• 34: Jack Graham

• 35: Nathan Broad

• 39: Jake Aarts

• 41: Mabio Chol

• 43: Derek Eggmolesse-Smith

• 50: Marlion Pickett

Results are only viewable after voting.

fu** yea they did , we can’t escape though that we need to play smarter. I’ll email the club my Howitzer plan for a start. To have surplus +20 i50 and only win by 8pts or not win at all means we re breaking down which is pretty well that link between mid and forward line . This may surprise a few but the forwards are a bigger fault than the mids. Jack needs to find another gear and the form of our smalls is well reported on here

We have played 6 games so far. In those games, the team that has won the Inside 50s has gone onto win the game - once (us vs Sydney). We won the I50s against St Kilda and Hawthorn - and lost. We lost the I50s agains Carlton and Melbourne - and won. (We won the I50s vs Collingwood quite convincingly - 44-32 - and we didn't win).

So based on that - maybe we should be trying to lose the I50s :cool:. Ok - that's silly - but I50s as a flat stat aren't worth much. What matters is the quality.

My rough take is that if a team defends solidly (eg flooding), they will stop the opposition attacks quite easily, but have difficulty clearing the ball. BUT - when they do get it out and take possession on the HBF or wing, because of the lower number of players in the attacking half - their attacks are far more effective.
Maybe those attacks result in goals 50% of the time, while the team tryinfg to break down the flood are only effective 20% of the time. I don't know exactly, obviously, but there may be something in it.

There is a strategy in soccer based on similar ideas - 'Lay back and hit them on the break' (Jose Mourinho basically does that has been one of the world's top managers for years).

So the idea is to get more effective I50s - and the obvious way is to have a more empty forward line. (Hence centre clearances are so important - provided they are not just a blind hack out of a pack). But where do you put the spare players from your forward line - so you may as well put them in the backline and flood;). And then both sides are flooding, and we are basically playing soccer and waiting for either a once-a-game speccy pack mark, a 50-metre penalty, or (most likely) a mistake by a defender.

Cheers mate.

I wondered about Dimma's comments a bit, I saw us hurry kick into the Fwd line way to much, that hardly had any players theres, but the 2/3 to 1 Swans players, but nothing different to that. It was clogged from stoppages though. Our Smalls just didn't seem to get to the fall of the ball in entires into 50's.

So what is your thoughts on Rioli, to e, he just is so out of form, he either doesn't know how to find the ball, or lazy.... and with 0 tackles in a wet contested game I went with Lazy first.

I liked Broad's game and Vlas obviously, but Broad knows where to be and is reliable coming out of 50.

Not sure what was going through Daniel's head Sunday. He went for some big flies too. Pulled none off. His disposal efficiency was shit too, so it wasn't like he made the most of his limited disposals like his cuz used to either. I really think the game was just a crap game, Swans lost Kennedy super early, a floundering ruckman, Dane Rampe their biggest back, the conditions suited no-one except Papley maybe and Mills had a cracker - had to, to make up for some really lack-lustre efforts at times by teammates. Even Adelaide Crows would have beaten them Sunday night, that's how badly they are going - and we just won! We should be embarrassed as a Club on that one. As I said, record over it - never to be witnessed again!

Disgusting game on the weekend but sometimes you just gotta bank the 4 and move on. Early on definitely noticed the hunger compared to previous weeks.

Rioli looks like he's put on some size but has lost some speed as he looks a shell of himself this year to date.

Liked Bolton.

Graham played in the middle and his pressure is exactly what we needed.

Lambert has played himself into some decent form.

JR8 looks unfit, felt as if he looked better this week compared to last so not overly concerned.

Tom Lynch massive effort only a week after surgery, noone can question his commitment.

One of the better games for Jayden Short, really worked hard to fill the Houli void and did it well.

Vlastiun & Grimes...........these are by far my two favourite players and it's because they are no fuss, straight line tough football mofo's. Love watching them hit ball/player/pack. Grimes is one of the nicest blokes you'll ever meet but once he crosses that line he has the fever.

Reload, North is a bit of a bogey team for us so not confident heading in but hey, after 2 flags in 3 years i'm not stressed so lets see how it goes.
Didn't mention Broad.......

That makes two of us. It has taken until now to get thru the crap.
The game is in dire straights it is horrible to watch given the choice between rugby league golf or soccer ive been watching the latter.
Been disenchanted with the state of the game for yrs now but that one is the straw that has broken this camel;s back no way in the world am i going out of my way to watch this pathetic game anymore.
images (3).jpeg

Thanks mopey

Dinmas pressers are worrying me. RIDICULOUS complaints after RIDICULOUS complaints. Even after victories. The dew at the MCG one week, an opponent coaches tactics the next. He's starting to resemble Chris Scott. Can Leppa do the pressers for a while? Dimma actually looks like he's lost the plot. Breathe before you face the camera. Smile ~ give them platitudes. Work out our problems behind closed doors
I’m more worried about form of a couple of our best players than dimmas pressers , can understand frustration of the situation , plenty of work to be done

Looking forward to Hardwick trying something different up forward. A combination of intercontinental ballistic running shots at goal from outside 50 (Dusty, Short, Balta), and surgical possession football from 50 to the 30 metre mark. Go for height up forward. The old tactic of creating chaos by bringing the ball to ground inside 50 for the mosquito fleet won't work any more.

We have played 6 games so far. In those games, the team that has won the Inside 50s has gone onto win the game - once (us vs Sydney). We won the I50s against St Kilda and Hawthorn - and lost. We lost the I50s agains Carlton and Melbourne - and won. (We won the I50s vs Collingwood quite convincingly - 44-32 - and we didn't win).

So based on that - maybe we should be trying to lose the I50s :cool:. Ok - that's silly - but I50s as a flat stat aren't worth much. What matters is the quality.

My rough take is that if a team defends solidly (eg flooding), they will stop the opposition attacks quite easily, but have difficulty clearing the ball. BUT - when they do get it out and take possession on the HBF or wing, because of the lower number of players in the attacking half - their attacks are far more effective.
Maybe those attacks result in goals 50% of the time, while the team tryinfg to break down the flood are only effective 20% of the time. I don't know exactly, obviously, but there may be something in it.

There is a strategy in soccer based on similar ideas - 'Lay back and hit them on the break' (Jose Mourinho basically does that has been one of the world's top managers for years).

So the idea is to get more effective I50s - and the obvious way is to have a more empty forward line. (Hence centre clearances are so important - provided they are not just a blind hack out of a pack). But where do you put the spare players from your forward line - so you may as well put them in the backline and flood;). And then both sides are flooding, and we are basically playing soccer and waiting for either a once-a-game speccy pack mark, a 50-metre penalty, or (most likely) a mistake by a defender.
Every side is susceptible to the counter attack, although we have very good one on one players who win most of those crucial battles, Grimes, Vlastuin, Broad and less so Astbury. Balta is doing well in that respect also, I think our collective pace of Grimes/Broad/Balta helps as they can run against talls and smalls. Whatever the reason we seem to repel more than we get scored against, granted against average sides so far.

Our biggest problem is our lack of ability to hit a man inside 50 easily. Given Aarts and Higgins are not quick, and Rioli looks to have lost a yard or two, our trademark forward pressure which we kick a lot of goals from is down. Would not be averse to seeing Markov come in and use his pace to lead up to the ball, Riewoldt and Lynch don't get much separation. He can also pressure due to his speed. I doubt very much that he would be worse than Rioli has been so far this season and it would split the defence. Stevenson for Woods does it and Markov is more seasoned and just as quick, and hungry.

What I cannot believe is that no one on on the couch noticed that garthy wasnt playing
Just about says it all about the "experts" that are the footy media.

Reckon this could be another game-changing strategy.
If we get the lads to train and walk around like this for a few weeks then we will be professionals at it and no one will be able to jump high enough to spoil.
Just get Balta or Short to aim right above the top guys head.
I think it's genius.

1594690759646.png

What I cannot believe is that no one on on the couch noticed that garthy wasnt playing

id be more surprised if someone did notice on that joke of a show

or that nobody says "hey guys maybe we need more proof than 2 or 3 still images from the first 20 mins before swan started flooding"

though on the couch have always been kings of judging entire gameplans or results based on 3.2 seconds of footage from the first quarter

Didn't mention Broad.......

I was going off the top of my head but you're right I missed him.

He is often the butt of jokes with my mates, "biggest spud to win a premiership" etc etc but he's shown to be super dependable and a very underrated part of our back 6.

the tactics to heavy flooding are out there and well known

sling shot the ball forward and don't let them setup

use your big kicks to bomb long over the flood

and the Hawks during their 3 peat would chip the ball around the top of the 50 mtr arc
then pick their moment to hit a target around 40 mtrs out

this would eventually tease out the opposition defence creating more space and options

we got caught bombing long to Jack & Tom and it was easily rebounded
just have to share it round and lower the eyes

they have time now to set themselves for it and we'll see what Norf serves up

Reckon this could be another game-changing strategy.
If we get the lads to train and walk around like this for a few weeks then we will be professionals at it and no one will be able to jump high enough to spoil.
Just get Balta or Short to aim right above the top guys head.
I think it's genius.

View attachment 912041

Already been tried - go speak to David Parkin about - he was warned off by the AFL for conduct unbecoming when he tried to coach that into the Carlton team many years ago...............

Looking forward to Hardwick trying something different up forward. A combination of intercontinental ballistic running shots at goal from outside 50 (Dusty, Short, Balta), and surgical possession football from 50 to the 30 metre mark. Go for height up forward. The old tactic of creating chaos by bringing the ball to ground inside 50 for the mosquito fleet won't work any more.
Correct need open space for smalls to swarm into , oppo ain’t letting us get that so we need to use our talls in more conventional sense or let fly from downtown

Oh for goodness sakes,why did Richmond go a 5 man forward line and play a forward in the middle of the ground and then continue to kick it to the spare swans defender all the time which I think was Mills.Poor coaching by Hardwick and should have realised that tactic was not going to work and then have a crack at Longmire after the game.But well done to him and ringing Longmire with a apology.
The tactic didn’t work lol So $ydney won the game did they?

Anyone have any footage that shows the flooding? Got a peanut mate that reckons it was all dimma.

Ask your mate to watch the game and find one piece of footage where there weren’t multiple players on the Richmond attacking 50. Just one. And just mention that you’ll be happy to provide multiple photos of Sydney’s attacking 50 completely vacated

Autopsy Roast and toast vs Sydney and changes for round 7 vs North Melbourne