NFNL 2024 Div 1 discussion

Well the AFL is seriously considering it

They don't have to though, the CSIRO and other reports recommended this for juniors specifically and recommendation for all amateur sports but were specific it was not a recommendation or requirement for professional athletes.

Science hey.

We would miraculously have a concussion free year I reckon

Not really, it's easy for NFNL to implement a MRP for all incidents and then demand a MD certificate prior to player being allowed to play.

Watch that happen. They will say they have a duty of care to do this and probably do but no doubt as long as they can fine clubs somehow, it's a laydown.

Not really, it's easy for NFNL to implement a MRP for all incidents and then demand a MD certificate prior to player being allowed to play.

Watch that happen. They will say they have a duty of care to do this and probably do but no doubt as long as they can fine clubs somehow, it's a laydown.
And who is going to report theses incidents? You think clubs or players are going to report a potential concussion and risk a player missing 4 weeks?

Nearly impossible to implement when you don’t have independent doctors and people reviewing every game for incidents.

And who is going to report theses incidents? You think clubs or players are going to report a potential concussion and risk a player missing 4 weeks?

Nearly impossible to implement when you don’t have independent doctors and people reviewing every game for incidents.
Cant wait for the leagues response when the first one comes about.

I reckon that's where they will end up. They will review every match and demand Dr certificate from every player that looked to take a hard knock.

Not saying I agree with it and in the end that can only be done for games recorded so that leaves the ones they are trying to protect (U18 and below kids) not being looked at but at least they can say they are trying.

Not sure how it will all work, but if anyone knows I'd love to be educated on any process or suggested one>

IF a process is followed something like:
  • Trainers/club doctor suspects a concussion - then clubs should support that player not playing rest of game.
  • Concussion is reported after game and player is directed to a specialist for assessment - ie: Alphington Sports Center. And maybe some sort of subsidised process can be supported by AFL Vic or the competitions?
  • IF assessment is all clear - then they report that to NFNL and player clear to play following week.
  • IF player not cleared then player to be ineligible for an agreed to timeline. I'm not sure if this should be
  • a) one size fits all timeline or
  • b) recommendation from the professional who did/does the assessment. Maybe option two.
  • Player required to get sign off - before resuming.
Surely this is in the best interests of players, clubs and the NFNL if the health and well being of everyone is supported by a clear, simple and professional process?

I know this may sound a bit 'soft' or 'woke' or anything else you want to call it, but looking after young people, especially now we have more information, should be something we ALL work towards - collectively.

As an ex-coach I'd be gutted if I found out I tried to hide a concussion and then a young fella/girl got seriously hurt again with some sort of injury that could have been avoided with better club/player care at the time.

Yes I did play in the 80's and 90's and maybe I copped too many to the head :) and this is why I think it's important to take a step back and just work through a safe and simple plan that protects all involved.

Chump.

Not sure how it will all work, but if anyone knows I'd love to be educated on any process or suggested one>

IF a process is followed something like:
  • Trainers/club doctor suspects a concussion - then clubs should support that player not playing rest of game.
  • Concussion is reported after game and player is directed to a specialist for assessment - ie: Alphington Sports Center. And maybe some sort of subsidised process can be supported by AFL Vic or the competitions?
  • IF assessment is all clear - then they report that to NFNL and player clear to play following week.
  • IF player not cleared then player to be ineligible for an agreed to timeline. I'm not sure if this should be
  • a) one size fits all timeline or
  • b) recommendation from the professional who did/does the assessment. Maybe option two.
  • Player required to get sign off - before resuming.
Surely this is in the best interests of players, clubs and the NFNL if the health and well being of everyone is supported by a clear, simple and professional process?

I know this may sound a bit 'soft' or 'woke' or anything else you want to call it, but looking after young people, especially now we have more information, should be something we ALL work towards - collectively.

As an ex-coach I'd be gutted if I found out I tried to hide a concussion and then a young fella/girl got seriously hurt again with some sort of injury that could have been avoided with better club/player care at the time.

Yes I did play in the 80's and 90's and maybe I copped too many to the head :) and this is why I think it's important to take a step back and just work through a safe and simple plan that protects all involved.

Chump.
I don't care what any rule is as long as it can be policed by independent professionals, unlike the salary cap which just punishes the few honest clubs

I reckon that's where they will end up. They will review every match and demand Dr certificate from every player that looked to take a hard knock.

Not saying I agree with it and in the end that can only be done for games recorded so that leaves the ones they are trying to protect (U18 and below kids) not being looked at but at least they can say they are trying.
You would virtually have to employ someone just for that and it would have to be someone qualified. You can't have any joe blow go through the footage and guess if there is a concussion.

Your talking 40 odd hours off footage from 3 divisions.

You would virtually have to employ someone just for that and it would have to be someone qualified. You can't have any joe blow go through the footage and guess if there is a concussion.

Your talking 40 odd hours off footage from 3 divisions.

We are also talking about long term brain damage.

Mate I am not saying I have the answer at all, I am saying there are smarter people than me right now sitting down with doctors and specialists, and they will come up with a plan. It will not be popular but unless you live under a rock and do not read what is happening in the news this is not going away as its inconvenient.

We are also talking about long term brain damage.

Mate I am not saying I have the answer at all, I am saying there are smarter people than me right now sitting down with doctors and specialists, and they will come up with a plan. It will not be popular but unless you live under a rock and do not read what is happening in the news this is not going away as its inconvenient.
100% it’s long term brain damage, which it’s been for 100 years. I understand both sides. Local footy is a little different, in that we don’t have the resources higher comps have.
I’m sure something will happen and it’s all for the better. It’s just another thing where it will be rorted in one shape or another.

You won’t see any concussion from round 15 or you will get players just to go to there local GP and say nothings wrong. It’s a very hard one

Not a snowflakes chance in hell the league will do that!!! It would cost them money and also make them responsible.
They will leave it all to the clubs to enforce and only step in if they have to.

Not a snowflakes chance in hell the league will do that!!! It would cost them money and also make them responsible.
They will leave it all to the clubs to enforce and only step in if they have to.
Then it will be a total rort like the salary cap. Never create rules you can't police

I feel stupid even talking about this because the whole list is all over the shop… But Majak Daw would be in the top 3 in D1 not 9th…

Reid Brandt confirmed exit doesn’t help either
Confirmed now? What about White and Doherty, are they all moving on?

Went past Greensy training the other day and they had good numbers on the track and looked pretty sharp. They will be interesting to watch this year, not sure where they place.

Off topic but something that’s annoyed me for quite some time, local member Anthony Carbines, and the correlation between upgrade works for the club he vocally supports (Macleod), its co-tenant Rosanna CC and its junior club-

1. De Winton Surface + pavillion upgrade

2. De Winton nets upgraded

3. Macleod Junior FC has been demolished with plans to build a brand new state of the art facility.

Attachments

• IMG_5275.jpeg
    IMG_5275.jpeg
    131.9 KB · Views: 69
Off topic but something that’s annoyed me for quite some time, local member Anthony Carbines, and the correlation between upgrade works for the club he vocally supports (Macleod), its co-tenant Rosanna CC and its junior club-

1. De Winton Surface + pavillion upgrade

2. De Winton nets upgraded

3. Macleod Junior FC has been demolished with plans to build a brand new state of the art facility.
I dont/didnt even know who he was, but as a side note - had you seen those facilities and grounds beforehand? terrible. Does he support Banyule, Heidelberg, Bellfield, Ivanhoe IJFC, etc .....who have all had works of some type done or getting done for their footy and/or cricket clubs?

I hope he starts to show an interest in our ground - needs some work at some stage I'd suggest :)

Chump

Then it will be a total rort like the salary cap. Never create rules you can't police
It’s not the NFNL enforcing it. They will just go with AFL Vic policy and make Clubs enforce it.
Volunteer people trying to assess concussions and make calls on it.
What could possibly go wrong 🤦🏼‍♂️

NFNL 2024 Div 1 discussion