Wittman10

Sep 30, 2009
Aisle B
Philly Eagles, Gunners
At the risk boring people stupid, I had a few spare hours tonight to watch the replay. A few things stood out to me in relation to the 2010 season.

1. In the disastrous '09 season we desparately missed the coolness under pressure of Laddo and X-Man. They stood out in that game.

2. Browny's 2nd half after Croady went down was massive. Look to him to return to the back half this year...body permitting.

3. We will seriously miss the big bloke in no. 39.

4. We are missing the gut running of little bloke who wore 9

5. I know JL is supposedly ripped leading in to this season, but all I ask is that is reproduce his finals form from '08. Elite at his best.

I also watched the qualifying final against the Bullies, and it was very noticeable that Tom Murphy played well against smaller forwards - in this game Brad Johnson specifically. If we can slot him in, and keep the trio of Gilly, Gibbo and F1 together he might have a good season (fingers crossed). It may also release Birch further forward too...and for that matter Hodgey as well.

Agree with most of that except Crawf...

He wasn't a gut runner in 08; we nursed him through his knee with a greatly decreased training load, and reduced game time. Remember, for a while there was quite a lot of doubt he would even be up for the finals series.

Agree with most of that except Crawf...

He wasn't a gut runner in 08; we nursed him through his knee with a greatly decreased training load, and reduced game time. Remember, for a while there was quite a lot of doubt he would even be up for the finals series.

Played the entire 3rd qtr of the GF....when we were down on numbers. Didn't stop running. Agreed he was at the end of his tether career wise, but still super fit.

At the risk boring people stupid, I had a few spare hours tonight to watch the replay. A few things stood out to me in relation to the 2010 season.

1. In the disastrous '09 season we desparately missed the coolness under pressure of Laddo and X-Man. They stood out in that game.

2. Browny's 2nd half after Croady went down was massive. Look to him to return to the back half this year...body permitting.

3. We will seriously miss the big bloke in no. 39.

4. We are missing the gut running of little bloke who wore 9

5. I know JL is supposedly ripped leading in to this season, but all I ask is that is reproduce his finals form from '08. Elite at his best.

I also watched the qualifying final against the Bullies, and it was very noticeable that Tom Murphy played well against smaller forwards - in this game Brad Johnson specifically. If we can slot him in, and keep the trio of Gilly, Gibbo and F1 together he might have a good season (fingers crossed). It may also release Birch further forward too...and for that matter Hodgey as well.

i reckon this would be awesome as look at how he used to give away inches to lucas and the likes but still win the battle - could it be an opportunity for him to go back, release Birch, and perhaps use Guerra up forward for that bit of grunt like when he started his career???

people say our defence is weak, but after Gilham, Gibbo Birch and F1 - theres about 6 blokes who can all play in the last 2 spots - Brown, Ladson, Guerra, Hodge, Murphy,

i reckon our defence will be well underrated like it was in 08!!!

70 SLEEPS !!!

i reckon this would be awesome as look at how he used to give away inches to lucas and the likes but still win the battle - could it be an opportunity for him to go back, release Birch, and perhaps use Guerra up forward for that bit of grunt like when he started his career???

people say our defence is weak, but after Gilham, Gibbo Birch and F1 - theres about 6 blokes who can all play in the last 2 spots - Brown, Ladson, Guerra, Hodge, Murphy,

i reckon our defence will be well underrated like it was in 08!!!

70 SLEEPS !!!

Throw in WhiteX and Dowler as well for a bit of variety. Other than us having a dominant big defender (which Croady absolutely was) our defence looks solid this year.

Crawford was massive in the GF. I know he was down on input in '08, but we really missed his ability to break lines and run to space in '09. Not having Young and with Bateman struggling just further exacerbated the problems in that area.
His gf game was nothing special.

I have no doubt though that him just being out there lifted the rest of the team.

I'm not sure Ellis was that cool under pressure.

Some of his disposals scared the crap out of me. Luckily most of them bounced into the right hands. Otherwise I shudder to think.

Still think he's going to be a absolute gun, but his Grand Final day is over stated by lots of people.

Crawford was the heart & soul of the team and I reckon many people underrate how much he added to the team even in his last year. We missed his experience in big games last year in a massive way. For example, both games against Geelong may well have gone the other way had he been there I reckon.

Without Crawf, Croad, Dew, Williams & Campbell we are sorely lacking experience. That's why I reckon we've a better chance to win the cup next year or the year after than 2010. I'd LOVE to be proven wrong though. :D

well, u r a flog
No need for that. Crawf, whilst obviously being a huge influence in getting to and achieving winning a premiership, played a decent to good game in the GF. He was obviously more good than bad but he didn't set the game on fire like he would have around 99-01, but not many 34 year olds would have. His influence on the game was more than just his physical output though.

We need to win a flag this decade, so may as well start early.

We've already got one in 'this' decade. The next decade starts 01 January 2011. Much like the new century didn't start until 01 Jan 2001, hence it's fun taunting Bummer fans with "you haven't won a flag this century" type remarks.

I'm not sure Ellis was that cool under pressure.

Some of his disposals scared the crap out of me. Luckily most of them bounced into the right hands. Otherwise I shudder to think.

Still think he's going to be a absolute gun, but his Grand Final day is over stated by lots of people.

Not sure about this, he centered one to CHB that looked bad and got tunrned over, that was just after I commented how well he had used the ball - 3rd Quarter.

He used it pretty well, I think you are being very tough, I was there on the day and watched the game easily 10 times since and I still believe he was very solid discounting that error.

Performance-wise Crawford contributed to the GF. If you get 22 blokes that do that every week you'll go a fair way.

He wasn't great or exceptional by any means.

Without Crawford or Croad playing - we wouldn't have won the GF. Not for their match-winning performances, but the extra they added to every other player that was out there.

Very sorry i don't agree with everything that's posted on this board.

Respectfully u dont have to.
I actually agree with nine out of ten things u say.
In fact my opinion of SA as a state has risen ten fold in the course of reading your insightful dissertations on HFC.

However Crawfords delivery and line breaking. Especially in the third quarter of the GF when the legs start to get heavy was very good.

I believe Burgoyne is a great replacement.

However last year the lack of run from crawford and the horsham boy Clinton Young couldnt be underestimated. We where boxed in all too often without their run,carry and excellent field kicking.

Half a crawford was worth more than 80% of the rest of the leagues players.
People forget what a champion he was. Along with Harvey one of the best in the past two decades.

Burgoyne and Young are apprently about to start skills at training. BRing it on!!

well, u r a flog

Gese pal, you are a bit quick to jump in with a comment like that. Crawf was loose with his posessions early in the GF, as are a lot of players on the biggest stage early. Just because SA Hawk believes Crawf had a good game rather that great , does not mean he didnt love the fact that Crawf finally got his GF medal and cup.

Crawf played a champion game and may i remind most of you we did not see what happened of the camera.

Luckly for me i am a betting person and if i have heard correctly Crawf, Croad and Dew got amongst the boys and made them realise that this could possiable be there only chance in a afl career to win the ultamate glory a PREMIERSHIP with the HAWKS.

Crawf may not have had a domanaiting day on the feild, but do not forget he is a leader and he stood up just like he has many times before and lead with the likes of Hodge, Dew and Mitchell.

He is expereinced and when he talked the boys in the area listened and its a good thing they did as hodge and Mitchell can only cover so much ground.

Dont under esitimate the power of Vintage Crawf in the 08 GF..... Mind you in the 2009 Footy show GF, it as appears as tho he is loving life and enjoying his food ;)

Reflections on the '08 Premiership