Opinion Revenue Opportunities

Apr 26, 2007
Victoria
Aston Villa
Just a random thought bubble which I think needs some discussion on a football forum.

Proposal: EFC creates Footy Night at The Hangar/Windy Hill where EFC charges patrons (members/supporters) to attend and watch Essendon play on a big screen together (projector screen) - perhaps only for interstate games initially.

Rough Numbers: 2,000 (Windy Hill for eg holds 10k so I’m being conservative) are in attendance at $50 per head (discounts to members, family packages etc.) we’re talking $100k revenue attendance alone with little overhead. I am ignoring council permits/regulations.

Is this idea crazy or is it a good start to moving away from pokie machines?

I think for marquee matches like ANZAC day/dreamtime and towards the end of the season if we're ever top 4 calibre it would be viable for some revenue - however week on week, given that we only play once a week ~25 weeks of the year it would not be reliable or consistent enough to function as a substitute for pokies revenue.

$50 to watch footy on the telly?

Don't think you'll get 200 let alone 2000

That was my thought as well.

If it wasn't possible to view anywhere else then maybe it'd have some legs but since all games can be seen on TV, whether it be free-to-air, pay TV or streaming, it'd struggle.

Just a random thought bubble which I think needs some discussion on a football forum.

Proposal: EFC creates Footy Night at The Hangar/Windy Hill where EFC charges patrons (members/supporters) to attend and watch Essendon play on a big screen together (projector screen) - perhaps only for interstate games initially.

Rough Numbers: 2,000 (Windy Hill for eg holds 10k so I’m being conservative) are in attendance at $50 per head (discounts to members, family packages etc.) we’re talking $100k revenue attendance alone with little overhead. I am ignoring council permits/regulations.

not without merit for those who want some atmosphere
throw in a free pie & chips and you might sway a few.

Should move into eSports. It's the next big thing.
Frustrated World Cup GIF

$50 to watch footy on the telly?

Don't think you'll get 200 let alone 2000
Good idea. You just need the Essendon sponsors on board to bring down the dollars. Tradie beer anyone?

What about if they had some non players (injured) assistant coaches there to dissect the game and answer questions during play.
Could appeal to some, I'd reckon most would want a parma and a pot type deal.

It's not something that appeals to me, but I do like the thinktank on revenue other than pokies.

Shame about that, probably the only club which could do it.
I think I heard somewhere Richmond are upgrading Punt Road, though I would doubt they'd play any games there (other than VFL AFLW)

I think watch events could have some appeal but not as an ongoing thing... I don't think people would make the effort if you did it constantly.

Maybe if we had a big interstate final or something, you could get it off the ground. Some people might go for the atmosphere.

Doubt you're charging $50 though, or anything at all. You'd probably make a bit of money from food and alcohol vendors.

The biggest hurdle is probably location. I know Richmond and Collingwood have done this in the past for fans who didn't get GF tickets, but they are perfectly located in a central position for it. The big Melbourne clubs no longer really have geographic areas of fans, they're all over the city, so they draw people in from everywhere as they're easy to get to.

Essendon doesn't have that location and I doubt you'd drag many people from the south-east for example (where Essendon have a huge amount of supporters) over to Windy Hill for something like this when they can just go to a pub.

Essendon has gone the other way, even less central with Tullamarine. I don't think a more central location was ever really an option for us, though we have some way-back history in East Melbourne of course. There's not really any places around for a training facility. Perhaps Melbourne Uni would have had us, I dunno. I doubt the University clubs would have vacated.

I don't think accessibility was ever a big consideration for our new home, I doubt it was ever designed to be a place where many fans go. At the time I'm pretty sure all VFL games at Windy Hill was the intention and Tulla would be strictly training.

Get some pokies out there, that seems to bring in a crowd

Learn from Vegas; put the pokies everywhere.

I want to see them in the seats, so we can play while watching the football. In the toilets so we can play while using the urinal. In the bar so we can play while we order our drink.

you're all not thinking efficiently enough.

you commission the pokie maker to make one that has essendon players on it, so a zach merrett would be a jackpot, north melbourne would be a bust etc, AND it connects and shows essendon games and highlights.

perfect

Opinion Revenue Opportunities