Mega Thread Miscellaneous Freo Discussion thread

Let's not forget that billionaire funding the Teals and green movements in Australia is spending Russian blood bucks to do it so if Atlassian take over sponsorship of Freo - that's what is funding that.
sounds like an argument against billionaires existing, all good by me

what a weird question, how are they morally fit if they treat employees trash and pay them pennies?? what
Because your definition of morally fit is one that treats climate right. Completely ignoring other issues or considerations like employee rights and pay

we are the ones paying for all the damage these corporations do, not to mention subsidies/tax evasion they take from us, but please do continue advocating for a multi billion dollar corporation on big footy

What size company do you think can afford to be a major sponsor of an AFL club?

Current AFL club top tier sponsors:
  • Adelaide: Toyota.
  • Brisbane: XL Express, Youi.
  • Carlton: Hyundai, Great Southern Bank.
  • Collingwood: Emirates, KFC, Nike, La Trobe Financial.
  • Essendon: Fujitsu, Amart Furniture.
  • Fremantle: Programmed, Woodside.
  • Geelong: Ford.
  • Gold Coast: Hostplus.
  • GWS: Toyo Tires.
  • Hawthorn: State of Tasmania.
  • Melbourne: Zurich, Jaguar.
  • North Melbourne: Mazda.
  • Port Adelaide: MG, KFC, GFG.
  • Richmond: nib, Latitude.
  • St. Kilda: Pepper Money, Webcentral.
  • Sydney: QBE.
  • West Coast: Hungry Jack's, Lendi.
  • Western Bulldogs: Mission Foods.

Clearly we need to eye off a fast food company, bank, or car manufacturer.
Here we are, at the edge of the slippery slop. What's the difference between a car manufacturer and woodside?

It's like banning the bullet manufacturer from advertising but helping every one sell as many guns as they can.

The Simpsons Reaction GIF

Because your definition of morally fit is one that treats climate right. Completely ignoring other issues or considerations like employee rights and pay
when have i ignored those? you getting that right out of your arse

just bc theyre paying their employees well doesnt mean theyre not exploited still btw, they make money hand over fist of course they can throw a pittance to the people who actually do the work, but thats an argument for another day

welp guess were all going to die either way so best get on with it, new sponsors include the deforestation of the amazon and the poachers of elephants
I think you want to be careful engaging in the climate alarmist language that has been predicting the imminent end of the world for over forty years now.

You can stick to a cleaner world being a better world without driving your argument off a cliff of drama.

sounds like an argument against billionaires existing, all good by me

You want to hide your socialism a bit better, people have already started noticing environmentalism being used for that and it scares people on account of all those dead people when it comes in. Kinda ruins the argument that we will all die if it's not changed when heaps still end up dying.

I think nationalised resource extraction and utilisation would be the ideal, especially for nuclear power. Government owned, operated and supplied uranium mines and nuclear power plants.

I'm quite pro socialism in that regard.

I think you want to be careful engaging in the climate alarmist language that has been predicting the imminent end of the world for over forty years now.

You can stick to a cleaner world being a better world without driving your argument off a cliff of drama.

You want to hide your socialism a bit better, people have already started noticing environmentalism being used for that and it scares people on account of all those dead people when it comes in. Kinda ruins the argument that we will all die if it's not changed when heaps still end up dying.

I think nationalised resource extraction and utilisation would be the ideal, especially for nuclear power. Government owned, operated and supplied uranium mines and nuclear power plants.

I'm quite pro socialism in that regard.
please, alarmist? just have a look at whats happening around the world

i think environmentalism is being 'used' for that because its pretty obvious that capital will continue to pillage the world until the end, socialism is the answer ;) theres no need to be scared

As I said in the other thread this is next level dumb.

I mean take Pat Cummins making a stand on Alinta Gas, the privileged dude probably has carbon footprint than 99% of Australians.

It's not like destructive vices such as booze or gambling, we literally need oil and gas to survive in present day society whilst we undertake a challenging and lengthy transition in to alternative forms of energy. What does banning the advertising do apart from make attention seeker phoneys and hypocrites try and look good whilst doing absolutely nothing?

What does banning the advertising do apart from make attention seeker phoneys and hypocrites try and look good whilst doing absolutely nothing?

It lets them later demonise the industry without the burden of community visibility of them contributing. It's why the companies have the programs. It's why activists want them removed.

Activists prefer guerrilla warfare on this.

As I said in the other thread this is next level dumb.

I mean take Pat Cummins making a stand on Alinta Gas, the privileged dude probably has carbon footprint than 99% of Australians.

It's not like destructive vices such as booze or gambling, we literally need oil and gas to survive in present day society whilst we undertake a challenging and lengthy transition in to alternative forms of energy. What does banning the advertising do apart from make attention seeker phoneys and hypocrites try and look good whilst doing absolutely nothing?
C'mon, you do realise it is a PR battle?

Why are so many oil and gas companies spending millions on advertising to try and convince (con) us they care about our planet and actively seeking to change? Why do they even bother sponsoring sporting clubs like Freo?

You can't counter the mass amount of BS being spewed by these companies about things like net zero targets and so on by sitting quietly. Do you think the media takes any notice at all if it isn't Pat Cummins and some non-celebrity instead?

If every person and every company who is a hypocrite was silenced then nobody would be able to say anything at all - we all are! There are levels though. I suspect Pat Cummin's impact on the environment might be on a slightly different level to the O&G industry. I can eat meat and simultaneously want the meat industry to consider animal welfare in how it produces the meat I eat can't I?

C'mon, you do realise it is a PR battle?

Why are so many oil and gas companies spending millions on advertising to try and convince (con) us they care about our planet and actively seeking to change? Why do they even bother sponsoring sporting clubs like Freo?

You can't counter the mass amount of BS being spewed by these companies about things like net zero targets and so on by sitting quietly. Do you think the media takes any notice at all if it isn't Pat Cummins and some non-celebrity instead?

If every person and every company who is a hypocrite was silenced then nobody would be able to say anything at all - we all are! There are levels though. I suspect Pat Cummin's impact on the environment might be on a slightly different level to the O&G industry. I can eat meat and simultaneously want the meat industry to consider animal welfare in how it produces the meat I eat can't I?
god i remember some of those recent-ish rio tinto ads, vomit inducing

unfortunately though as you own an iphone you can not talk about improving society or protecting the environment

Can someone refresh my memory? Didn't Stuart MacGill like never play for Australia again after refusing to appear in a KFC ad or something like that? Fast food companies sponsoring elite sport has never sat well with me.

* That being said, I must say I do admire the current KFC advertising campaign "I don't care - I love it". They're being honest. Our food is shit, but go on, enjoy some self-indulgence once in a while. They're not trying to pretend they have healthy options (ala Maccas) and they're not going down the PR route of claiming their chickens are responsibly sourced enjoying a wholesome free range life until they get the chop. It's a simple slogan saying "we are what we are".

its entirely possible we could have and would have already transitioned into renewables if it werent for the massive amount of influence, power and money these bludgers have, good argument

id rather lose phones and power than suffer through what we are on course for, these companies dont give a * about you, why are you playing defence for them?

Coulda woulda shoulda.... So is Twiggy bad also?

Choosing not to do that and instead trying to leverage public opinion to get what you want, and for someone else to pay the price for it, isn't discussing the issue in good faith.
Yep. This is it, exactly. I agree 100%

Wait — you are talking about how corporations engaged in environmentally and/or socially destructive business act in bad faith by leveraging public opinion through sponsorship community/charitable organisations aimed at cultivating an image of beneficence so as to distract attention away from the fact that the public ultimately has to pay the price for the damage done by such environmentally and/or socially destructive business?

No? Okay, never mind.

Yep. This is it, exactly. I agree 100%

Wait — you are talking about how corporations engaged in environmentally and/or socially destructive business act in bad faith by leveraging public opinion through sponsorship community/charitable organisations aimed at cultivating an image of beneficence so as to distract attention away from the fact that the public ultimately has to pay the price for the damage done by such environmentally and/or socially destructive business?

No? Okay, never mind.

I think the reason activists don't want big business to engage in public relations like that is because it does benefit the community.

They need the guerilla war style instead, where small actions can matter, because when it comes to community impact the big businesses do bring good with their programs.

The activists just stop traffic or try and get government to do their bidding, usually paying for it too.

Activists can pool their resources and make a difference too, but they haven't. They can play the game, but they don't.

They are just a loud voice in a large crowd trying to convince the masses that there are more agreeing voices than reality.

Have you watched his presser? Such a shame Bailey isn’t a better player, such a solid citizen and I reckon a great contributor to the off field projects. He mentioned having some interest from elsewhere, but made the decision to stay despite his experience of being in and out of the 22 because he loves everything about the club. I hope he can improve.

The people heading up this public relations push against Woodside are the ones who couldn't beat them in the court over Scarborough going ahead and now wish to take it to the court of public opinion instead.

Again, raise the money to replace Woodside and it's no longer an issue. Everyone gets what they want, except Woodside.

Look at all our other sponsors, are they clean skins ?.

Woodside are no angels, but every company has their evils. Fuel emission emitting cars, alcohol, gambling, fast food etc.

By the by, if Woodside learn from their mistakes, that is a positive.