Play Nice North Melbourne - 2018 and beyond

Absolutely. I'd rather the club die as North Melbourne than live on as some sort of 'Tassie Kangaroos' abomination. In the event that they did, I'd stop supporting them anyway. And I say that as a Tasmanian.
The South Melbourne fans are very much on board with their new look of the Sydney Swans so that's a very short sighted viewpoint to hold.

I'm not sure the first post was talking relocation, more the fact that he/she couldn't see how North was going to do much other than bump along the bottom of the ladder for the foreseeable future due to a poo current list, more retirements and youth that hasn't really shown much. Rebuilds are very difficult nowadays, you only get every 18/19/20th pick at the ND and on natural attrition of your best 22 you need to find two best 22 players every year just to stay where you are. The almost free for all that has been the two expansion clubs feeding southern states has probably now stopped so to rebuild you need to find 3-5 best 22 players every year for at least three years, not an easy task.

The South Melbourne fans are very much on board with their new look of the Sydney Swans so that's a very short sighted viewpoint to hold.

Gotta love this logic.

..........and how many former South fans that don't follow the Swans would you run in to on a normal day? Year? Decade?

Were you even alive when they left town? Do you even live in Melbourne?

I get it. I get the same feel when people us plastic, and it's treated the same by the mods. It's not so much the haters wanting to insult the club, thats meh and the price of being successful enough to threaten.

.It's more the way it becomes the norm and entrenched. Even more than North the average oppo footy fan ( Swans excepted) isnt going to get pulled up much by our supporters, so there are no natural brakes.
Give it time and we will get our turn to use meaningless insults on others.

I hope they somehow involve this song

no don't be so sarcastic... history is everything and don't you be so suave and unassuming that you will be okay.

don't be insulting others when you are wanting to be accepted. It lets the side down.

What?

I highly doubt anything i say "lets the side down" and as we develop this apparently important "history" we will also get more flog supporters. Just like every other club.

What?

I highly doubt anything i say "lets the side down" and as we develop this apparently important "history" we will also get more flog supporters. Just like every other club.
um sorry but perception is often highly tuned and well some things can be perceived as being 'rich without consequences'

you are entitled to be a bit shirty with us all but yet gaining the participants of the 'new revolution' is delicate.

Just trying to help.

um sorry but perception is often highly tuned and well some things can be perceived as being 'rich without consequences'

you are entitled to be a bit shirty with us all but yet gaining the participants of the 'new revolution' is delicate.

Just trying to help.
I still have no idea what i said that you find offensive/flogish. So im not overly sure what i need help with.

Lol it's not what you say but how you say it. The other point is that you haven't done anything wrong nor have you dumped yourself down.

I think it is funny that you speak of yourself so defensively when you have nothing to defend.

The point is that I am replying to your post and therefore everything is squared and well you don't need to feel aggrieved.

Reckon they’ll end up with home games split between Hobart, Launceston and Melbourne, and a certain number of guaranteed away games in Melbourne.

Yep pretty much. They will hold onto their 'spiritual home' and guaranteed games in Melbourne (including some home games).
Reckon they will focus more on Hobart rather then Launy.

Believe it or not I think there is some high hope for Hobart. They are extending the runway to accommodate all those Chinese carriers that want
to operate direct in there. Fresh water and clean air...plus those Devils are so cute. Tourists just can't resist. And considering our Kanga supporting friends love their history, Hobart is rich in that!!

I could handle 11 Melbourne, 4 x Hobart, 4 x Launceston & 3 x interstate games.

Tasmania need to pony up $10 million a season x 10 years for North, build up their academies & future state side infrastructure via our VFL team, whilst North utilises the hundred million to create a 25,000 seat boutique stadium at Arden Street.

Tasmania enter as a stand alone side in a 20 team competition ~ 2030.

I could handle 11 Melbourne, 4 x Hobart, 4 x Launceston & 3 x interstate games.

Tasmania need to pony up $10 million a season x 10 years for North, build up their academies & future state side infrastructure via our VFL team, whilst North utilises the hundred million to create a 25,000 seat boutique stadium at Arden Street.

Tasmania enter as a stand alone side in a 20 team competition ~ 2030.
It could be that sad, gradual descent into a Tassie ownership where the team/club is rostered onto say four or five games a year like the Hawks and
you will grab the hand of the Tassie personal who want to have a team to cling to. :cool:

It should't be seen as a detraction or else a distraction or even a demonstration of 'taking what you can get'

The Tassie people are gorgeous and will trample over high ground to get to a footy ground and therefore they have their own
people who they support.

It could be that sad, gradual descent into a Tassie ownership where the team/club is rostered onto say four or five games a year like the Hawks and you will grab the hand of the Tassie personal who want to have a team to cling to. :cool:

It should't be seen as a detraction or else a distraction or even a demonstration of 'taking what you can get'

The Tassie people are gorgeous and will trample over high ground to get to a footy ground and therefore they have their own
people who they support.

Ultimately, the reason they don't have a club is because they can't overcome their own parochial politics.

Lol it's not what you say but how you say it. The other point is that you haven't done anything wrong nor have you dumped yourself down.

I think it is funny that you speak of yourself so defensively when you have nothing to defend.

The point is that I am replying to your post and therefore everything is squared and well you don't need to feel aggrieved.
Im lucky you're here to point these things out for me it seems

NO you are just being sarcastic and well belligerent as well. don't flog the messenger cos it just hurts the innocent.
Lol. Its a forum on the internet. No need to be a sjw and expect everyone to listen to you.

You got the responses i felt you deserved, given that you are the one that took my conversations with other people out of context.

Which is why they gave us an AFLW licence ahead of Essendon and Hawthorn, because they are worried we will fold in a year or two.

Sigh.
NM won't fold but you're AFLW licence literally includes Tasmania in the name and 50% of the games and players coming from the state, I wouldn't be bringing that up in a thread where a large majority of posters are predicting a future relocation. And let's be honest, everyone knows that NM only got the license specfically because of the Tasmanian link.

That said, financially we really shouldn't be the club that is constantly saddled with the dreaded r word. We do have less AFL funding, debt and more profit than StK, Mel and WB.

Wrong. There were a couple of years that we were a shambles thanks to Cam Schwab's burning of sponsors and so on, but otherwise we consistently get less handouts than North and would make more profit based on the lower handout.

Take 2014 for instance; a year where we only won 4 games, while North made a prelim.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...millions-in-aid-from-afl-20150228-13rqwm.html

North received $2.8mil additional funds helping it to a profit of $420,000.

Melbourne received $2.27mil helping it to a profit of $284,000.

In 2016, North were given $223,000 more than Melbourne and achieved a $56k profit compared with Melbourne's $720k.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n/news-story/c450f059c9436a8343b81636d0273c52

Wrong. There were a couple of years that we were a shambles thanks to Cam Schwab's burning of sponsors and so on, but otherwise we consistently get less handouts than North and would make more profit based on the lower handout.

Take 2014 for instance; a year where we only won 4 games, while North made a prelim.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...millions-in-aid-from-afl-20150228-13rqwm.html

North received $2.8mil additional funds helping it to a profit of $420,000.

Melbourne received $2.27mil helping it to a profit of $284,000.

In 2016, North were given $223,000 more than Melbourne and achieved a $56k profit compared with Melbourne's $720k.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n/news-story/c450f059c9436a8343b81636d0273c52

OK fair enough, but I would say the difference isn't so great as to only focus on North and not other sides.

Norths have a strong following here in WA, it makes absolute sense to allow them to hold a home game in WA on a rotational basis.

Do a deal with the WAFC and play year about Dockers & Eagles....you could even build it into an event where one year (around the bye) Eagles get North in a home game and then play Freo in an 'away' game at Burswood & vice versa the following year.

North's could stay over here for the week, run clinics and expand their WA following ...travel is less taxing, it would be a good injection of cash and it would allow a lot of neutrals here in WA to watch some live footy. If this is too much for those who believes it would advantage WC/Freo .....throw SA into the mix too and then it is a 1 in 4 year deal.

It always get screamed down as unfair to the comp but to me it has big differences to just flogging a home game -
  • Norths has a legitimate following here
  • WA Teams already travel in excess of any team in the comp
  • Promotes footy in WA outside of the fixed WA team memberships
It's not perfect, however I'd much rather see North Melbourne stay in the comp as a financially viable club. If 1 trip to WA per year helps them achieve that, then take the shackles off and let them compete, and if it's a no - then **** it, let them just draw their share of the AFL cash but don't whinge about it.

I hate Norths as I do any other AFL club that's not mine, however the comp would be massively poorer if they were forced out.

Norths have a strong following here in WA, it makes absolute sense to allow them to hold a home game in WA on a rotational basis.

Do a deal with the WAFC and play year about Dockers & Eagles....you could even build it into an event where one year (around the bye) Eagles get North in a home game and then play Freo in an 'away' game at Burswood & vice versa the following year.

North's could stay over here for the week, run clinics and expand their WA following ...travel is less taxing, it would be a good injection of cash and it would allow a lot of neutrals here in WA to watch some live footy. If this is too much for those who believes it would advantage WC/Freo .....throw SA into the mix too and then it is a 1 in 4 year deal.

It always get screamed down as unfair to the comp but to me it has big differences to just flogging a home game -
  • Norths has a legitimate following here
  • WA Teams already travel in excess of any team in the comp
  • Promotes footy in WA outside of the fixed WA team memberships
It's not perfect, however I'd much rather see North Melbourne stay in the comp as a financially viable club. If 1 trip to WA per year helps them achieve that, then take the shackles off and let them compete, and if it's a no - then **** it, let them just draw their share of the AFL cash but don't whinge about it.

I hate Norths as I do any other AFL club that's not mine, however the comp would be massively poorer if they were forced out.
The only thing under question is whether we support WA secession or not.

Finances and list are in order at NM.

The future (apart from the football department) is fine.

Moving to Tasmania is a laughable idea. Ignoring that it would be financial suicide and that the club would only survive on obscenely large government and AFL hand-outs (that would eventually get turned off when it became apparent what a waste of money it would be), it would end any hope the club ever has of playing finals again.

In a market where player movement is becoming less restricted and players have more power determining where they want to be, the team based in the least desirable city in Australia has absolutely no hope of attracting anyone other than the desperate scraps not good enough to play anywhere else. Every high draft pick would serve their prison sentence in Tasmania for a couple of years and then get the hell out of there the moment they could.

The only thing under question is whether we support WA succession or not.

Finances and list are in order at NM.

The future (apart from the football department) is fine.

You could be finer.

Play Nice North Melbourne - 2018 and beyond