Patrick Karnezis - Waste of a Senior Spot?

Will he be delisted at the end of the year?

• Yes, He's not going to become a regular senior player.

Votes: 49 37.4%
  • No, he's worth persisting with

Votes: 82 62.6%

Presty For Prez

May 24, 2014
Patty Karnezis, seems to be an extraordinary VFL player, just like he was in the NEAFL, but given his few opportunities at senior level, and he seems slow and disinterested.

I think he is at a bit of a cross roads at the moment, not even being named emergency in recent weeks behind the likes of Ben Kennedy, Jonothan Marsh, Braydan Maynard, and Darcy Moore. This suggests to me like he's been overtaken and the club only really see him as depth.

It's sad because I was a massive fan of his recruitment, I thought we may have pulled a hine special out of a straight swap for Jackson Paine, but I'm almost convinced at the moment that it was a like for like trade, and neither player will be on an AFL list come next year.

i think hes an unlucky casuality of being in a team in which a horses for courses mentality leaves him out. like i reckon hes probably got heaps of potential and could be a very good player but he might just never get a run at it

No good, not up to AFL standard IMO.
Never thought much of him at Brisbane and still don't now.
Is a good kick, but doesn't get it enough and has no defensive game at all.

Are the 22 other players that don't make the side a waste of a spot?

He has some talent, and it didn't translate to the seniors. We gave up sfa for him. Its not like we paid him lots and gave up high draft picks.

We've offered him a new 2 year deal (up from an initial offer of 1 year) so the club must rate him a bit.

Another solid preseason could be the making of him. He needs to believe he belongs, once he gets his head around that and a decent fitness base I think he could blossom.

Can't wait for the day these threads are brought and we ask ourselves how we ever spoke so poorly of a club champion.

He will be a 150game player for us.

To play 150 games for us he'd have to play pretty much every game from now until he is 31.... yeah, ain't gonna happen.

Too slow mentally (doesn't assess options quickly) and physically for the frantic pace of AFL footy, can deal with VFL speed though which allows him to dominate.

I think he's still trying to build his tank up to AFL level. Not sure what his contract status is like but I'd give him next year before cutting him. He's got skill around goal which is a huge plus if he can put the rest of his game together

Skills no question, reckon he's a touch soft though... happy for the club to keep him on if they see value in him though

If we got rid of some of these duds who are probably on around 200k each we could easily afford a big name FA.
Do we really need to have a full list? Cut it down and add some quality.

Wouldn't be looking ad delisting him. Has got ability there is no doubt about that but like some other people have pointed out he does seem to lack urgency when he plays. I wouldn't be giving up on him just yet, and if the rumour that he is being offered a two year extension are true then the club must see some potential there.

I wouldn't give up on a player that has more natural football talent than most on our list just yet. I don't think he has the pace and intensity to play in an AFL midfield, especially not in ours.

But I like the fact that he played most of the last VFL game forward. And was our equal top goal kicker with 3. He is still young and can develop into a good option at half forward without the need to add manic pressure to his game. Jack Gunston averages less than 2 tackles a game. We'll be in a good place if we can turn Karnezis into a similar type, even if it's to be a dangerous depth player during our next flag assault.

Patrick Karnezis - Waste of a Senior Spot?