RHAS

Nov 14, 2005
NSW
Looks like a defender and he did play OK against us. Just wondering if you guys know why did Brisbane let him go?

From what I have read (don't quote me though) is that he had been on the rookie list for 2 years which is the max you can be on the rookie list for, yet he obviously didn't impress them enough to warrant an elevation to the senior list. It would have been a tough call you would think.

Thanks guys. We need some defensive players at Richmond but if he is too slow Wallace won't want him.

He played 8 games, kicked 4 goals, and just wasn't able to get much of the ball or have much of an influence in any of the games. Took a couple of good grabs but agree that he was too slow. Seemed like a decent bloke but is just not up to AFL standard IMO.

Bobby Beecroft said:
Wasn't intentional just trying to point out where I think Marty fits in, in comparison to others.
It is a good comparison too. Not so much on playing styles but, particularly with Luke Weller, he is absolutely destroying teams at AFLQ level now but always looked a bit lost at senior level. Like Pask.

RHAS said:
Looks like a defender and he did play OK against us. Just wondering if you guys know why did Brisbane let him go?
possibly too slow...
has been on the rookie list for 2years so had to be put on the senior list or let go...
Mitch clark due to play alot next year so not really a spot for him with browny and Braddy as well.

possibly too slow...

you guys are forgetting that he tore his hammy while he was starting to find his feet and probably came back under done and hence the reason he looked slow.....certainly was beating everyone on the lead prior to the hamstring tear....just a thought. Wait to see what happens first before comparisons are made.

guse said:
possibly too slow...

you guys are forgetting that he tore his hammy while he was starting to find his feet and probably came back under done and hence the reason he looked slow.....certainly was beating everyone on the lead prior to the hamstring tear....just a thought. Wait to see what happens first before comparisons are made.
Wait and see? I wish the guy every success in the world but I've seen enough of him to make some form of judgment at this stage. Those who say he is slow are on the money IMO. Maybe not for AFLQ standard but at the top level he lacked something.

Like with Weller and Morrison, I hope he gets a gig with another club. Unlike with Weller and Morrison, I hope I am proved wrong when I say that I don't think he is AFL standard.

If he doesn't get signed by another club, he's good enough to kick 100 goals in the local league...but that won't prove anything.

In reality, I think Pask, Morrison and Craig Bolton probably aren't that different in ability. Sometimes it just comes down to opportunity and luck.

xplo said:
In reality, I think Pask, Morrison and Craig Bolton probably aren't that different in ability. Sometimes it just comes down to opportunity and luck.
Dunno xplo. When Bolton left, he'd already played a fair few games with us and had done well on more than one occasion. Morrison had a fair bit of opportunity moving to a struggling team - I know he had a few injuries but really didn't show much at Richmond.

Just on Bolton, congratulations to him for an outstanding couple of seasons and I am very happy for him to be named All Australian. However, he does represent a bit of a change in key defenders. Look at Clement, Bowden, Bolton, Barry...all flanker sized but capable of holding down key positions and all AA selections recently. I actually don't think it will last. I reckon the league has had a couple of years where the CHF played almost as an additional on-baller or wingman, pushing back as far as half-back to help with the flood. Even guys like Hall and Brown, who have the ability to dominate forward 50, tended to try and break their opponents by outrunning them - therefore, the flanker types were good match ups. But I think there is a swing back to more traditional power CHFs whose domain will be around 50m circle. I can see Brown, Pavlich, Hall, Tredrea and even Riewoldt playing CHF in this way next year. That might test out some of the lighter weight tall defenders that have done so well recently.

Bolton had the opportunity to play three years on the senior list without making 30 games though. He went up and down from the magoos a fair bit -- which I'm sure gave him the absolute @#$'s -- but in a strong team he had the luxury of figuring out his weaknesses at AFL level and fixing them -- Pask and Morrison never really had that same opportunity.

xplo said:
Bolton had the opportunity to play three years on the senior list without making 30 games though. He went up and down from the magoos a fair bit -- which I'm sure gave him the absolute @#$'s -- but in a strong team he had the luxury of figuring out his weaknesses at AFL level and fixing them -- Pask and Morrison never really had that same opportunity.

Opportunity is not what pask as been given.Much like Brett Voss,and Jason Gram really.

Funny seeing Bolton as an AA last night, my has he progressed since leaving us.Good on him.

campbell said:
Opportunity is not what pask as been given.Much like Brett Voss,and Jason Gram really.

Funny seeing Bolton as an AA last night, my has he progressed since leaving us.Good on him.

the argument goes both ways - you can only get opportunities when you are next in line

the quality of players ahead of Bolton and Voss was too great for a couple of young fellas to break through

i don't think we made a mistake in the context of when the decisions were made but with hindsight, sure I would love to have kept them both

Jason Gram was different - he had played far fewer games when he left...as I remember the club rated him but, again, there was just no room left in the salary cap

that said, i was a bit surprised that pask got the heave-ho - on the few occasions i saw him, i thought he showed he could take a pack mark...a dying skill nowadays

but it probably came down to choosing between him and merrett and the orange roughie mkII showed he can play down back so that probably got him the nod

no sense crying over spilt milk etc

peace

I reiterate. Too slow. I am a fan of Marty Pask's 100% effort. I watched him play some ripper matchs in the ressies. I think he will kill em at AFLQ level and would go as far to say that he may go well at SANFL or WAAFL. I realised that Marty had pace issues when he tried and tried to run back from the forward pocket to chase a defender in front of me one evening and he was going backwards. And I mean backwards.

This is not a matter of not being given a chance. He got 4 goes in a team struggling. We have a (supposedly) super draft coming up. We have to make tough choices and this is sadly one of them. As much as the trading meat market is unpalatable it is part of the footy scene and we as fans have to trust the clubs judgement. It is no good bringing up past player who left and went on to better things. That is life the universe and everthing. It has happened in the past, in the present and will happen in the future, not to just the Brisbane Lions but to every other club.

John said:
I reiterate. Too slow. I am a fan of Marty Pask's 100% effort. I watched him play some ripper matchs in the ressies. I think he will kill em at AFLQ level and would go as far to say that he may go well at SANFL or WAAFL. I realised that Marty had pace issues when he tried and tried to run back from the forward pocket to chase a defender in front of me one evening and he was going backwards. And I mean backwards.

This is not a matter of not being given a chance. He got 4 goes in a team struggling. We have a (supposedly) super draft coming up. We have to make tough choices and this is sadly one of them. As much as the trading meat market is unpalatable it is part of the footy scene and we as fans have to trust the clubs judgement. It is no good bringing up past player who left and went on to better things. That is life the universe and everthing. It has happened in the past, in the present and will happen in the future, not to just the Brisbane Lions but to every other club.

fair comment

i didn't see him play live in any of those games, only on the teev so it's sometimes hard to judge how well someone chases

on an aside, I refuse to criticse the club's selection decisions in hindsight so even if Pask kicks butt for someone else then I wont mind

if I or others had known Craig Bolton was gonna be AA CHB back then, then we probably would have opened our mouths

...but we didn't ;)

beatnik said:
if I or others had known Craig Bolton was gonna be AA CHB back then, then we probably would have opened our mouths

...but we didn't ;)

At the time I was leading the campaign to get rid of him. I still remember him kicking across the field at half back and him shanking it horribly towards our own goal for an opposition player to run through and kick an embaressing goal. Every time he got the ball I had heart flutters. I used to think he was hopeless.

Grimreepah said:
At the time I was leading the campaign to get rid of him. I still remember him kicking across the field at half back and him shanking it horribly towards our own goal for an opposition player to run through and kick an embaressing goal. Every time he got the ball I had heart flutters. I used to think he was hopeless.

Does that mean we should all be cutting Jmac some slack next year? :D

The Flying Belgian said:
Does that mean we should all be cutting Jmac some slack next year? :D

Probably means there are better judges than me:(

I'm trying to picture JMac as an AA, but I just....... can't......... do it.