Autopsy Roast and toast vs Geelong and changes for West Coast

Best

48-40 tackles our way but we lose the free kick count 26-13

How is that even possible
We couldn't buy a HTB free, it was so bad that we were laughing about it, they got the softest

You could see it on TV. There were times when our players stood there saying wtf

We still make some dumb decisions as coaching and playing group. If we could just get our s**t together in terms of centre bounces and subs we win this game
Yep. That and allowing them far too much easy ball cost us the game.

We don't do ourselves any favours though. Lynch and Bolton missing absolute sitters and Rioli's horrendous last quarter mistakes just to name a few.

I've watched the footage numerous times hence having the opinion that I do.

The game is played at high speed, with players coming at each other from 360 degrees and collisions like this happen from time to time. Stewart didn't go in swinging an arm. He tucked his arm in and made sure Prestia didn't get an easy knock on. I've seen Pickett in recent times deliver similar types of bumps and he, like Stewart will be, was rubbed out for making high contact. The difference is that Pickett didn't KO the opponent. I can understand the angst among my fellow Tigers as nobody likes to see our players getting hurt in circumstances like that, but it's the nature of the game that they play and tonights game was played with the highest intensity I've seen in a H&A game for a long time. At the end of the day Stewart will cop his whack from the tribunal and you'd expect at minimum 3 weeks, possibly 4 will be the penalty.

Instead of watching the slow motion version, watch the full speed version here where Stewart is in position to tackle Prestia if he takes possession and it's only when Prestia elects to knock the ball on that he makes the decision to bump.

If one of our players was to do the same thing that Stewart did tonight, I'd bet my last dollar that every one of us would be defending it, in fact you only have to go back to when Pickett got rubbed out for bumping Moore against Hawthorn. We all called it good tough play, but when an opponent does it to one of ours they're dirty snipers.
He CHOSE to Bump.The dog suppose to have some duty of care when a player has the ball.
Prestia didn't even have the ball.
If he had enough time too change his mind from a tackle to a bump then he had time too ease up.

We don't do ourselves any favours though. Lynch and Bolton missing absolute sitters and Rioli's horrendous last quarter mistakes just to name a few.
Rioli's last quarter was so bad, turn over after turn over. Lynch cost us the game in the end.

This game, Sydney and Adelaide is going to bite us on the arse

I did say 2-4 weeks if you read what I posted.
Genuinely think it’ll be in the middle….

2 weeks would require a judgement of reckless high contact high impact.

3 weeks intentional high contact high impact seems more likely on balance.

It may not seem fair or balanced, but Stewart is a multiple All Australian and the AFL tends to try and protect the brand
Go away or you'll get a suspension.

It may not seem fair or balanced, but Stewart is a multiple All Australian and the AFL tends to try and protect the brand

If you don’t think this should go to the tribunal you’re on another planet. Or trolling.

The AFL brand has very little value like that flog Stewart.

Rioli's last quarter was so bad, turn over after turn over. Lynch cost us the game in the end.

He’s been so fantastic off half back all year and he made some bad decisions in the last 5 minutes of the game as he appeared to be cramping etc…

Certainly not hanging offences… I reckon will really be beneficial for him going forward… god knows as a Geelong Supporter better to make those mistakes In June than September/October.

Impact won’t be graded as high, it’ll be severe. Paddy Ryders bump was graded as high impact, fair to say this will be a level up based on Prestia being on the ground for 3-4 minutes.

This game, Sydney and Adelaide is going to bite us on the arse
I still have us finishing 4th. The match against Freo will be huge though. By my ladder predictor the winner of that game finishes 4th and loser 5th.

If you don’t think this should go to the tribunal you’re on another planet. Or trolling.
Always think Tribunal should be reserved for outright thuggish things like Barry Hall etc….
But I also think that GWS Greene was shafted and should have been playing from round 3 or so… so maybe I’m out of touch.

I brought a NZ mate to the footy today and he enjoyed the contest and atmosphere. However he was as confused as all hell when the play was not stopped when Prestia was knocked into next week. How the hell could they let the game continue when Prestia is obviously so loopy, he probably thought Mckenna was still his coach? We stop the game and let the new player get into position for the blood rule, however when the trainers are waving their hands around saying they have a problem it is play on?

Honestly, all three on field umpires and the AFL Umpire steward who sits on the bench should be sacked for that. It was a long time we were playing 1 man down whilst a clearly injured player was stuck trying to get their mind back into 2022.

Lastly, in about the 3rd quarter, my mate turns to me and says "I, who absolutely know nothing about AFL, get the feeling that you are not getting the same interpretations of the rules". All I could say is "Yup, that happens rather often"

I still have us finishing 4th. The match against Freo will be huge though. By my ladder predictor the winner of that game finishes 4th and loser 5th.

So many danger games now. Lose Prestia for 2-3 weeks, that was a bad concussion. Balta probably another 2. Cotchin another 1-2. Lambert who knows.

We’ve lost our midfield depth for the next 2-3 weeks. Have west coast who are getting their team back, Gold Coast away and north. Only one of those games is a probable

Always think Tribunal should be reserved for outright thuggish things like Barry Hall etc….
But I also think that GWS Greene was shafted and should have been playing from round 3 or so… so maybe I’m out of touch.

You think what Stewart did was an accident?

Autopsy Roast and toast vs Geelong and changes for West Coast