Autopsy Negatives vs Hawthorn

Never mind, in two years time we will have forgotten, have a brand spanking new team and winning again.
Everything comes and goes.

Pretty much

Just have to ride out the low part of the cycle.

Been here before (early 2000s and the wooden spoon) good times will come again one day

Pretty much

Just have to ride out the low part of the cycle.

Been here before (early 2000s and the wooden spoon) good times will come again one day
Climbing Mt Everest is hard but id rather start half way up then down the very bottom when im doing it.

The other times we were half way up, this time we are at the bottom of the mountain

This climb aint like the previous

So weird twist to all this, my massive west coast supporting uncle died unexpectedly yesterday, and now I feel awful about this result. Was hoping the eagles could win in his legacy, cheer that half of my family up. Even though it is totally irrational, I feel terrible that this was the shit show that his family wound up getting.

Both Jacko and Hardie said on 6pr Simpson can't stay on. Both said after a loss like this a stand needs to be made and people need to go. Also probably time to challenge the legality of the soft cap so we can bring in replacement after paying people out.

1000 ways to skin that cat really so just pick ome.

Just get him to quit and go into a new role of "Brekky with Simmo and Karl" on 6PR at 1.2 mill a year for the next 3 years

So weird twist to all this, my massive west coast supporting uncle died unexpectedly yesterday, and now I feel awful about this result. Was hoping the eagles could win in his legacy, cheer that half of my family up. Even though it is totally irrational, I feel terrible that this was the s**t show that his family wound up getting.

I’m sorry to hear that :( My condolences to you and your family.

Positive- I am also a NQ Cowboys supporter. Last night I watched a lowly Wests Tigers outfit put us to the sword 66-18. This is a record high score for both Western Suburbs and Balmain Tigers ( now merged as Wests Tigers) with both clubs being foundation NSWRL clubs.

So in an 18 hour period I have witnessed both of my footy teams cop historically record breaking losses.
Positive - at least you aren't in my shoes.

There just has been no future planning.
After Shuey and Yeo, there is nobody else of quality in the midfield. TK is too inconsistent, often fails to make an impact and has nobody else around him.

The club has done a heap of future planning

Havnt you seen our investment portfolio?

Just no.

One of the absolute diseases this club has been its willingness to persevere with single role, shitty midfielders who can't win clearances, have no pace and can't kick accurately. We got away with it for a long time because during the Naitanui era his ability to tap to decisive advantage wallpapered over the enormous cracks that were appearing in our midfield unit.

If you look at the teams which dominate these days, they build their entire midfield around strong bodied players who can win clearances and move the ball quickly and accurately. The days of trundling around with a specialist tagger or defensive wingman who can't do those things is over.

Gaff ran 15km today, the most on ground. XON ran 14 km, 5th most. And they had 10 and 12 touches, whilst we got utterly utterly brutalised in the midfield 45 clearances to 37 and a truly gobsmackimg 70(!) inside 50s to 29.

Those guys are evolutionary dead ends. Tryiing to find a role for them just means our midfield is playing several ball winners short before the game even starts.
Sorry mate but this is an awful take.

Not every player in a sides midfield is a star and there is always room for role players. Even the midfields in the top sides have guys running through the guts who just play a role. willam drew at port, tom sparrow/james harmes at melbourne, atkins at geelong, rowbottom at sydney.

None of those guys are the strong big bodied mids that move the ball quick, they just play within their limitations and let others do it.

Even our 05-06 side, touted as one of the better midfields of all time, had room for players like Jones, Stenglien Braun.

Imagine thinking XON is the problem, its not his fault the talent isn't there around him.

Sorry mate but this is an awful take.

Not every player in a sides midfield is a star and there is always room for role players. Even the midfields in the top sides have guys running through the guts who just play a role. willam drew at port, tom sparrow/james harmes at melbourne, atkins at geelong, rowbottom at sydney.

None of those guys are the strong big bodied mids that move the ball quick, they just play within their limitations and let others do it.

Even our 05-06 side, touted as one of the better midfields of all time, had room for players like Jones, Stenglien Braun.

Imagine thinking XON is the problem, its not his fault the talent isn't there around him.
You are both wrong

Role players like Rowan Jones are nice and all but, XON isnt a role player. He couldnt tackle a ball of fairy floss and stick it, never mind another footballer.

To be a good role player you need to be able to do the basics well. Apart from the peeling of oranges, im not sure XON has any basic skill down from what ive seen

Just no.

One of the absolute diseases this club has been its willingness to persevere with single role, shitty midfielders who can't win clearances, have no pace and can't kick accurately on the basis that maybe if you rotated them 90 degrees and squinted they'd sort of be effective as a defensive runner on the non possession getting side of the wing,sweeper/linkman/ as a run with role against certain types of player etc etc etc.

We got away with it for a long time because during the Naitanui era his ability to tap to decisive advantage wallpapered over the enormous cracks that were appearing in our midfield unit and the fact that football has moved on.

If you look at the teams which dominate these days, they build their entire midfield around strong bodied players who can win clearances and move the ball quickly and accurately. The days of trundling around with a specialist tagger or defensive wingman who can't do those things is over. Because however good they are in that specific role, its always better to have another ball winner/user.

Gaff ran 15km today, the most on ground. XON ran 14 km, 5th most. And they had 10 and 12 touches, whilst we got utterly utterly brutalised in the midfield 45 clearances to 37 and a truly gobsmackimg 70(!) inside 50s to 29.

Those guys are evolutionary dead ends. Tryiing to find a role for them just means our midfield is playing several ball winners short before the game even starts.
And just to double down, Hutchings and Masten have medals and are literally the player you're describing.

You are both wrong

Role players like Rowan Jones are nice and all but, XON isnt a role player. He couldnt tackle a ball of fairy floss and stick it, never mind another footballer.

To be a good role player you need to be able to do the basics well. Apart from the peeling of oranges, im not sure XON has any basic skill down from what ive seen
err last i checked his role was to negate day and he did that very well.

and its not like the lack of 'basics' is exclusive to XON

So weird twist to all this, my massive west coast supporting uncle died unexpectedly yesterday, and now I feel awful about this result. Was hoping the eagles could win in his legacy, cheer that half of my family up. Even though it is totally irrational, I feel terrible that this was the s**t show that his family wound up getting.
West coast and 'milestone' games, name a more iconic duo.

Autopsy Negatives vs Hawthorn