Preview Rnd 16 - Carlton v Brisbane Sat 7 July 1.45PM @ The Gabba - Team post #406

SBYM

Fish, chips, cup o' tea, Mary @#? Poppins. London!
Oct 9, 2009
CR0
Liverpool
Did you happen to see the football meeting last night?? The Blues of Carlton beat the Bears of Brisbane by kicking a pumped up kangaroo's arse through some big sticks stuck in the ground in the last minute of the third half!! It was most exciting!!!

Brisbane-logo-1987.gif V 29de7ff4ce45b778e87b38fe84686817--sports-logos-football-team.jpg

Brisbane v Carlton
Saturday, 7 July

1.45pm at The Gabba

Welcome Lions' fans...no disrespect meant re the logo, just love those old VFL ones, they remind me of Auskick on a freezing cold Satdee morning, when I was just a kid with a spring in my step and a twinkle in my eye...running around having the time of my life, unburdened by decades of mediocrity...

I was born and raised in Red Hill, too, so I will always have a soft spot for Brissy...shame to see where we both are at the moment...

Now then...

Previous Form:

Carlton - LLLLL
Brisbane - WLLLL

Last Five Games:
2017 R18 Brisbane 17.10 (112) defeated Carlton 11.16 (82) Gabba
2016 R21 Brisbane 15.9 (99) defeated Carlton 13.7 (95) Gabba
2016 R11 Carlton 16.6 (102) defeated Brisbane 9.10 (64) Etihad Stadium
2015 R20 Brisbane 20.11 (131) defeated Carlton 9.13 (67) Gabba
2014 R1 Carlton 11.9 (75) lost to Brisbane 12.12 (84) Etihad Stadium

History:
We have gone up against the mob from SEQ 49 times, winning 28 of those. There has never been a draw between these two teams, ergo, Brissy have saluted 21 times against the Old Dark Navies. From where I stand, it hasn't been a bad history between us, the most memorable moment being Kouta's last qtr in the '95 QF...masterstroke by Parko to shift him forward, and the Greek God did the rest...(see below)

I guess I could say something about the 2009 EF, but I was...ummm...washing my hair that night. Does anyone know what happened?? (actually, footage also attached...I know all of the players will read this thread so maybe it will pump them up...:huh:)

Recent:
Brisbane have had the wood on us of late, winning four of the last five. I think everyone has had the wood on us in recent years, though, so perhaps not the most useful stat. Our injuries this year have been well documented, and not available for selection against Port were Caleb, Cunners, Doc, Kerridge, Kerr, Krooz, Lachie, and Macreadie. It was good to see Murph back, and BamBam seems to be building towards some form, so hopefully with Crippa and Charlie flying we can start to put some much improved footy together.

The Lions weren't too bad against the Giants last time around, a loss not at all helped by that s**tstain Cameron deciding to put Harris Andrews in hospital (lucky to get 5 imo). Before that was a scrappy game against the Bummers and a pantsing from North. Dunno why we're both anchored to the bottom of the ladder...

Now:
Well...welcome to 1-13...

We've never been here before. The Lions will probably be in the same boat come next weekend (I dunno if their record has ever been this bad, but they had some pretty poor teams in the 80s/90s), so I wouldn't expect this game to reach any great heights. That said, the ghoul factor should be in full-swing with deadshits from all quarters having their say. **** 'em.

Following on from the Freo disaster our efforts have been better against Port and the Wobbles, however, the last time I checked you don't get much reward for effort. Hopefully we incrementally improve again and can take it up to the Lions on their own patch. We start the game committed to the cause and we are every chance...

Carlton by 1.5 goals...or 9pts to you mathematically challenged people.

I hope we keep Polson in...

His mistakes today have to be taken in to context - and by that I mean there was a lot of pressure in this game and he kept presenting and trying..

He needs to settle his nerves and I think that will come with continuity

Only McKay & Byrne (3/4’s only) in the bests for the VFL.

Mullett done for mine.
Wright needs to show something & Cas could be replaced for a decent hitout in the 2’s (fair amount of time off with the ribs & finger) with McKay to replace.

Happy?!?!?!

:rolleyes:

Better than mine … but that's not a benchmark ….. more you tube shit to placate the visually challenged.

Not enuff stats … definitely need more stats!

Brisbane probably licking their lips. We're practically their bitch.

It's either they scrape through or smack us by 10+ goals.

Out: Casboult
In: McKay or Kerr.

Casboult was irrelevant today both Kerr or McKay would of scored 3 goals with same opportunity. He can’t afford that anymore.
Polson stays as his effort is huge. But 0 tackles inside 50 for Carlton is pretty bad with Pickett, Polson and Garlett. AFL average is like 8. That’s bad.

Thomas and Kruezer can play vfl for a week. They both could do with a rest and I’d prefer to play the kids.

OUT - Aaron Mullett (Omitted), Jed Lamb (Omitted), Levi Casboult (Omitted)
IN - Lochie O'Brien, Dale Thomas, Harry McKay
NEED TO LIFT - Jarrod Pickett, Cameron Polson, Jack Silvagni, Jacob Weitering, Matthew Wright

FB - Liam Jones, Jacob Weitering, Dale Thomas
HB - Lochie O'Brien, Kade Simpson, Sam Rowe
C - Marc Murphy, Patrick Cripps, Matthew Kennedy
HF - Zac Fisher, Charlie Curnow, Sam Petrevski-Seton
FF - Jarrod Pickett, Harry McKay, Matthew Wright
R - Andrew Phillips, Paddy Dow, Ed Curnow
I - Cameron Polson, Jarrod Garlett, Jack Silvagni, Nick Graham

E - Darcy Lang, Patrick Kerr, Aaron Mullett, Jed Lamb

WHY IN?
I think the players felt the loss of Thomas in some way. Comes back in and makes our defence look the tiniest bit more solid. O'Brien too has to return from his rest and McKay will likely have a stronger presence.

WHY OUT?
Didn't realise what Mullett brought to the match? Casboult decided to rock up halfway through the game with his Pre-Sav luggage and Lamb was simply too quiet for my liking today.

WHY NOT?
Polson
might survive just. Pickett and (there I say it) Graham should as well. Lang and Kerr other likely options to come in, but don't know who would make way for them.

Out: Casboult, Lamb, Mullett, Wright
In: McKay, Thomas, Byrne, LOB

Give kreuz another week off

Reckon the changing of the guard is happening as we speak mate. (Cas out … McKay in) … just depends on whether he is training as instructed.