Player Of The Year

Falchoons Player Of The Year

I have decided to do a player of the year for the simple fact the St Kilda board doesn't have one whilst most others do.

So after reviewing the games so far I have come up with the following votes on a 3,2,1 basis.

There is no Fairest in this award, because I believe that when you are getting badly beaten, a bit of the Burns/Cunningham type mongrel should not go astray.

Some games players can be considered unlucky, ie Rd 1, half the team or rd 5 Dal Santo in particular, and some games I struggled to fill the 3,2,1 Collingwood ang Geelong in particular.

But anyway here are the votes so far.

3 Harvey
2 Jones
1 Gehrig

Freo
Jones
Loewe
Burke

Port
Hayes
Milne
Thompson

Hayes
Riewoldt
Cripps

Riewoldt
Voss
Milne

Coll
Lawrence
Thompson
Riewoldt

Leaderboard so far.

6Hayes……33
6Riewoldt.231
5Jones……23
3Harvey….3
3Milne…….21
3Thompson12
3Lawrence..3
2Loewe …..2
2Voss……..2
1Gehrig……1
1Burke…….1
1Cripps……1

V Melbourne

3. Thompson (always better with Harvey alongside)
2. Hudghton (did Neitz play?)
1. Callaghan (everywhere)

apologies to Lawrence (best in first half)
and Riewoldt (who beat Schwarz everywhere but the ruck contests) (Will be even better with the other big fellas alongside him so he can "float")
and Harvey not a "great" game himself but for making everybody else better. (and to the clown who says a missed shot at goal is showing poor leadership, consider how he brings others into the game, great leader!)

Leaderboard
6 Hayes……
6 Riewoldt..
6 Thompson
5 Jones……
3 Harvey…..
3 Milne…….
3 Lawrence..
2 Loewe …..
2 Voss……..
2 Hudghton
1 Gehrig……
1 Burke…….
1 Cripps……
1 Callaghan

v Essendon

3 Riewoldt.... A class above
2 Hayes........Having a good season
1 Thompson.. The only good part of the game was the centre clearances, and Riewoldt.

Leaderboard
9 Riewoldt..
8 Hayes……
7 Thompson
5 Jones……
3 Harvey…..
3 Milne…….
3 Lawrence..
2 Loewe …..
2 Voss……..
2 Hudghton
1 Gehrig……
1 Burke…….
1 Cripps……
1 Callaghan

Riewoldt for the B&F?

Keep up the good work Falchoon.

Apart from Riewoldt we've got to be pretty happy with the performance of Lenny Hayes this year. I thought at the beginning of the season this will be the year he has to stand up and to his credit he has done that. Before last round he was equal first with Daniel Chick in tackles and is winning a lot of the ball. If I had any complaint his usually good disposal has let him down a little and I'd love to see him kick a few more goals.

Votes For Round 9

3. Robert Harvey... For playing like Robert Harvey. Criticised for not kicking a lot of goals, but would hit more chests within the 50m arc than anyone. When o when will an assist stat become available?

2. Nick Riewoldt. 15 games into his career and you can almost give the same reason as for Harvey. For playing like Riewoldt.
In two weeks he has beaten 3 All Australians.

1. Max Hudghton. For leaping tall packs in a single bound. Stopped Ottens taking any marks, most dangerous player on their team.

Apologies to Voss, Lawrence, Thompson, Clarke, Dal Santo etc
Good to be apologising than struggling to fill 3 spots.

Leaderboard.

11 Riewoldt..
8 Hayes……
7 Thompson
6 Harvey…..
5 Jones……
3 Milne…….
3 Lawrence..
3 Hudghton
2 Loewe …..
2 Voss……..
1 Gehrig……
1 Burke…….
1 Cripps……
1 Callaghan

Rd 10 v Weagles
3.Hayes. My wish for him at the start of the year was for him to develop into a Simon Black, who is a year older. Almost there!
2.Hamill. Probably his best game for St Kilda, is a great third tall (except even Lenny is 5cm taller) but will struggle as first or second option. Will currently be very happy with his trade decision.
1.Baker 7 centre clearances and completely "gloved" the oppositions best player.

Voss, Peckett, Everitt, Milne, Thompson also in the mix, and does anyone else appreciate Troy Schwarze's kicking skills?

Leaderboard
11 Riewoldt.. 23132
11 Hayes…… 3323
7 Thompson 1231
6 Harvey…..33
5 Jones……23
3 Milne…….21
3 Lawrence..3
3 Hudghton 21
2 Loewe …..2
2 Voss…….. 2
2 Hamill 2
1 Gehrig……1
1 Burke…….1
1 Cripps……1
1 Callaghan1
1 Baker......1

3. hamill
2. hayes - is quickly becoming a top line midfielder.
1. milne

i remember an interview last year after the blight sacking with scott camporeali. he was asked whether he had any sympathy for his mate aaron hamill and he said he had rung sammy to give him heaps. i wonder if aaron has returned that call yet. :D

troy schwarze is proving me wrong. in times of crisis it becomes evident who is willing to do the hard things and who is just along to make up the numbers. as a member of the club i applaud the effort he is putting in to improve as a footballer. he has improved with every game this year and would now be in our best 22. the same for lenny hayes, perhaps beetham should have a word to these two and ask what is required to make it at senior level.

Originally posted by StrengthThroughLoyalty
3. hamill
2. hayes - is quickly becoming a top line midfielder.
1. milne

i remember an interview last year after the blight sacking with scott camporeali. he was asked whether he had any sympathy for his mate aaron hamill and he said he had rung sammy to give him heaps. i wonder if aaron has returned that call yet. :D

troy schwarze is proving me wrong. in times of crisis it becomes evident who is willing to do the hard things and who is just along to make up the numbers. as a member of the club i applaud the effort he is putting in to improve as a footballer. he has improved with every game this year and would now be in our best 22. the same for lenny hayes, perhaps beetham should have a word to these two and ask what is required to make it at senior level.

Well said on Schwarze STL.

I'll admit I thought the way he was heading he was going to the next "Gumby" and was very fortunate to have retained his spot on the list.

I'm eating humble pie and I've got to say it doesn't taste too badly.

As for Lenny, while I wouldn't say it was a make or break season for him, like a few others on this board felt this was the season where he had a real opportunity to take the next step. He'd be the deserved leader in our best and fairest at this stage. His tackling has been magnificent thus far.

Originally posted by sainter

Well said on Schwarze STL.

I'll admit I thought the way he was heading he was going to the next "Gumby" and was very fortunate to have retained his spot on the list.

I'm eating humble pie and I've got to say it doesn't taste too badly.

As for Lenny, while I wouldn't say it was a make or break season for him, like a few others on this board felt this was the season where he had a real opportunity to take the next step. He'd be the deserved leader in our best and fairest at this stage. His tackling has been magnificent thus far.

yep totally in agreement re schwarze, and hayes.

i could not understand why schwarze was still at the club, but i now eat my words most humbly.

I'm still not convinced on Schwarze. Do you really think he is in our best 22 when Gehrig, Jones & Kosi come back. Not doubting his application, but he was carved up throughout the first 8 games. An enduring vision for me is Schwarze trailing in the wake of his opponents while they take yet another mark inside the forward 50.

My best 22

Cripps Gehrig Hugdhton
Lawrence Kosi Jones
Moyle Harvey Black
Clark Riewoldt Hamill
Milne Loewe Baker

Everitt Hayes Thompson

Ball, Knobel, Voss, Peckett, Del Santo

Obviously match ups will determine the fringe players, but I see Shwarze, Begley, Blake as similar types ie tall , defensive and more or less interchangeable. I haven't got any of them in my top 22. Hopefully Maguire may quickly surpass them

Callaghan, Beetham, Davis as your offensive , smaller types

Capuano the third string ruckman

Plapp, Wulf, as other fringe players. Wulf is capable, but goes missing for long periods.

Montagna, Houlihan, Oliver have not done anything yet. I know Ball hasn't either, but lots of judges rated him better than Judd.

I haven't included Burke, as he won't see any more action this year.

Originally posted by HTB Saints
I'm still not convinced on Schwarze. Do you really think he is in our best 22 when Gehrig, Jones & Kosi come back. Not doubting his application, but he was carved up throughout the first 8 games. An enduring vision for me is Schwarze trailing in the wake of his opponents while they take yet another mark inside the forward 50.

My best 22

Cripps Gehrig Hugdhton
Lawrence Kosi Jones
Moyle Harvey Black
Clark Riewoldt Hamill
Milne Loewe Baker

Everitt Hayes Thompson

Ball, Knobel, Voss, Peckett, Del Santo

Obviously match ups will determine the fringe players, but I see Shwarze, Begley, Blake as similar types ie tall , defensive and more or less interchangeable. I haven't got any of them in my top 22. Hopefully Maguire may quickly surpass them

Callaghan, Beetham, Davis as your offensive , smaller types

Capuano the third string ruckman

Plapp, Wulf, as other fringe players. Wulf is capable, but goes missing for long periods.

Montagna, Houlihan, Oliver have not done anything yet. I know Ball hasn't either, but lots of judges rated him better than Judd.

i believe schwarze has shown a gradual but constant improvement this year and will probably continue to improve. he has got a bit of height on his side and would be useful taking the 3rd tall freeing up gehrig to have a run on the ball (who would be impossible for the opposition to match up) or kossi to go forward. his foot passing is also quite good as his kicks travel low, flat and direct. i prefer to be playing a bloke that i can see is improving rather than constantly hoping that the likes of the already tried begley, blake or wulf will step up.

obviously injuries and matchups would determine if he plays but at this stage i would have him in our starting 22.

Agree with the idea that you would rather see blokes whoare visably improving than waiting and seeing...

With regards to all the other comments, sadly we need to have a little more patients with some of these blokes. Schwarze is barely 20 likewise Blake etc. (who by the way is a pretty good player, troubled by injury etc.).

I disagree that you think these guys are all interchangable. They only apear that way because theier bodies have not matured and they are inexperienced. They will develop in to spcialists as their careers progress.

Look how Milne has progressed. He's now 22 and 18 month ago he was on the Rookie list.

We let Lappin go too early, and it looks like we let Matty Carr go too early. No doubt he would have been in your "interchangable defensive type" catagory, and now he is one of the best youg tagger/ball winners in the game.

The best situation is to have these young guys in the reserves gainning experience and pushing like mad to get a game. We've had about 4 players in the reserves this year. We should have about 10+ players trying there guts out to get in to our 22. I reckon Begley and Beetham would be more mature had theycome through the ranks that way...having said that, Del Santo, Clarke, Kosi and Riewoldt don't have much problem, but I do think some players mature faster than others...Carr and Lappin are great examples.

p.s. Oliver will be good but he still needs another season or two. Big players take longer (unless there called Nick Reiwoldt)

St Rob- Chrissy Oliver should develop into a good player. A solid pre-season on the weights is what's needed to take him from good potential player, to a good player. He gets pushed off the ball a little too easily in body on body situations.

Another bloke that nobody mentions is Ben Schwarze (on the rookie list). People that have seen a few games for Springvale would be extremely happy with what they see from young Ben.

He's quick, tall, skilful, a good contested & overhead mark, hard work ethic & appears to have a football brain. Looks similar to his brother, not quite as gangly however & has slotted in nicely to the Springvale team. One to keep an eye out.

V Brisbane thugs

3. Thompson kept getting it and belting it forward 8 clearances.
2. Lawrence Great game, also played well last week and his 2nd best game with the club.
1 vote I gave to Hayes for dominating the game before he went off, once off we started to get beat, set up each of the first quarter goals. Black and Moyle were probably next in line. Here's hoping that Moyle can step up to fill the breach over the next few weeks with Aussie and Harvs. Not happy with the Hayes incident as it was almost possible to have a full strength team over the next few weeks with Kosi, Gherig Hudghton also due back soon.

Leaderboard.

12Hayes……33231
11Riewoldt..23132
10Thompson12313
6Harvey…..33
5Jones……23
5Lawrence..32
3Milne…….21
3Hudghton21
2Loewe …..2
2Voss……..2
2Hamill 2
1Gehrig……1
1Burke…….1
1Cripps……1
1Callaghan1
1Baker 1

3 - thommo. got a stack of it even though lappin got a fair bit of it as well.
2 - black. good return after a few weeks out.
1 - schwartze. kept lynch to one goal and did some nice things.

hayes was best on until the incident. moyles man pikey was best on for the game, but it was good to see moyley get his hands on the footy. he will only get better with a few games under his belt. milne was the only forward that looked capable of kicking a goal excepting that brilliant blind turn and goal from dal santo.

V Western Dogs

Tonights performance could be the end for Stewy Loewe I've always been a fan and believed he should go out on a high, but tonight he played a shocker, I believe Peckett is gone to. Too many bad games. Loewies saving grace is that with a full team he may get tall back no.3 or 4 and do well enough to justify his spot but no.1 forwrd he is not.

Votes
3. Harvey, vintage form
2. Hamill, work hard present, work hard present etc
1. Lawrence, aggression at ball, rebound from back

Black did well too, but mainly handball receives, would like to see him play up the ground a little more.
Everitt should get up in front of the players and apologise again because Darcy ran riot running forward a luxury he would have not had playing on Everitt.

A complaint to, when is the club going to come clean and give us an honest assessment of Gehrig and Koschitztkes condition and expected return date, 2 weeks, 10 weeks in a row is not good enough.

Leaderboard

12 Hayes……
11 Riewoldt..
10 Thompson
9 Harvey…..
6 Lawrence..
5 Jones……
4 Hamill
3 Milne…….
3 Hudghton
2 Loewe …..
2 Voss……..
1 Gehrig……
1 Burke…….
1 Cripps……
1 Callaghan
1 Baker

3. harvey
2. black
1. lawrance

stewie looked awful out there tonight, all indications suggest that he is no longer capable of being the sole big man in the forward line.

gehrig has o.p and should be rested untill he is right. the lack of information regarding kossi is a real concern, i fear that we may not see him this year. is he training at the moment? put the kid in cotton wool and don't play him until he is ready physically and mentally even if it takes the whole season.

it p*sses me off that jones has hamstring soreness again, what the **** are the medicos doing down there. our injury list can no longer be put down to bad luck it has to be bad management by the medical team and the fitness advisors and maybe the coaches for the training methods. the problem has to be identified and solved before next season.

gehrig has o.p and should be rested untill he is right.

That's the problem though, the official line after the Melbourne game was that it was not the O.P but the adductor (2 weeks).

Sick of being a mushroom Saints! come clean!

Originally posted by Falchoon

That's the problem though, the official line after the Melbourne game was that it was not the O.P but the adductor (2 weeks).

Sick of being a mushroom Saints! come clean!

Was having the same conversation straight after the game.

Koschitzke's 2 week layoff has been over 10 weeks.

They need to come clean & stop jerking us around.

Originally posted by Falchoon
V Western Dogs

Tonights performance could be the end for Stewy Loewe I've always been a fan and believed he should go out on a high, but tonight he played a shocker, I believe Peckett is gone to. Too many bad games.

Call me Nostradamus, anything else you'd like to know?

v Hawthorn Handballers

3. Thompson (our one, the other one was better though) 2 of the best smothers I've ever seen
2. Riewoldt Would have been the matchwinner with better goalkicking. Thrown on Thompson in 3rd, quietened him, moved forward in the 4th and was unstoppable, need the skip steps taken out of his run up IMHO.
1. Everitt, dominated centre ruck work, oh for Lenny to benefit, Lenny dominates all season, no.1 ruckman returns to make life easier nad smash....gone.

Unlucky, Baker, Voss, Harvey, Lawrence

13 Riewoldt..
13 Thompson
12 Hayes……
9 Harvey…..
6 Lawrence..
5 Jones……
4 Hamill
3 Milne…….
3 Hudghton
2 Loewe …..
2 Voss……..
1 Gehrig……
1 Burke…….
1 Cripps……
1 Callaghan
1 Baker…….
1 Everitt……

A race in 4 now.

it p*sses me off that jones has hamstring soreness again, what the **** are the medicos doing down there. our injury list can no longer be put down to bad luck it has to be bad management by the medical team and the fitness advisors and maybe the coaches for the training methods. the problem has to be identified and solved before next season.

I spoke with one of the trainers from another club the other day and asked them what they thought, was it bad luck or bad management? They said it was bad management without a doubt! There must be some serious problems in the training regimes and the rehabilitation. I hope to God they get this sorted out before long, there is some serious talent coming through the ranks and the last thing we need now is to keep going with the injury run.

A lot of the youngsters have been blooded and have stood up. They are starting to meld as a team and play as a team not just a group of talented individuals. Just imagine the scenario at the selection committee when all injured are back. Wouldn't want that job for quids!!!

Player Of The Year