Moe, Sale, Traralgon etc

Mar 20, 2002
Mosman Village
My son is in the Air Force and will be posted to the base at Sale later in the year. He was thinking about playing footy for the RAAF team in the local league but has no idea on what the standard is like and how many grades they have.

Can anyone provide an overview of the competition in the area ?? (Goulburn Valley League I think ??)

have a mate who was on sale's list last year. he too, was based in sale at the defence. I will ask him as he will have a fair idea on what the leagues are like there.

Sale, Moe and Traralgon play in the West Gippsland-Latrobe league (premier division) and is the strongest comp in the region, but inferior to other comps throughout the state including Geelong, Goulburn Valley and Ovens and Murray.
Sale is coached by Richard Coulthard (non-playing) who played in their last flag team in 1986.
His assistant this year is Stuart Anderson (ex Kangaroos, Fremantle) who returns to Sale after coaching Traralgon with no success last year.
Traralgon once dominated the comp which was previously known as the Latrobe Valley and Gippsland-Latrobe, but have fallen off pace in recent seasons.
I stand corrected, but former club champion Tony Lane (a great fellow) is coaching them this year.
Moe I am not sure about.
Maffra is the dominant team in the comp at the minute after winning the last 3 flags on the trot under Wayne Butcher with mostly a local side and very few imports.
One of Maffra's guns, Gary Jones, has signed with East Perth this year so they will miss him big time.

have you heard of guys i think from maffra?? underwood and garner?? what sort of players where they in that comp?? they play in the syd afl.

harsh said:
Sale, Moe and Traralgon play in the West Gippsland-Latrobe league (premier division) and is the strongest comp in the region.
This year their will only be 1 division of the WGLFL, here's the teams:
Maffra, Leongatha, Sale, Morwell, Traralgon, Moe, Garfield, Warragul, Drouin

speaking of which does anyone know of any ins and outs for these clubs. drouin have gained the services of jeremy 'lingy' campbell (from rochester). my understanding is that they will need players of his caliver due to their jump in league standard. also heard they targeted sam 'stretch' brennan (also from rochester) to no avail however as he has opted for another season with the mighty tigers. sale have lost dane 'd train' williams from their list too apparantly.

he's got a better chance of gettin a gig at sale than maffra, moe and morwell suck at the moment so hes got a chance there too. in fact morwell will just about play anyone who can stand in an upright position these days.

newry is in east gippy mob, as far as i know. gormandale and glengarry are strong NGFL clubs, heyfield (home of bomber wojcinski) is another good club. all would be worth trying to get a run at, although from my footy days gormandale are a very insular club. no shortage of good clubs out there looking for players.

however, if the boys willing to travel, i love mid gippy league. all teams have had good levels of success in recent times. if hes any good and is willing to travel that far, yarragon is a great club with top notch people around the place, and they are desperate for players. struggling to feild three teams. theyd love to have him.

Mobbenfuhrer said:
... just in case your son is crap :p

Funny you should say that, he is crap !!

Well, considering he's still only 19yo & is about 6"3, last year was his first ever season of footy in his life. He can kick the ball 50m with little troubles but he just hasn't played the game long enough to pick up the finer points (where to run to, how to use his body etc).

If enthusiasm is anything to go by, he will be a star but he needs to spend a long time on the training track making up for those years of under-age footy he never played where the real instincts of the game are learnt/ingrained.

krisholio said:
however, if the boys willing to travel, i love mid gippy league. all teams have had good levels of success in recent times. if hes any good and is willing to travel that far, yarragon is a great club with top notch people around the place, and they are desperate for players. struggling to feild three teams. theyd love to have him.

I'm guessing that seeing as he played for ADFA (Aust Defence Force Academy) in the ACTAFL last year, he might want to keep playing for the Air Force if they have a team in one of the leagues. He'd be playing footy with the guys he works with which would build some good onfield camraderie.

However, failing that, how far is Yarragon from the Air Force base at Sale ??

krisholio said:
newry is in east gippy mob, as far as i know. gormandale and glengarry are strong NGFL clubs, heyfield (home of bomber wojcinski) is another good club. all would be worth trying to get a run at, although from my footy days gormandale are a very insular club. no shortage of good clubs out there looking for players.

QUOTE]
we are also the home of Leigh Brown, Matthew Ferguson, Mark Stevens, Adrian Cox aswell as Bomber

Maffra situated 15 mins from RAAF currently looking for players and would make your son quite welcome. Maffra named VCFL Club of the Year last year and have been selected to play a representative game in New Zealand this year. Also have excellent facilities

I didn't know the RAAF hired out the Roulettes to take blokes to Maffra.
If you can get from the RAAF base to Maffra in 15 minutes by car you will be travelling at the speed of sound.

Stafford678 said:
krisholio said:

QUOTE]
we are also the home of Leigh Brown, Matthew Ferguson, Mark Stevens, Adrian Cox aswell as Bomber

indeed. my bro played against a couple of those guys in juniors, and i used to go out with one of matty fergusons aunts. apparently bobmers dad is the postman?

yeah his dad owns the posty i think, bomber was down chrissy eve, pretty approachable still loves our town and not up himself, ferg hasnt changed at all, when i went out drinkin with him in sale he kept shouten heapsa ppl, and browny came to our cricket a few weekends ago.. good to see they arnt all up emselfs since becomen a footy player... when browny was at freo and when he came home for holidays he would not miss any of our cricket trainen and he played a few games.. him and bomber wojcinski where 2 of the quickest bowlers in the league in 1st grade and this was when they where 15-16, very handy at cricket they where and Ferg played 1's and was good too, and shane birss played for another 1st grade team in the league and was a GUN

How will the mighty Roo boys go this year.
Who is coaching them?
Heyfield is one of the BEST country clubs going round from my experience.
Successful, well administered, loyal supporters and very, very competitive.
Not to mention they can produce the odd AFL player.
I defy anyone to come up with as many AFL players per capita of population as Heyfield.

I think Dale Burridge is coach again this year, they've been training for a while now, and yeah we hav a population of around about 2000 or just under and we have herd, ferg, browny, bomber, mark stevens, adrain cox,and a few more going back a few years i think.. they should be okay this year, from what ive herd mark stevens is coming back next year to play for them and it looks as tho coxy might too

if Cox and Stevens are both going to wear the Roos jumper next season they will be absolutely laughing.....already one of the top teams in North Gippy, will destroy teams like stratford, newry and boisdale/briag

as for the West Gippy latrobe, looking to be a good season after Warragul, drouin and garfield moved across, really looking forward to being involved

Maffra should be pretty strong again, although ive heard they have lost a few of their ressies players to North Gippy clubs, the Ones should still be strong

Sale will improve cos they play lots of young players and with stuey anderson coming back they should be a well drilled side

Maffra will be strong again this year on the field. The are the best run team in the area(sale has a lot of in fighting). The new club rooms that were put up a few years ago are as good as any. If you want to play for a lower side go for Stratford as my mate Mick Roberts is one of the coaches.

TheSheik said:
My son is in the Air Force and will be posted to the base at Sale later in the year. He was thinking about playing footy for the RAAF team in the local league but has no idea on what the standard is like and how many grades they have.

Can anyone provide an overview of the competition in the area ?? (Goulburn Valley League I think ??)
get him sent to RAAF Richmond Shiek, the Norwest Jets are Sydneys RAAF team,and we need all the players we can get

Moe, Sale, Traralgon etc