Training Pre-season updates 2024-2025.

It's kinda disingenuous to use age at all in this scenario given the further context I provided.

In the end, Reef was drafter a year earlier than Nick. He's been "in the system" an entire season longer and was drafted in the same year as Beau who established himself in the starting lineup by the end of 2022.
I won’t go in to this one because I covered it in a previous post.
Reef was also recruited as a midfielder so he can't even fall back on the "talls take time" get out of jail card because he's technically a midfielder and midfielders are generally ready quicker.
Oh, come on. You can’t seriously be saying he’s technically a midfielder when he’s been developed primarily as a tall forward and now defender. He’s played 0 minutes in the midfield at AFL level and a handful at VFL level. You can’t just say he should magically be developing quicker because Derek Hine though he could become a mid when he was 18 and coming off 12 months of no footy…
Mind you, this all comes from someone who has been basically staunchly in Reef's corner from the start. I reckon he's been hard done by when it comes to being given a chance to actually establish himself properly.
We can agree on this at least, but your reasoning in this discussion has been pretty dubious.

Frampton was never a best 22 player in 2023. He plugged holes. And we were absolutely elite. He played a good role in the granny but no team trots out a 200cm forward pocket each week to touch the ball twice.
If you think we can win the flag with Billy frampton at chb or fb you clearly didn't watch him play last year
To win a premiership you need a team of players. On any given day a player can be in the best 23; clearly, Frampton was on that marvellous day in 2023 when he was a premiership player, that’s why he was selected.
Further, I’ve seen him play some terrific matches and I’ve seen “our” captain play some terrible matches.
You need a team of fit players to win and against some teams he is in the best 23. I saw him play a ripper against the talls of Carlton last year and he may well be required again in 2025 v a tall opposition fwd line.
I attend almost all home matches that Collingwood plays.

McInnes averaged 1.44 goals a game (ranked =49th in the league alongside Dylan Moore) in his 9 games in 2024. Only Mihocek and McStay averaged better for Collingwood afaik. Likely to have been higher if he hadn’t been used as the sub in 3 of those games. We’ll likely never know why he wasn’t getting more opportunity but he’s certainly been doing enough to maintain the interests of the club.
Exactly. He was sub (either starting sub or rotated off) in a bunch of games.

McInnes averaged 1.44 goals a game (ranked =49th in the league alongside Dylan Moore) in his 9 games in 2024. Only Mihocek and McStay averaged better for Collingwood afaik. Likely to have been higher if he hadn’t been used as the sub in 3 of those games. We’ll likely never know why he wasn’t getting more opportunity but he’s certainly been doing enough to maintain the interests of the club.
I watched him from behind the goals one week. He probably exceeded that goal average, but it was really clear why he didn't get more opportunities.

What’s your view of him?

Doesn’t work hard enough? Not fit enough? Doesn’t have the forward instincts? Just stuck behind better players / guys more suited to our game plan?

Leppa talked about how some players can just pop later than others, I think this is the case for Reef. He looks prime to lock down a position in the defensive half. he looks bigger, stonger and fitter.

McInnes has all the ability. I just think his career has been such a stop/ start one with not getting a consistent run at AFL level, his confidence was sapped a fair bit.
If the coaches really show faith in him and believe he can do the job in the back 6, that will build his confidence, and we may see that breakout season from Reef.
I really want him to show this season he belongs at senior level, because l think he can be a very good player at the level...🤞

McInnes has all the ability. I just think his career has been such a stop/ start one with not getting a consistent run at AFL level, his confidence was sapped a fair bit.
If the coaches really show faith in him and believe he can do the job in the back 6, that will build his confidence, and we may see that breakout season from Reef.
I really want him to show this season he belongs at senior level, because l think he can be a very good player at the level...🤞
Hmm, I’m wondering if I should comment? 🤔
So my dislike of Reef as an AFL player is known on this site so I won’t go into that.
The frustrating thing is how both he and AJ have shown glimpses but that’s it. Could say the same for Finn also. Is it the club not giving them a decent run in the seniors and then hanging on to them year after year hoping for a change? Honestly I wonder if any of them explored their options and found no suitable options and had to say. If I’d had to chance to leave I would have taken it but at least my scapegoat (Reef) is staying as well as everyone else’s AJ. I’m still hopeful for Finn.

What’s your view of him?

Doesn’t work hard enough? Not fit enough? Doesn’t have the forward instincts? Just stuck behind better players / guys more suited to our game plan?

As a deep forward - instincts - really slow to react. Late to everything. Didn't impact events he should have. Could easily change as a defender.

Played his best footy in juniors either behind the footy or in the midfield. Had a couple of cameos forward which probably confused the issue. Hopefully he can nail down a position this season.

Pre-season training - Week 5.

Tuesday, December 10

9:30-11:30

It was a good session that featured some ball work, fundamentals, line work and some match sim toward the end of the session. Most the most match sim we've seen in a while; and it's something that will ramp up.

Players on deck:

• Lippa
  • IQ
  • Maynard
  • Schultz
  • Houston
  • Pendles
  • Mcstay
  • Perryman
  • DeMattia
  • DC
  • Parker
  • Allan
  • Frampton
  • Macrae
  • TJ
  • Steene
  • Sidey
  • Hill
  • Ryan
  • Reef
  • Hayes
  • Membrey
  • West
  • Beau
  • WHE
  • Nick D
  • Markov
  • Johnson
  • Dean
  • Long
  • Cox
  • checkers

*No Mitchell, which is now explained with his injury. Explains why he went off early on Saturday
*No Josh D, but think I saw him later in the session near the glasshouse in a training t-shirt
  • Bobby did the running and some drills, but then appeared (or disappearred) to go inside.
  • Smit wasn't either. Or Jamie.

No sign of Jordy as yet.

Harrison and Cochran continued their own rehabs. The latter seemed to be progressing, started to do some kicking, so we should see him back in full training after xmas break.
Harrison did his first sprinting run today.

Little Mcguane's first session plus afl academy kid, Riley Onley -- who is a big boy. 190cm, but looks tall and big bodied.
Tommy did very well in his first session, you can tell the skills he has is something you can't teach. You either have them or you dont.
Tommy lead the conditioning pack of over 30 players, showing his fitness levels. Then he did some things in some drills that was really nice.

Reef (wearing #38), I feel like repeating myself every session he pertakes in, but he has taken this new role like a duck to water, very seamlessly. Goes from strength to strength. Competes in the air, they have him on dfferent players. Today it was Charlie West, previously have trained on like the likes of Cox, Membrey, WHE, Beau.
You can tell he has packed on the size in the off-season. Looks so much more bigger.

I haven't mentioned this one this pre-season because I feel like what people would say -- that we have heard it before, but even before today Fin (Wearing #26) has been training very well. Looks stronger, fitter, quicker. But today probably was his best yet, seemed to be involved in everything as he gets more time on ball. Gets involved in chains of play, clearances from the source, quick hands before you even notice a handball. Lets see if he can take advantage of De Goey and Mitchell's absence. Was just dominant.

It did appear that Howe trained forward, likely because checkers was missing today. I thought it was membrey at first because I can't tell them apart aless for their numbers on their backs.

Lippa trained through the guts and on the wing as he too gets more time on the inside.

Parker looks much more like a footballer now. Real toned and fit, possibly a breakout year coming

Hayes did some lovely side step players through the middle of the ground, West took some good marks up forward as these two start to get involved in some match sim.

Looks like Sidey was back on the wing.

Some of the drills, things were starting to heat up, as we close in on the end of the year. A bit more physical with intent, which was nice to see. And that then followed on through the match play.

One more session left of the week. There is possibly a couple sessions next week from what I'm told.

Played his best footy in juniors either behind the footy or in the midfield. Had a couple of cameos forward which probably confused the issue. Hopefully he can nail down a position this season.
And if run and carry is a strength, he gets to use that strength, which isn't the case as a deep forward.

I remain skeptical that Reef will become a regular member of our team. I really hope he makes it, but from what I've seen, he's in the same basket as AJ and Fin; not quite AFL level.
up forward possibly, but down back? there is potential there. But going by this preseason so far, there is great optimism.
Time remains to be seen if he can translate it, so pre-season games will be a test

Let’s not write Tom Mitchell off yet

Ed Allan hopefully big step up next year now

As devastating as it is, I’m not sure how likely it is he plays much (if at all) next year

He’s been off since April

So if 8 months wasn’t enough to get this injury right, then I don’t see how 3-6 months would be.

It’s 3 months until Round 0 and the season is 6 months long. That’s one month longer than he’s had off to try and get over this injury

So yeah, not looking great imo

As devastating as it is, I’m not sure how likely it is he plays much (if at all) next year

He’s been off since April

So if 8 months wasn’t enough to get this injury right, then I don’t see how 3-6 months would be.

It’s 3 months until Round 0 and the season is 6 months long. That’s one month longer than he’s had off to try and get over this injury

So yeah, not looking great imo

Not the same injury. He had a few different things last year and his season-ending surgery was for plantar fasciitis.

Still not great.

Not the same injury. He had a few different things last year and his season-ending surgery was for plantar fasciitis.

Still not great.

Yeah just looked it up now

This is a new injury (maybe somewhat related?)

So I guess not all hope is lost?

The Mitchell situation highlights the big risk we’re taking with such an old list.

On paper, if all available, it’s a Premiership worthy side. But old guys get injured far more often than mid-20’s guys. We’re going to need a lot of luck on that front to contend again this year. 🤞

Still not great.

Just like Jordy had 2 different injuries last year - groin and OP

Training Pre-season updates 2024-2025.