AFL Autopsy RND 4: Dons Demolished

I’d love to know our interstate record over the last 6-7 years, I seems like we have been rubbish away from Melbourne for a long time. Not that we’re great in Melbourne.

Even when Carlton were rubbish they seemed to do well interstate.

Apologies for the intrusion.

Essendon thrashed Demons in gather round last year.

I’d love to know our interstate record over the last 6-7 years, I seems like we have been rubbish away from Melbourne for a long time. Not that we’re great in Melbourne.

Even when Carlton were rubbish they seemed to do well interstate.
13-30-1 since 2019

First poor performance of the year and we won't be the only side they get a hold of at home.

That said team defense still a real concern - apparently Hodge named names and Parish was mentioned which was hardly a surprise. A return of blue collar Essendon for next Friday please.

The reality check that was always going to come at some stage. This is why I refuse to get sucked in again. Hope I am proven wrong but the current list is not the one that will win us a flag. We are at the basically at the stage one of a culture build and the coach knows it.
Think they may have believed a bit of their own press .
Essendon edge.
fIs5Bn.gif

When we win, even against the better teams the less pressure in games means we’re a chance. Youre spot on. When the pressure is on, we turn to water

Like I keep saying. Our style is flat track bullies.

Strange and reactionary.

Hobbs basically didn’t play any midfield time tonight, took a couple of nice overhead marks and tackled well but wasn’t in and under, probably should have been.

Perkins 16 touches 3 clearances, 2 tackles and a goal in less than 50% game time. Was building into another big game and firmly looks a midfielder.

Duursma and Kelly ran their guts out on the wings and got back to support an under siege defensive group. No issues with those two.

Parish still hasn’t hit his stride, maybe a little undercooked but the cupboard is pretty bare so I can understand picking him.

Caldwell I had only behind Merrett, had a pretty good game.

Lost the game in the ruck and by letting them careen out of the front of stoppages at pace. Few arm tackles I didn’t like but I reckon if we play like that against a bottom 8 side it’s close and we could well win, just a simple case of consistently losing the ball at the source and not being able to get any kind of field position for 80 of the 120 minutes.

Defended the ground tremendously well in the first quarter, dominated field position for the first 10 minutes of the second and then the dam wall didn’t break, if ****ing exploded.

Agree re Perkins. I really like the look of what he is becoming. He's always been dynamic and has been able to accumulate but he's looking much less headless chook around the ball. He plays with real aggression which he won't be credited with because he's pretty. He's building into a more physical version of what Rozee did last night. Whereas Rozee needs to be allowed to play like that (he's not ordinarily bursting through tackles) I dont think the opposition gets as much of a say with Perkins.

First poor performance of the year and we won't be the only side they get a hold of at home.

That said team defense still a real concern - apparently Hodge named names and Parish was mentioned which was hardly a surprise. A return of blue collar Essendon for next Friday please.

You could mount a very convincing argument that rnd 1 was a poor performance, we were just up against a team worse than us...

Checked out of this one early as the writing was on the wall after the last 5 mins of qtr 2; what happened to Perkins?

We really miss Ridley, and coupled with a poor start to the year by Redman our backline just doesn't stack up.

It is amazing how apparently noone's skills or decision making really improve after arriving at the club, we really struggle to execute fundamentally simple football plays cleanly a lot of the time.

The Footscray game should be hilarious 😬🙄

In the 4th when Port skied the ball to CHB where Draper, Stringer and I can't recall who else watched it and expected someone else to mark it, only to let it bounce, Port got the loose ball and goaled.

That summed up both our night and where this club is at from top to bottom

Sorry but if it's going to be 8 years, then maybe play the players that are going to be there in 8 years?

Tsatas and Davey Jnr for speed, Hayes to play back over Laverde while Reid is out, Roberts at HB.

If we're going to lose by 10+ goals, at least make it worthwhile.
Not sure playing under done young blokes is really good for development . Just my view.

R1 was a good performance?
It was patchy and unconvincing but I wouldn't say it was poor by our standards (which was my measure).

Last night was what I expected against Sydney so I have that performance as good and Saints as good. Bulldogs next Friday will show our trajectory for the season IMO. And I am deeply fearful.

Hawthorn’s inaccuracy helped us to no end.
And inexperience.

I don't know what to say anymore. I kind of expected that result last night but was hoping I'd be wrong. I feel for the fans especially the ones who travelled to go see that crap.

Brad must be wondering what the hell he was thinking taking over the coaching role. Gee he has a mountain of work to do. Goodluck mate you're really going to need it.

Biggest frustration for me is that we cannot ever field our strongest side. Injuries are haunting us year after year.

Calling it, season over.

And inexperience.

I don't know what to say anymore. I kind of expected that result last night but was hoping I'd be wrong. I feel for the fans especially the ones who travelled to go see that crap.

Brad must be wondering what the hell he was thinking taking over the coaching role. Gee he has a mountain of work to do. Goodluck mate you're really going to need it.

Biggest frustration for me is that we cannot ever field our strongest side. Injuries are haunting us year after year.

Calling it, season over.
You are in the second car. Already called it before we played a game.

Now Scott is questioning injuries? We have been plagued by soft tissue injuries for decades.. nothing changes. Most seasons we have at least 2 of our top 5 players out for most of it. Ridley now becomes a really big question mark.. this is season 3 of near persistent injury... doesn't bode well.

On that note.. how many games Daniher missed since moving to Brisbane??

Our medical team is worst in the business. Bar none. Absolute worst in the business. We kill blokes careers because we can't a) get them fit enough and b)keep them fit enough.

Haha mate at least you have 91 and 00. My first passionate memories of Essendon are 01. Probably after my old man and older brother told me how good we were the year before
I would say that having been at the 84/85/93/00 GF wins it is different for me but I started going to games in 74 and being a Dons supporter in the 70's was similar. Made he finals a few years but crashed out. Had some really good players but no edge. Did not win a final for the first 10 years I was going to the footy.

Now Scott is questioning injuries? We have been plagued by soft tissue injuries for decades.. nothing changes. Most seasons we have at least 2 of our top 5 players out for most of it. Ridley now becomes a really big question mark.. this is season 3 of near persistent injury... doesn't bode well.

Our medical team is worst in the business. Bar none. Absolute worst in the business. We kill blokes careers because we can't a) get them fit enough and b)keep them fit enough.
We actually fixed that problem by sending him to Ireland. They are reaping the benefits. On top of that the warmer climate also helps him.

Yeah, not sure Joe is the best example. we were getting specialist advice form outside the club but yeah, we do seem to have some injury issues. Maybe we are just unlucky? :shrug:

AFL Autopsy RND 4: Dons Demolished