North Central Football League - Part 1

Re: North Central Football League

think you would find that most quality players would stay in bendigo, unless massive coin as offered, if they did move on, the local league like loddon valley and heathcote would probably be a better option

Hi guys long time reader, first time poster. I would have to say that most of you do talk sh it on this site, some exceptions include ablett and Patty. Anyway down to footy and most importantly who is staying on at Boort this year. Picioane's and Rutley's gone leaves a big hole to fill. Is Bartram still playing on, heard he may have been linked to Cohuna this year???
Toby Gilmour off to Ballarat Swans or staying at Donald?
Is Brearley going to be fit this year?
Just a few questions to ponder my fellow BFians...

Hi guys long time reader, first time poster. I would have to say that most of you do talk sh it on this site, some exceptions include ablett and Patty. Anyway down to footy and most importantly who is staying on at Boort this year. Picioane's and Rutley's gone leaves a big hole to fill. Is Bartram still playing on, heard he may have been linked to Cohuna this year???

Heard a little rumour that Gilmour was interested in playing down in ballarat this year - goes to uni there so makes sense...

So Ablett19, it was a big day at Boort with meet the coach? And you said that there will be some new players and you were going to tell us there names???

think you would find that most quality players would stay in bendigo, unless massive coin as offered, if they did move on, the local league like loddon valley and heathcote would probably be a better option

These leagues would be a closer options, if not for the fact that they have also postponed their season also, so it defeits the purpose of chasing these guys for the first four rounds like we were discussing.

Has the rain over the past week or so effected the grounds or the water storage at all?

Short answer Yes with an If, long answer no with a but...

Have heard hes putting quite an effort in this year, after being promoted to Assistant Coach...however you can take the man out of the Uni...but can you take the Uni out of the man?

What about his mate Boyington? heard he was living it large in the Rat. Loves the sauce this kid and preseason would be a tough ask from B'rat to St A 3 nights a week?

You gunna throw the boots on ROC? surely BF has got you toey :D

These leagues would be a closer options, if not for the fact that they have also postponed their season also, so it defeits the purpose of chasing these guys for the first four rounds like we were discussing.

Has the rain over the past week or so effected the grounds or the water storage at all?

Our ground here has softened up considerably...and has a nice green top to it atm

In answer to those questions.
Bartram still at Boort.
Dunno about Toby, heard he was thinking of leaving...
Brearley wouldnt have a clue. Is uni the only reason why he may not be fit Roc?? Did he have a few niggling injuries last year??

So Ablett19, it was a big day at Boort with meet the coach? And you said that there will be some new players and you were going to tell us there names???

Yeah good memory foxy.
About 30 numbers for training. Not many new faces as yet because of work commitments and overseas travel.

In answer to those questions.
Bartram still at Boort.
Dunno about Toby, heard he was thinking of leaving...
Brearley wouldnt have a clue. Is uni the only reason why he may not be fit Roc?? Did he have a few niggling injuries last year??

Yea, i think hes playin cricket during the summer, which (unless hes a keeper or slipsman) would help keep the legs going...

groin posed a problem or 2, but nothing major.

been around 25 or so at training, once again, mainly locals...as patty said... ballarat/warnambool/melb/bendigo/horsham >>>> St Arnaud 2-3 times a week isn't the easiest to achieve, especially with Uni starting up soon, as well as Work commitments

Wicket-keeping would be harder on the legs than anything.

From my experience, moreso the knees than the legs..., but anywhere between fine leg (going clockwise to a righthander) to point seem to have the most running around :p especially a pace bowler lol...

us spinners/slipsmen have it easy

Just read that former 'burn player, Dom Lloyd has signed as Assistant Coach at Avoca. What a joke! Were they offering the position in a chook raffle?
Think the Avoca committee must not have their heads screwed on.

Don't you think that you are being a bit rough on the guy as the season has not even started?? Might be a better idea to form judgements on his performance as an assistant coach after the season has finished rather than in late Jan?????

Just read that former 'burn player, Dom Lloyd has signed as Assistant Coach at Avoca. What a joke! Were they offering the position in a chook raffle?

I know the swans have been chasing gilmore pretty hard, he was keen to play with Rich tucker and ben walklate, mates from uni i believe. was talkin an old guy out at waubra the other day tho and he said they were chasing a few more donald guys, mates of leigh brown who are already there. i assume gilmore will probly be one of them. donald not going to be very happy with waubra???

Hey smasher, you would have to give it to the guy at least he is having a go and good luck to him this year

Hey Billy. I played with Dom at the burn a couple of years ago and wanted to know what his development has been like over the past year or two. He was a talented kid (exceptional skills) and probably just needed to work on his confidence and probably mental toughness. Has his year at YCW helped his confidence and how was his year there personally?

Good luck to anyone willing to put their hand up and take on a bit of responsibility whether others think they're ready or not.

His year at YCW was good for him on and off the ground he grew in confidence and liked the challenge of playing somewhere other than his home town. He was a good pick up for YCW and I wish him all the best at Avoca.