Coach Justin Longmuir

It’s not only today, it happens way too often on other topics as well
Unfortunately that is the nature of the keyboard warrior, some have the courage behind anonymity that they don’t have in life.
It’s important to ignore those posters, they’re not hard to miss & discuss with those who make valid points.
I enjoy BF, as most are passionate supporters who offer great alternative theories to mine & have better knowledge in some areas than I do.
Don’t take it personally, all opinions are appreciated as part of the discussion.

I think Sumich could have used Justin Longmuir's name, not just congratulate JL, while he advertised his management company in full. Alos think he was throwing a bit of shade at JLo, saying he was coaching when JLo arrived as a lowly development coach at Freo.

I had a lot of sympathy for Sumich at the end of 2105 as I believe he wasn't supported by the club when he stood up to RTB. Instead the club renewed for 3 but gave Ross 5 more years. Bad mistake, because something wasn't working after we crashed against WC with a full team near the end of home and away.

However quite simply Sumich need to become an assistant or development coach and show he can organise skill sessions, coach and motivate for 22 games a year and not just 4 state games where the work is done by many under you, before he can hope to become a head coach.

Might help to finish his Level 4 coaching qualification or explain why he dropped out.

So you addressed my comment about whether you want the club to do well or not. Nice work. We all want to see good stuff happen for our team.

What about the fact that you're still got to go the backhanded comment because Freo supporters that wanted Ross gone are being positive.

Fate loves irony? There's zero irony in people who wanted a new coach being positive.

The fact that I still have to respond this kind of stuff in a thread about our new coach is the laughable thing.

You seem unable to read a post in full mate...

I said that I hope those who rolled out the 'no excuse line' held the new coach to the same standard. Nothing about them being positive or not. Do you understand? I then showed how I was positive which was what you commented on first.

Now you are saying there is zero (underline and bold because...) irony in those who wanted Ross gone being positive. I agree mate. But again, that isn't what I said. I was saying that if they don't bring the same line to almost every game day thread of no excuses - injuries don't matter etc, it would be ironic. Explain how there is zero (should I underline and bold it?) irony in that? Again, if you read and reply to what is written, instead of trying to score a point you will go better. We would all be delighted!

So to recap -

Raff - Posh be positive you sound like an ex...
Posh - shows positivity and that I had already tipped us for a top six finish - also pointed out that you didn't read the post. Which you didn't apologise for, but that would be a delightful turn of events given your history.
Raff - Ah yeah well you were positive but there is zero irony is those who wanted ross gone being positive.
Posh - Yes Raff I agree there is zero irony in that... but again, that is not what I said. The irony would be in the no excuse brigade not upholding that standard this coming year. Having said that I bloody hope they stop, as unfounded as it was, as it will be a more enjoyable year on the board.

Is that clear enough champ?

Barlow came across as a bit of a flog on Melbourne SEN. Clearly wanted Sumich and no one else. Says freo fans wanting a freo person hurt Sumich's chances. Far from impressed we didn't choose him, which actually doesn't surprise me as I think Barlow has been rubbish in the media.

Very interesting. Can’t say Barlow has been rubbish in the media. But you do wonder why we let him go, he was killing the WAFL and we continued to play him out of position.

Very unimpressed with that response tbh it reads selfishly and bitter. Contrasting with Solomon’s response which was classy. I tried to be impartial on Sumich but now very glad we didn’t get him and honestly would not take him in at any role, development or otherwise.

I think the club have worked that out

Agree 100%, that statement is just ridiculous!
The advice he’s getting from Inside 50 is shit & I get the feeling that they wrote that statement with Sumich just to plug their own brand.
Plan out his steps? Look out Adelaide I think!

Barlow came across as a bit of a flog on Melbourne SEN. Clearly wanted Sumich and no one else. Says freo fans wanting a freo person hurt Sumich's chances. Far from impressed we didn't choose him, which actually doesn't surprise me as I think Barlow has been rubbish in the media.
Maybe Suma promised him an assistant position or something like that and he's pissed he won't get it now.
whatever the case that is a garbage comment blaming freo fans, they never came to us whatsoever and i've hardly seen anyone say on any social media where they can scan comments that they want a freo person... in fact, i've only seen people say not to search exclusively for a freo fan but to find the best person for the job regardless of where they come from. Suma stamped his papers the day that he walked out of FFC and started blabbing shit to his 6pr mates!

As things have evolved, it is glaringly obvious there was no need to embarrass both Lyon and the club itself by pulling the trigger a week early.
I am really circumspect that the Bell / Longmuir team are back together as both were the protagonists to get rid of Connolly as Justin was not being played as Number One Ruck.

Good to see you posting again Ripper. I love the fossils. :)

Bell was certainly instrumental in removing Connelly - as well as Lyon.

However, I'll be on the optimistic bandwagon. Its a new dawn and I want to see this new regime succeed in multiple premiership glory.

Bell and Longmuir were with the club during some of our darkest times as we all know. They have returned albeit at different times to lead the club. I'm prepared to give them a chance.

Whilst it was weird timing to sack a coach one week out from seasons end at least now Freo are done with the search for a senior coach. Lets see if the club can stick to the timeline Bell stated in today's press conference for appointing a CEO.

Yeah essentially reads "my application was perfect and my presentation was incredible, but w/e congrats to the other guy"

Clear denial, the correct response is to acknowledge his application is not as strong as he thinks it is, and instead do what every other assistant has to which is get involved with an AFL club and be apart of a process that brings success. Not just get your mates in the media to barrack you into a head coaching role.

“If you ask me what the Fremantle Football Club stands for, it’s the passion of the fans. That passion used to drive me as a player, it used to drive us as a team 15 years ago and it still drives our players today. I don’t think there’s a more passionate fanbase in the competition. My message to them is that we’re all in this together, we need their support and I’m really excited about evolving our brand of footy and giving them something to cheer for.”

Love this quote from JLo's presser.

I would’ve been okay if Ross was kept on but they changed the assistants, although there were games this year that were absolutely shocking (Richmond at Optus Stadium for example), it was such a roller coaster season with amazing wins against top 4 sides and crappy losses against bottom 3 sides.

But, now that Ross is gone, it is time to move on, bring on the prodigal son. I hope Jlo plays players in their best positions (Cerra and Brayshaw through the middle) and starts with a clean slate, no playing favourites like Rosco used to with certain players, just pick the best, hungriest players. Also, I wouldn’t mind seeing Logue tried on a wing.

I would’ve been okay if Ross was kept on but they changed the assistants, although there were games this year that were absolutely shocking (Richmond at Optus Stadium for example), it was such a roller coaster season with amazing wins against top 4 sides and crappy losses against bottom 3 sides.

But, now that Ross is gone, it is time to move on, bring on the prodigal son. I hope Jlo plays players in their best positions (Cerra and Brayshaw through the middle) and starts with a clean slate, no playing favourites like Rosco used to with certain players, just pick the best, hungriest players. Also, I wouldn’t mind seeing Logue tried on a wing.

Logue on a wing or Logue in the guts? I feel like he has the strength to bulldoze people much like Fyfe does