Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2019 Draft Almanac

how bout the look with the crows staff after Stephens was taken at 5?

Anyone that tries to make Freud like analysis on draftees based on their post selection behaviour has a few kangaroos loose in the top paddock.

These are young kids that have never had such exposure. They are filled with heaps of emotions and all handle if differently.

I heard one self-appointed psychologist saying Lachie Ash looked unhappy about getting selected by GWS.

His options going in were either GWS, Sydney or Adelaide and he gets to go to the best team where there is a genuine need for his skill set, but apparently he didn’t do a leprechaun kick so he would prefer to stay in Shepparton.

Go back and watch previous draft reactions and you soon realise it’s just nervous kids that are a bit overwhelmed. Watch Lukosius last year.

Thanks Knightmare for work on this draft, I appricate the detailed information and your judgement on potential draftees every year, you pateince in aswering questions from thos of us in the cheap seats. I monitor the threads watch a few highlight videos and read various Phantoms drafts before the draft. Helps give the draft some immediate context, and some inisgight into the murky and less than exact science of drafting.

Why did B2B U18 AA Mitch O'Neill fall into the rookie draft?
Your thoughts on the kid would be appreciated.

Didn't have a great year. Got hurt, missed time. A bit back of mind for some. Clubs preferred others ultimately as can happen.

Stunned hanrahan Stapleton and Carara. Wild,Mguinness didn't get picked. Clubs over think drafting way to much

McGuinness may have been taken as a cat b rookie by North if I understand correctly, though haven't seen the list.

Hanrahan I would have liked to have seen picked and he could be one next year who could be a shot again. Had a good seasno.

Wild I like. The Eastern boys I viewed more-so as state league prospects so I don't disagree on them going undrafted when some guys like Shute get overlooked.

Plays like its local footy gets the ball and slams it on his boot as far as can. For someone who kicks the ball as much him that would be problem in a higher standard of football.
Dane Swan won a Brownlow doing that. ;)

187 cm inside midfielders who are the fastest player tested at the draft, top 10 vertical leap, top 10 yo-yo test are a dime a dozen.
How much AFL footy gets played on polished boards? Every game I've ever watched gets played on that soft green stuff they call grass?

Hey knightmare thought on the dogs possibly turning Garcia into a small forward?

Given Garcia is only 177cm I feel this is the question to ask. Have only seen him through the midfield.

Considering what he can do - relatively quick but not freakishly fast, good skills but again nothing freakish, really nice at ground level but not a marking presence and doesn't hit the scoreboard much or appear to have that freakish goal sense. Should be able to apply reasonable forward pressure. He's the type who will put in the work to improve, but there probably isn't enough there for me to think he'll have an easy time making that transition. I'm not seeing that point of difference at the position to convince me at this stage until he shows me he can be more than just a midfielder.

Anyone that tries to make Freud like analysis on draftees based on their post selection behaviour has a few kangaroos loose in the top paddock.

These are young kids that have never had such exposure. They are filled with heaps of emotions and all handle if differently.

I heard one self-appointed psychologist saying Lachie Ash looked unhappy about getting selected by GWS.

His options going in were either GWS, Sydney or Adelaide and he gets to go to the best team where there is a genuine need for his skill set, but apparently he didn’t do a leprechaun kick so he would prefer to stay in Shepparton.

Go back and watch previous draft reactions and you soon realise it’s just nervous kids that are a bit overwhelmed. Watch Lukosius last year.
MacCluggage was a horror show if you’re into analyzing body language. Signed on again

So let me get this right ...

In your most recent Power rankings you have Kemp at 5.

You had D Stephens ‘Power ranked’ at 8. Sydney ‘reached’ to get him at 5, but get an A.

Carlton use its Pick 9 to get Kemp at 17 who you Power Rank at 5 and an extra, Philp at 20 (who apparently Richmond wanted at the very next pick) so simply is not a ‘reach’ as you say.

I gather you don’t rate Ramsay.

GC overpaid to get Sharp ... but still get an A. Carlton got a C. How do you compare Carlton’s Pick swap with Adelaide last year with Gold Coast’s ‘overpayment’, and still have Gold Coast at A and rated Carlton at E or whatever last year?

I know you can change. You have grudgingly accepted that Carlton’s drafting last year with the benefit of hindsight warrants a B (rather than an E or whatever it was) on the back of Walsh being up there with the 4 you rated as ahead of him including Lukosius and King IIRC.

So let me get this right ...

In your most recent Power rankings you have Kemp at 5.

You had D Stephens ‘Power ranked’ at 8. Sydney ‘reached’ to get him at 5, but get an A.

Carlton use its Pick 9 to get Kemp at 17 who you Power Rank at 5 and an extra, Philp at 20 (who apparently Richmond wanted at the very next pick) so simply is not a ‘reach’ as you say.

I gather you don’t rate Ramsay.

GC overpaid to get Sharp ... but still get an A. Carlton got a C. How do you compare Carlton’s Pick swap with Adelaide last year with Gold Coast’s ‘overpayment’, and still have Gold Coast at A and rated Carlton at E or whatever last year?

I know you can change. You have grudgingly accepted that Carlton’s drafting last year with the benefit of hindsight warrants a B (rather than an E or whatever it was) on the back of Walsh being up there with the 4 you rated as ahead of him including Lukosius and King IIRC.

Don't worry he does it all the time . Collingwood got an A i think funny that , both players they got he had ranked in the late 20s and 30s . come draft night they had been overlooked by pretty much every team to that point and he makes out like it was daylight robbery by Collingwood.

Didn't have a great year. Got hurt, missed time. A bit back of mind for some. Clubs preferred others ultimately .

Mitch O'Neil did cop a MCL knee injury late in the season sure but he won back to back All Australian honors so from that perspective his year was pretty good. Read that in April you ranked him 5 to 20.

He did miss the combine testing.

Pick 27 in the rookie draft!

Wow. Just WOW!

is it being a Tassie lad you fly under the radar a bit?

Don't worry he does it all the time . Collingwood got an A i think funny that , both players they got he had ranked in the late 20s and 30s . come draft night they had been overlooked by pretty much every team to that point and he makes out like it was daylight robbery by Collingwood.
If you look back over the last few years I think you’ll find he’s been most critical of Collingwood. He hasn’t rated a lot of our draft and trade moves and didn’t think we’d be top 4 last year or this. So it’s not that funny.

You rated dees a C and say Jackson and Pickett were reaches yet Jackson would have been gone next pick if we didn’t take him, article on AFL Website has a few recruiters taking him if they had pick 3, Pickett yes maybe a reach but exactly the player we need, I think dees nailed the draft but I guess we won’t know for a few years anyway