GrandBlue

May 18, 2008
Tottenham Hotspur
Anyone have a video of this? Picken kicked an absolute ripper of a goal in the 4th quarter today, evading three players, picking the ball up and snapping on an angle. Surely it'd have to be Goal of the Year unless everyone is still fapping over Milne's lucky shot against Port.

I've been couch ridden all day thanks to blowing out my knee at football yesterday so I couldn't go to the game. I jumped out of the coach when he kicked that. It won't win goal of the year, they are usually reserved for a freaky or fluke snap but I personally hold this one much higher.

• Banned
I've been couch ridden all day thanks to blowing out my knee at football yesterday so I couldn't go to the game. I jumped out of the coach when he kicked that. It won't win goal of the year, they are usually reserved for a freaky or fluke snap but I personally hold this one much higher.

The last 3 Goals of the Year haven't been snaps (Rioli, Davis and Lloyd) so that's at least one good sign.

I haven't seen Lecras' goal but Picken's would have to be extremely hard to beat. Up there with the best this decade IMO.

I just loved that goal, whether it's goal of the week or not. The sheer effort that propelled him out of that contest, looking as if he was going to pitch face forward any second, keeping his feet against the odds - I just burst out into amazed laughter when the ball went through. Liam Picken is the sort of player I want out there representing the Western Bulldogs, not show ponies with bleached hair.

Where I sit the fans all stood as one and gave Liam a standing ovation. It was a magical goal, as was Griff's booonana and Moles/Wood? bouncing goal in the second quarter. A renewable forest was happening with the amount of wood that was occuring by me.

Bad timing for Picken (and not to take credit away from his goal), but LeCras is going to smash him considering our game was on Foxtel and the other was live on free-to-air

*It's a vote isn't it?

It wasnt about the kick, it was about the 1%'er of effort that led to him being in a position to kick at goal. He chased the ball, persisted, pushed past 2 tackles and slotted an over the shoulder kick.

Its the sort of goal you'd want to see kicked during a finals game, a real team lifter

• Banned
Just saw the highlights, Picken's goal was easily better than LeCras. If common sense prevails, Picken or even Griffen should easily win goal of the week (or even goal of the year). LeCras just dribbled his through, it shouldn't matter whether or not he meant it because it could've rolled anywhere. Picken's effort to pick the ball up, evade a couple of players and then convert is a much better goal IMO.

Anyone who thinks we need Akermanis to provide goal kicking class just needs to watch Picken's goal. Aker had skills, but he was never, ever, that hard at the same time.:thumbsu:

I just loved that goal, whether it's goal of the week or not. The sheer effort that propelled him out of that contest, looking as if he was going to pitch face forward any second, keeping his feet against the odds - I just burst out into amazed laughter when the ball went through. Liam Picken is the sort of player I want out there representing the Western Bulldogs, not show ponies with bleached hair.

I'll second that. I just love him as a player, he's a booming kick and has the Boyd/Cross hard-nosed attitude.

It's these moments that you go to the footy for. (Shame I was 600km away but at least I watched it on Fox.) Just love his attitude and work ethic. He would have to be among the first picked every week I reckon.

I jumped out of my seat and started jumping around and cheering like a mad man as soon as the ball left his boot. I knew he had hit it sweetly and it was always going to swing in.

Reminded me of the final goal V Geelong last year for Aker's 300th.

Next years a long way away but if we could get a player from a lower league to come in as a tagger (ie. Myles Sewell??) then would be great to see Picken spend more time as a forward pocket. Think he's more use there than Stack for example and allows and extra midfield rotation from the forward line which Stack doesn't give. Alternatively for a tagger role it could be a good way to get Sam Reid or even Libba into the team (could Addison play the role like he did on Kerr the other year?).

Pearce took him to the cleaners in the first half last week, but he kicked a couple of goals this week. Maybe Eade has said he wants Picken to play more offensively?

I still think he gives his best value playing a more negating role, but having the ability to win his own ball when he has to, and then do something good with it, makes him all the more dangerous.

It was a great day for GOTY contenders.....

1. Picken's in the 4th Q
2. Griffen's long goal in the 1st Q
3. Griffen's banana goal in the 2nd Q
4. Moles long run and goal in the 2nd Q
5. Johnno's soccer after Bazza's "Wayne Harmes" slap in the 4th Q

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Picken's goal today