #1 and #10 in the draft and we don't need more role players,,,,,elite talent is what we need.