The Sultan

Mar 29, 2007
Rand McNally
Baghdad Bombers
In light of the article written by richard hinds, has the 'explosion' of fantasy footy come at a detrimate to the game? As a footy fancan people post a few cons and pros, that DT/SC have had on the way you/we see the game:

Mine are:
Cons
- Rewards cheap kick-2-kick in the backline.

Pros
- Fans take very keen interest in 1st years players/draftees, more so than they would have five years ago.

I've got some more but will give others a go.

I'm not hyped by the 'dreamteam segment' during matches on channel 10. I do like my footy too, and I like to hear them talk about footy. Especially as Walls would be a newbie on this subject. I swap channels during this particular period. It really is uncomfortable.

Mine are:
Cons
- Rewards cheap kick-2-kick in the backline.

Come on mate, be moderately realistic here. Correlation =/= Causation, kick-2-kick isn't becoming more prevalent because of DT's increased popularity. In fact, I doubt that DT has any influence whatsoever on the players and coaches in the AFL.

not saying that it is, what I am saying that is a player who get a lot of cheap kicks in that back line is now considered a gun in DT/SC and somewhat loved, where as 5-10 years ago the same player would have been called a soft unaccountable wide receiver.

That maybe so, but the Average Joe has no weight on a coaches opinion. Who cares how someone views a player, especially considering that it is somewhat subjective? I don't see how this has any effect on the AFL, aside from people now adding the label of "DT/SC Gun/Spud" to a player. For example, I still think that Glass and Scarlett are fantastic defenders, yet I know that they are terrible DT'ers. It really isn't that hard to create this distinction IMO.

agree...maybe my point was a little vague but to put it another way, if you have Goddard and Fisher in your team and the ychips it accross to each other a few times, you (and other dt's) would be happy to see this, rather than than pissed off they are not moving the ball forward.

The way we see the cheap stat/over use of the ball has changed it is seen as a good thing, if you have picked the right player/s, rather than a frustrating thing, that is ruining fast flowing football.

The interest people have in other games as a direct result of fantasay football has definitely helped the AFL out. I don't think the AFL can come up with an argument against that.

Pros -
  • Interest in games you otherwise wouldn't watch or care about.
  • People probably know more about players, do research on them.
Cons - None

If a simple game like DT has ANY influence over the afl, there is something seriously wrong.

Con:
seeing a player whom you have in you dt/sc side burn it up against the team you support, i.e glad big score, pissed off you team is being beat. who do you cheer

Pro:makes a the sunday arvo game, especially late in the season very interersting.

Con:
seeing a player whom you have in you dt/sc side burn it up against the team you support, i.e glad big score, pissed off you team is being beat. who do you cheer

The day that's a problem is the day I'll quit DT.

All player's would be aware of where they stand in dream team worth - aka how much they are priced at.

So a pro would be that they would tackle more often as it is one of the highest scoring pieces of play. The game becomes more ferocious and therefore more interesting.

A con would be that when a player has the ball, in a situation where it is most appropriate to handball they would be more inclined to kick it as they know that will gather three times as many points than they would if they hand balled it.

AND BELIEVE ME THEY WOULD CHECK THEIR DREAM TEAM PRICES!

The interest people have in other games as a direct result of fantasay football has definitely helped the AFL out. I don't think the AFL can come up with an argument against that.

I agree,

Many dt coaches put serious amount of time in analysing other teams and their players and then follow the games on the weekend, be it on TV, Radio or places like FF.

Ok, its made me had a much greater interest in the game. From the NSW scholarship players, to the U18 Champs, to the Draft, to rookie draft, to the rising star! Its caused me to learn about more players, and also more about the game itself through research - impact of different roles etc, certain roles that need to be filled in the teams etc...

When your team has been beaten and you have an opposition player in your dream team who cut you up, it's like a consolation ptize. You are still pissed off your team lost but at least you got some dt points. It makes the loss easier to take. I also read an interview with a player (can't remember who) that said the players were massively into dreamteam and they love talking and debating and ribbing eachother about it all the time. It has generated enormous interest in otherwise passive supporters, and has added a whole new dimmension to the competition for many people myself included.I only really knew the stars before and my own team, now I'm a frickin stats expert on everyone:eek: I watch as many games as I can now to see how my dt is going. That has got to be good for tv ratings and overall sponsor $.The next tv network negotiations might prove this out. That will filter down to clubs etc.etc.Having said that I think the voice and the ONLY voice in the players head on game day is their coaches.

That has got to be good for tv ratings and overall sponsor $.The next tv network negotiations might prove this out. That will filter down to clubs etc.etc.

I think the next turning point for DT, will be tv coverage of half time/end of game analysis of scores and changes in value, possible a tv show, thought you would have to get people that have some idea about the finer details of DT.

Negative/Positive impacts of DT on AFL