Now official - Fevola sacked

Re: H-S: Fevola sacked

I must admit to feeling some relief that the end of the media storm that Fev attracts is in sight.

Now, cue the outraged articles: "How can the Lions be so callous? Won't somebody think of the children?!".

While I'd have loved to have seen the club give Fev "one last chance", ultimately, I support the club's decision. Thankfully, since the departure of Kelly, Bowers and Gubby, we have a couple of guys in Angus Johnson and Stephen Wright at the helm of the club that I trust to make the right call.

No matter one's stance on Fev, one would have to be pretty callous to not feel some measure of sadness. He clearly has his demons, and seems to be in the process of trying to deal with them. Here's hoping he can get his life on track.

I can't wait for Bruce & the boys after a loss, "How good it would have been if Fev was there for the Lions?" Really can't wait.:rolleyes:

Fevola Trade vs O'Reilly Trade

Now... the worst trade for all time.

Carlton traded for Steven O'Reilly, who played very little football for them, but did happen to blow the whistle on their salary cap rorting. Let's take a look.
whatever makes you feel better

Who are all these people Didak indoctrinated?:D

Indoctrinate - to instruct, program, train, teach, coach.

Hmmm, maybe Mickey is insinuating that Dids taught that criminal Hudson how to drive one-handed while firing indiscriminantly out of the window?!?

Apologies for any indiscretions I have included in the above.

Rather than get into a debate about whether it was the right or wrong thing to pick him up in the first place, or right or wrong thing to axe him - two positives I can see are:

a) I firmly believe that the Sydney Swans openly referred to their own "No D*ckheads" policy during their very successful recent years. It was that policy that led to the demise of Nick Davis at senior level, and also strongly effected their recruiting policy at the time. While no one has openly announced that sort of setup at the Lions, with both Proud and Fevola let go of recent, one would assume that Johnson and Wright are beginning to set a similar policy in play. And I can't argue against that sort of direction.

b) I like that the letter on the website says "Dear members and supporters". Fair to say that Bowers and Kelly never acknowledged that "supporters" were an important part of the club (in fact going as far as bagging people out directly in emails I recall if they fell into the "supporter" rather than "member" category). I assume its a conscious decision. Good on Johnson and Wright for leading the way on that acknowledgement.

To me supporting a club is two-fold - we're all looking for onfield success and winning games. But I also want to feel proud of the club that I barrack for, and what they represent. So when I see the players volunteering to help flood victims with the cleanup, when I see Brownie in the paper at schools (the anti-Peter Costello "lock up your children" photoshoot if ever I've seen one), when I see the club using their initiative in the QLD Spirit jumper, when I see them openly re-embracing the Fitzroy heritage and connection, and then I think about the above two points - then I reckon we are heading in the right (or should that be Johnson Wright) direction to restoring the Pride in the Club.

And on field.... There were a lot of skinny kids running around in Maroon Blue and Gold the other night. Frustratingly bad play. BUT as someone who lived through the Fitzroy years, (especially the last few), where you can see skinny kids with potential and hope that they stick together and learn and hit the gym over a few seasons together, and you know that they'll improve.... well to me that team that played the other night was very similar. BUT the advantage they have is that there are guys around the club like Brown, Black, Power, Drummond, Adcock, and Merrett and Co, who those skinny kids can learn from and develop into a decent team. The senior core will be very useful to our development in the next few years, even if we don't challenge for a Premiership while the likes of Black, Power and Brown are still playing for us. So the on field success will also come, but over some time.

We're on the way. It's going to take some time though. But I think a "No D*ickheads" policy is a great start.

Great post :thumbsu:

Hopefully this really is rock bottom for Fev and it's all uphill from here.

Hopefully this really is rock bottom for the Brisbane Lions and it's all uphill from here.

Fevola and Lynch to sue Lion's.Something to do Velocity Sport's contract invalid reason for temination of contract.

Rich,Leunberger,Clark they could go anywhere right now and I don't blame them.

Despite being initially disappointed with the outcome, on reflection, I believe the right decision has been made.

I only have one reason for this - the certainty that it brings.

That is, the certainty for:

• Mitch Clark knowing he has the season to work in the forward line.
  • Cornelius knowing that he is now one more step up the pecking order. This will hopefully make him work harder on the track and in the reserves.
  • Fans knowing that Fev can't bring negative publicity onto the club with another act of stupidity.
I believe the certainty that the decision brings outweights the very uncertain possibility of Fev kicking a bucket full of goals for us at some point down the track.

Despite being initially disappointed with the outcome, on reflection, I believe the right decision has been made.

I only have one reason for this - the certainty that it brings.

That is, the certainty for:

• Mitch Clark knowing he has the season to work in the forward line.
  • Cornelius knowing that he is now one more step up the pecking order. This will hopefully make him work harder on the track and in the reserves.
  • Fans knowing that Fev can't bring negative publicity onto the club with another act of stupidity.
I believe the certainty that the decision brings outweights the very uncertain possibility of Fev kicking a bucket full of goals for us at some point down the track.

Mitch Clark won't be at full forward that retzlaff kid had a better game them him in 37 jumper and is a better mark overhead from what I seen.

Personally, I think giving Sydney pick 28 of Amon was a worse trade. The list Brisbane had at the end of 2009 was decent, but a long way off the pace. I don't think that list would have ever won a flag and had almost peaked. At the time adding the likes of Fevola was what was required to take such a list the next step.
Bradshaw was a fine player for the club, actually he was an absolute gun. But failed to get on the park last year and one suspects will now just play out his contract. Henderson was a high draft pick but I never really could see much in him. Didn't set the world alight and failed to live up to the hype generated (regardless of what he does at Carlton). However out of everyone we lost, he was probably most likely to be part of the Lions next premiership. Riska had a fine year last year but is nothing more than a hard working footballer that would have come no where near a best & fairest award at any other club last year. Brennan had all the talent in the world but failed to utilize it on a regular basis. Which leaves us with Sherman. Sherman was nothing more than an egotistical moron who either had an exciting game or failed to touch the football. Whilst all these players are above average footballers at their best, they were never consistent enough to form a premiership winning side. The risk was taken by Voss and it didn't pan out. Now we re-build a list that is capable of taking us to the next step. The likes of Redden, Rockcliff, Banfield and Rich are already a good start.
A tad harsh on Sherman??
It's not the central theme here, but Sherman was mucked around by both his coaches. Matthews wanted robots who could play football ("10% of players require 90% of you time" he said) - well Sherman did require a bit more from his coaches. The reward - 4th or 5th in the B & F in 2009. A year later and Voss has him in and out of the team.
All he wanted was a set task week in/week out and he would have been a good faithful player.
Let's see how he goes at the Dogs.
Might bite us like Craig Bolton Gram etc etc.

A tad harsh on Sherman??
It's not the central theme here, but Sherman was mucked around by both his coaches. Matthews wanted robots who could play football ("10% of players require 90% of you time" he said) - well Sherman did require a bit more from his coaches. The reward - 4th or 5th in the B & F in 2009. A year later and Voss has him in and out of the team.

He wasn't dropped at all last year, missing weeks 5 and 6 due to injury (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/93537/default.aspx) and weeks 17, 19 and 20 as well (http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/08/06/2976002.htm?site=sport&section=afl). So where exactly did he come in and out of the team?

All he wanted was a set task week in/week out and he would have been a good faithful player.

He had set tasks. He had about half a year as a tagger where he was solid, but the following year was rubbish. He had about a year where he played as a front runner with no defensive responsibilities and shone, but that's not a sustainable position.

Let's see how he goes at the Dogs.
Might bite us like Craig Bolton Gram etc etc.

Not a lot of "et ceteras" there. Not too many of our offloads (players, not draft picks) have had a stellar career.

Does Fevola have a leg to stand on in regards to his sacking being illegal??? I think he should take his money and run, he will get a gig on the footy show and probably get paid to play VFL in Melbourne he will survive if he pulls his head in and starts living for his kids instead of just living for himself.

A player who had been at the club a micro second. He sacked himself; thousands in the work force get sacked every month, good , decent people, some living on the bread line. We need stability and if Voss does not produce it this season he will be next.

Does Fevola have a leg to stand on in regards to his sacking being illegal??? I think he should take his money and run, he will get a gig on the footy show and probably get paid to play VFL in Melbourne he will survive if he pulls his head in and starts living for his kids instead of just living for himself.

If he can prove that during the period that he is being sacked for (New Years Eve) that he was suffering clinical depression then my oath. The Lions could be in A LOT more trouble than its worth -- dragged through the courts and ending up having to pay the contract and court costs. I believe that a clinical psychologist would earmark his problems as having started with Alex heading back to Melbourne. We all know that he had serious issues before then but not to the level of "We need to get rid of him ASAP."

That's part of the reason why some of those people suggesting that the Lions shouldn't have gotten rid of him are spot on in my mind.

I also agree that Brisbane should rid themselves of the financial responsibility ASAP. It'll sting but it's less than it could be. It's a risky legal game and certainly not a good publicity run, either way. If the Lions pay him out it'll be forgotten within a month and only brought up within the team's struggles through the season. No one marked you down as world beaters with Fev so it's not that big a hit regardless.

Copped this on my facebook

Well Well Well, what ya gona do mickey, your golden boy FEV has been FIRED!!! lmfaooo bahaha how will the lions fair in battle now without him? looks like its gona be a shite year on the lower end of the ladder once again for the Brisbane Lions.. i think you should get used to it.. dont think there goin anywhere anytime soon? FEVOLOUTION= EPIC
FALIURE!! :p GO PIESSSS

My reply
With or Without Fevoultion......Jonathan Brown will kick you punk ar** Black N white bit*** ars*s to the sun come's up.Thank you forgetting my passion back GO LION"S

If he can prove that during the period that he is being sacked for (New Years Eve) that he was suffering clinical depression then my oath. The Lions could be in A LOT more trouble than its worth -- dragged through the courts and ending up having to pay the contract and court costs. I believe that a clinical psychologist would earmark his problems as having started with Alex heading back to Melbourne. We all know that he had serious issues before then but not to the level of "We need to get rid of him ASAP."

That's part of the reason why some of those people suggesting that the Lions shouldn't have gotten rid of him are spot on in my mind.

I also agree that Brisbane should rid themselves of the financial responsibility ASAP. It'll sting but it's less than it could be. It's a risky legal game and certainly not a good publicity run, either way. If the Lions pay him out it'll be forgotten within a month and only brought up within the team's struggles through the season. No one marked you down as world beaters with Fev so it's not that big a hit regardless.

No Fev will get on with his life. As for "clinical psychologists"; he'd get better advise from a Gabon witch doctor. But anyway; your opinion is valuable.

What has Fevola having Depression got to do with him being sacked???

The only move the club could make. Onwards and upwards! The line has been drawn and there isn't a player on our list who now isn't aware of the behavioural expectations of our great club.

I ask the question, even if he did have one more chance left with the club, is he really in any kind of condition to continue playing ? A player is contracted to a footy club to play footy, and i don't think under the circumstances he can do that to the best of his ability.

Now add that to the amount of chances he has had, and it just had to happen.

I ask the question, even if he did have one more chance left with the club, is he really in any kind of condition to continue playing ? A player is contracted to a footy club to play footy, and i don't think under the circumstances he can do that to the best of his ability.

Now add that to the amount of chances he has had, and it just had to happen.
How many chances would that be at Brisbane? Given he was cleared of the Bingle and Exposure charges, and gambling issues are totally non-footy related I'm tipping it's the one stuff-up. Your administration can't even tells us what he has done to been to be sacked. They has an obligation to tell the player, his management, the AFLPA and probably even paying members as to why he was sacked. But the chairman chickened out probably because he had nothing. Player still hasn't been told why specifically. Most of us don't consider their generalised explanation as a reason as there's nothing specific. Tells me they were looking for any old reason due to the perception of lots of unsubstantiated or non-footy related headlines.

Brisbane took him on knowing what he was like then ran for cover at the first sign of a bad headlines. Now it costs them 1.8 million and probably one or two of those young guns coming out of contract.

Tough to try to respect the club as it stands now.

Your administration can't even tells us what he has done to been to be sacked

Nor do they have an obligation to. Who are you and why should you be informed?

The specific details will be discussed behind closed doors. You'll have to satiate your craving for gossip elsewhere. Grab a New Idea or something.

Save your breath. I tried arguing this on the main board, but no one could grasp the theory that they weren't entitled to know every detail.

Absolutely. Sanctimonious or what?

What is forgotten in this whole saga is Fevo the footballer. This is a bloke that has just come off of major surgery. At 30 years of age. Whose rehab has been nightclubs & party. And this is nothing I have not posted B4.
Drama, drama drama. What are the chances of him coming back & actually earning his inflated salary? Of playing a full season & winning another Coleman? Of kicking match winning scores in finals? Cos that is what we are paying for.

5/8 ths of f... all. Mayhap this has a bearing on the boards decision.

Now official - Fevola sacked