Oct 9, 2007
Indiana Pacers
Hey all,

Haven't made a post on BigFooty for quite some time but thought I'd see what everyone else thinks about my dilemma.
So I've worked in the IT industry for just over 10 years, working for a large telco for most of that time but in the last three years I've bounced around a fair bit and had a number of short term contracts and it has really taken its toll having to think about changing jobs every 3-6 months and not having security in my role.
My current role, which I started in Feb is expected to end in September and again I'll need to look around for work.
Finding long term and secure roles in the IT industry are becoming fewer and far between, with companies pushing outsourcing and the like.
I'm no longer interested in re-skilling and doing studies as i feel it is a dead end industry in this country.

So I've been contemplating a career change into a completely different industry.

I had heard that train drivers (in Melb) are on a pretty good wicket, and get paid a good salary.
After a bit of research I found out that it is only very difficult to get into and you need to do a number of courses to even be considered.

Then i thought, how about tram drivers?

Jumped onto the Yarra Trams careers site and found they were looking for new trainees, so i thought why not, and i applied.

I've gone through and passed each stage and was given a formal offer today to start in April.

I want to accept, due mainly to the fact that the role is secure and after the 1st year the pay is pretty good.
However, the 1st 12 months i'll be on a significantly less salary than i am on now in my IT job.

I've recently had my first child (only 10 weeks old) and my partner is currently on maternity leave. If i was to take the tram driver role, my partner will need to go back to work far sooner than expected which isn't ideal.

Although i haven't had a full discussion with my parents on the subject, they are open to helping with babysitting so my partner can go to work.

To me it seems like a decision that will bring us short term pain, but in the long run will be a better decision.

My question to all of you is, who has gone through a similar scenario and how did you combat the financial strain?

Hey all,

Haven't made a post on BigFooty for quite some time but thought I'd see what everyone else thinks about my dilemma.
So I've worked in the IT industry for just over 10 years, working for a large telco for most of that time but in the last three years I've bounced around a fair bit and had a number of short term contracts and it has really taken its toll having to think about changing jobs every 3-6 months and not having security in my role.
My current role, which I started in Feb is expected to end in September and again I'll need to look around for work.
Finding long term and secure roles in the IT industry are becoming fewer and far between, with companies pushing outsourcing and the like.
I'm no longer interested in re-skilling and doing studies as i feel it is a dead end industry in this country.

So I've been contemplating a career change into a completely different industry.

I had heard that train drivers (in Melb) are on a pretty good wicket, and get paid a good salary.
After a bit of research I found out that it is only very difficult to get into and you need to do a number of courses to even be considered.

Jumped onto the Yarra Trams careers site and found they were looking for new trainees, so i thought why not, and i applied.

I've gone through and passed each stage and was given a formal offer today to start in April.

I want to accept, due mainly to the fact that the role is secure and after the 1st year the pay is pretty good.
However, the 1st 12 months i'll be on a significantly less salary than i am on now in my IT job.

I've recently had my first child (only 10 weeks old) and my partner is currently on maternity leave. If i was to take the tram driver role, my partner will need to go back to work far sooner than expected which isn't ideal.

Although i haven't had a full discussion with my parents on the subject, they are open to helping with babysitting so my partner can go to work.

To me it seems like a decision that will bring us short term pain, but in the long run will be a better decision.

My question to all of you is, who has gone through a similar scenario and how did you combat the financial strain?
I've also hit that moment where you feel like drastic change. Re: career and other related/indirect aspects to that -- travel routine, people you know or meet, etc.

Hey all,

Got a weekend job night fill stacking shelves. Not glorious, but good easy money and stores always want someone.

Do what makes you happy. You’ll be a much better partner and father.

12 months is nothing, borrow some money or get some casual work to tide you over. You might even be able to find casual IT/telco work, which will pay better than stacking shelves or driving an Uber. Use your skills to finance the year.

Devil's advocate...

Is becoming a train/tram driver also not a pathway to a dead industry? Driverless train tech already exists and will be the way forward.

Good on you for pushing ahead with a career change. Can be difficult to find work in another field after are pigeonholed.
Yeah I've heard about that, but how far away is that? 5,10,15-20 years away? I don't know.

Already in use in many places. Copenhagen Metro is completely automated.

Iron ore trains in WA are driverless but most have 'drivers' in them anyway to appease union hacks.
Trains would be easier to automate due to less variables compared to trams.
Trams have to deal with cars, pedestrians in a confined space.
But i know what you're saying.
But my current role is being outsourced to India in 6 months time and other roles I've had have ended the same way.

Trains would be easier to automate due to less variables compared to trams.
Trams have to deal with cars, Graeme Polaks etc in a confined space.
But i know what you're saying.
But my current role is being outsourced to India in 6 months time and other roles I've had have ended the same way.

Look how long it took to get Myki right. Your kids might not get a job in the industry but I reckon you'll be safe till they finish school.

have you considered moving/looking for
more stable IT work outside of melbsy?

in any case, well done for having the balls to make a big change, and going through with it. 'struggling' for 12 months is nothing in the long run, by the time the kid is in kindy it'll be a distant memory, as you're cruising the streets of Melbourne in a tram whistling and clicking at the sexy senoras and senoritas who pass you by in their frilly summer frocks

Hey all,

Sounds like a bit of short term pain for long term gain.

In regards to being a tram driver my cousin went through the process of a career change to a tram driver a few years ago. She absolutely loves it and is making very good money now. Plenty of opportunities for overtime if you’re wanting it too.

Devil's advocate...

Is becoming a train/tram driver also not a pathway to a dead industry? Driverless train tech already exists and will be the way forward.

Good on you for pushing ahead with a career change. Can be difficult to find work in another field after are pigeonholed.
There has been plenty of setbacks to driveless cars, its still think 10 to 20 years away, and the first ones wont be truely autonomous they will have human overide. A 70 tonne tram i think is a lot further away. Id say its safe for a twenty year old to retirement right now.

I was a high school teacher for 4 years. Changed career and am studying building surveying. Never been happier in nearly every aspect of my life.

I was 29 when i did this 18 months ago.

Devil's advocate...

True. I would consider a career change but have made too many and if I move to another industry I am starting all over again. Would be fine if I was self employed (but doing what?) so I am planning moving jobs and trying to get something I enjoy/is good/bearable/at least a decent job.

have you considered moving/looking for
more stable IT work outside of melbsy?

in any case, well done for having the balls to make a big change, and going through with it. 'struggling' for 12 months is nothing in the long run, by the time the kid is in kindy it'll be a distant memory, as you're cruising the streets of Melbourne in a tram whistling and clicking at the sexy senoras and senoritas who pass you by in their frilly summer frocks

I did have a fleeting thought about moving interstate or overseas but I'm pretty settled here and with the bubs it wouldn't be a good idea to move away from our support network.

Having worked in and around the CBD, it is definitely a great perv, especially during summer

I don't think Melbourne's tram system will be driverless in the near future at all, they are too close to pedestrians and too much room for accidents. Reckon you are safe for 10-20 years.

That's my thoughts.
I think the trains would go automated first.

When was your partner planning on returning to work? Is the career change something you can wait 12 months for?

Well i was hoping that she could stay home for the first 12 months, but at this stage she's gonna need to go back at around 4-5 months.
She will initially just go part time/casual and my parents are gonna help with care

Business & Finance Making a career change