Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

Neesham is the second best coach we’ve had imo.

A sh** coach would’ve finished bottom two every year he was at the club with the list he had.
Pretty sure Sheedy used some of Neesham’s forward thinking to add
to his gameplan.
I still think if Gerard had done an apprenticeship in the AFL, he would of been
a career coach.
He should have let Judge be the inaugural coach and comeback in a few years.
To start up a club with so little is a huge achievement though, unfortunately
Port played their cards better than us in dealing with an organisation rooted
to the VFL.
Now looking back those quirky years and different thinking definitely made going
to the footy fun.
We could sure use some of that nostalgia now, putting the F back into Freo.

I see Trent Cotchin joined the Brisbane lions in an off field role this season.

We never seem to get these kind of leaders, or aggressively chase people of that stature. You can say what you like about Cotchin but he’s one of the great winners and leaders of the modern AFL era. There is Brisbane, already miles ahead of us, one kick of a football away from winning it all and they are snapping up every bit of experience and boys available to improve in the off season. They are not sitting around with the same formula as last year. It was good, but it wasn’t good enough. How do we improve? Find that extra 1-2%? That what they are saying to themselves this off season.

JL and his coaching group finish a lowly 14th, and it’s a case of “nah, we don’t need to refresh our off field group at all. Don’t stress everyone. Nothing to see here, we are all good”

I’m not specifically saying we should have been chasing Cotchin. He probably wouldn’t come here anyway. Would love to know if we asked the question though. Are we striving desperately to improve every single aspect of the club on and off the field? I’m not convinced. Someone who has a winners, hardened, ruthless mentality, that has been to the top of the mountain on multiple occasions - that is the type of person missing from our (pretty uninspiring) current coaching and off field mentoring group.

We barely changed a thing this offseason. Not to the list, not to the off field staff.

Optimistically, this is akin to being banged up in a game, and running with no changes - backing everyone in the next week to do better and turn it around themselves and sometimes that works.

It does mean though if this season goes pear shaped I expect some serious accountability to be taken, because in that scenario we would've failed, backed the same guys in, and they failed again.

We barely changed a thing this offseason. Not to the list, not to the off field staff.

Optimistically, this is akin to being banged up in a game, and running with no changes - backing everyone in the next week to do better and turn it around themselves and sometimes that works.

It does mean though if this season goes pear shaped I expect some serious accountability to be taken, because in that scenario we would've failed, backed the same guys in, and they failed again.
We made changes….

True but he was a lot to blame for putting that list together.

Yes and no.

No one could’ve put a decent list together with the concessions we had.

There is a few horror stories though that really shouldn’t have happened. Not sure if anything other than the McLeod story sound like Neesham’s fault - he was probably involved in a number of decisions both good and bad early days though..

Yes and no.

No one could’ve put a decent list together with the concessions we had.

There is a few horror stories though that really shouldn’t have happened. Not sure if anything other than the McLeod story sound like Neesham’s fault - he was probably involved in a number of decisions both good and bad early days though..
Valentine would make a good line coach

Connolly and Lyon are head and shoulders the best 2 coaches in a 30 year stretch.

And who was instrumental in getting both sacked?
Not sure about this. What is the criteria?

I like watching my Dockers punch above their weight like in 97 and 22.

Lyon had a gift team with 9 All Australians. It's a shame he didn't do better.

He also went from the best team in the country to 4 wins. It was embarrassing.

I was previously saying we'd have our answer by round 6, but i've changed my tune. If mumbles cant lead the team to a victory against North in round 2 then we have our answer. The CEO can't keep spruiking the pathway to a premiership cup (which we're already behind on) if we can't even beat one of the most useless teams this decade (who beat us at home last year - how embarrassment).
Bookmarked.

Not sure about this. What is the criteria?

I like watching my Dockers punch above their weight like in 97 and 22.

Lyon had a gift team with 9 All Australians. It's a shame he didn't do better.

He also went from the best team in the country to 4 wins. It was embarrassing.
What is the criteria? :tearsofjoy: How about wins and losses genius?

I really just love the irony of someone that can't even count saying that the only coach to get us to a GF might not be the best we've had.

I assumed Lyon being the best coach we've ever had would be one of those incredibly rare things every person on the board would agree on.
Oh well, I'll keep looking
Did you?
Chris Connelly 52%
Justin Loungmuir 49%
Gerard Neesham 36%
Ross Lyon 33%
Damian Drum 33%

*2016-2019

Did you?
Chris Connelly 52%
Justin Loungmuir 49%
Gerard Neesham 36%
Ross Lyon 33%
Damian Drum 33%

*2016-2019

Here's me thinking 'How can I express to the other posters on this board that you have NFI?' and meanwhile you go and do it better than I ever could. Bravo you magnificent moron :tearsofjoy:

Did you?
Chris Connelly 52%
Justin Loungmuir 49%
Gerard Neesham 36%
Ross Lyon 33%
Damian Drum 33%

*2016-2019
Building on this incredibly strong argument, Ross in grand finals is 0/1 (0%), the rest combined are 0/0 (undefined %). Given Ross lost more grand finals than everyone else combined, Ross is clearly the worst Freo coach ever.

Here's me thinking 'How can I express to the other posters on this board that you have NFI?' and meanwhile you go and do it better than I ever could. Bravo you magnificent moron :tearsofjoy:
Thanks for playing the man. I posted the stats. If you don't understand them, that's on you. Here's me thinking 'How can I have a chat about footy with some other Freo fans' and meanwhile you go and have a little tantrum and make it shit for everyone. Bravo indeed.

Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2