Open Training

longtimecat

Aug 21, 2009
Its time the club stopped advertising this as "open training" . The players don't really train at all they run through some very minor drills and sign autographs for the kids. Advertise it as a family day and those who want to see training can go out to Deakin. I wont bother going to this again.

Im gonna be stereotypical and generalistic here:

Any open training day is probably best served for the GFC FB type supporter. IMO the BF GFC supporter will not be appeased by this and will want to see more of the tactical drill and structural set ups - best seen at closed or Deakin sessions. Most posters here are of a higher footy nous and level of understanding - and want to see those things. Kick to kick and some run throughs wont satisfy the desire - as seen above.

Just my 2c.

GO Catters

It's a neither/nor day to be honest. This is how they advertise it:

Your school holiday fun is here!

The boys are back, gearing up for another big season ahead. So come on down to GMHBA Stadium to watch all your favourite players run through a series of drills and training exercises.

Plus, there'll be heaps more for you to enjoy, including:
  • Selfies and autographs with the players*
  • Kids activities
  • 2018 merchandise available from the Cats Shop, enter via the Charles Brownlow Stand
  • Meet Half Cat!
  • Pick up your 2018 Membership
  • Charles & Co. Cafe in the Charles Brownlow Stand open from 8am

- Charles and Co Cafe (located in the Charles Brownlow Stand) will be open from 8am. It's the perfect pit stop for breakfast, a coffee fix or a family lunch after training. Dine inside or soak up the sun in our new alfresco area.
- Pick up an ice cream, milkshake or coffee on the go at our coffee cart, located out in Legends Plaza.
- Check out the Cats Shop in the Charles Brownlow Stand, stocked with new arrivals from Cotton On, New Era and more
- Plus, there'll be lots more!

*Please note, the time is subject to change in line with training schedule. Autographs will occur after training session with available players.

Of course training is going to be minor skill drills, they would never conduct a serious heavy training session as an open training session. In terms of the autograph signing, that was very haphazard also - there was an older gentleman near me (Brownlow Stand, nearly on the border with the Ford Stand), and he had an Ablett print he wanted signed by Gary. One of the staff members started talking with him and explained that there would be some players signing autographs today but that it wasn't the whole idea of today and depended on the payers schedule - plus, because of the number of fans there (covering the entire fence line from Premiership Stand through Brownlow Stand) that they players were given sections to sign and from my observation the most desired players (Ablett, etc) signed in the section between the players dugout and the players race - so bad luck to those standing on the outer.

This staff member also said that there would be another chance for autographs at the family day on February 17 when there will be time (i think she said 25 minutes) dedicated following training - so sounds like they will do something similar next month

Personally I think they ought to prioritize children for those autograph scrums. Maybe they already do, but let the 'adults' wait until all the nippers have been taken care of.
IMO

I terms of autographs I think they should go back to what they did at the 2012 family day - they had a couple of tents with the players split between the two tents and outside each tent was a list of players inside seated at tables in something of a circuit you walk around. The idea was to line up, move one player to the next and if you had time you could get to the second tent.

People had the opportunity to get the autograph of the player/s they most wanted by lining up for the relevant tent. It stopped people pushing in or pushing others aside and it was a lot more organised than whats on offer at these open training/autograph sessions

I terms of autographs I think they should go back to what they did at the 2012 family day - they had a couple of tents with the players split between the two tents and outside each tent was a list of players inside seated at tables in something of a circuit you walk around. The idea was to line up, move one player to the next and if you had time you could get to the second tent.

People had the opportunity to get the autograph of the player/s they most wanted by lining up for the relevant tent. It stopped people pushing in or pushing others aside and it was a lot more organised than whats on offer at these open training/autograph sessions

A great idea...
As CE posted earlier...

@offici.....

oh never mind.. :drunk::rolleyes:

GO Catters

Personally I think they ought to prioritize children for those autograph scrums. Maybe they already do, but let the 'adults' wait until all the nippers have been taken care of.
IMO
They 150% should... i took my boy couple of years ago...
Pretty disheartening for a 4 year old who is trying to get to the fence when grown men push in front to get their jumper signed.
The players however are great with the kids normally and happy to pose for photos etc.. and will try prioritise the kids over the adults

Scott will be heart broken he love interaction with the fans.

Im gonna be stereotypical and generalistic here:

Any open training day is probably best served for the GFC FB type supporter. IMO the BF GFC supporter will not be appeased by this and will want to see more of the tactical drill and structural set ups - best seen at closed or Deakin sessions. Most posters here are of a higher footy nous and level of understanding - and want to see those things. Kick to kick and some run throughs wont satisfy the desire - as seen above.

Just my 2c.

GO Catters
I love you Daz. But to say most posters here have a higher footy nous? Give us a spell! Pat of these halfwits are drunks and mouth breathers. Their footy nous finishes with whatever they can remember from mark Fines rant on a Sunday night.

With about 11 exceptions most the muppets on bigfooty are complete imbeciles. Me included.

I love you Daz. But to say most posters here have a higher footy nous? Give us a spell! Pat of these halfwits are drunks and mouth breathers. Their footy nous finishes with whatever they can remember from mark Fines rant on a Sunday night.

With about 11 exceptions most the muppets on bigfooty are complete imbeciles. Me included.
i did say stereotypical...:D:D:D

Im not on FB but I have seen the posts on there - Id take a mouth breather from here over 5 of the FB types...

But yes we have our own special ones. I still say that the av footy IQ on here is better than the normal IMO.

GO Catters

Man...you made my day. Got a belly laugh out of your post. Classic CMA stuff.

The self deprecation at the end was just right. Good work mate.

Happy to be one of the 11 :D

IMO

Of course. What are adults doing getting signatures and selfies for goodness sake? I don’t get it.

Well... if you've seen plenty in our cheer squad the answer is pretty self explanatory

That sums up me perfectly. Honestly all I'd wanna see is a few big torps and say Hi to Gaz. Hopefully a jumping castle or something outside for the kids.

Limited players? The only players I did not see out there signing were Stanley and Parfitt and the three young draftees. But even they may have been out before I arrived.

I’ve read people saying that Gaz wasn’t signing but my little cousin got his. He was at the fence for quite a while.
I posted this photo yesterday, GAJ was signing autographs

26850192_10155266023230922_1783504611047753289_o.jpg

What is wrong with being a mouth breather?

Open Training