Autopsy Roast & Toast vs Hawthorn, Changes for Melbourne, Sunday July 30

Best vs Hawthorn

Awwwwh, Matt needs a tissue,

or

images

Now that the anger/excitement has subsided, we need to make some changes for next week.

Forward line will get *******ed by May and Lever if we bomb it on their heads. Lost count of the amount of times we kicked it to Sicilys advantage today. Pickett isn't the answer but I'm not sure Ryan is either, despite his good game in the 2s today. Cumbo 6 snags in the 2s likely gets rewarded too.

Out: Pickett, Mansell
In: Cumbo, Coulthard, Clarke Sub

Congrats on the fighting win, Tigers fans

We attacked & defended well for 3 quarters. But when you blokes turned up the heat in the last quarter and applied scoreboard pressure. We went into our shells, went away from our our gameplan and lost the plot defensively. Zero pressure from our forwards and some shocking turnovers allowed you guys to stream through the middle and pump it deep inside fifty for numerous one-on-ones.

Rioli had been erased by Maginness over the first 3 quarters, but he had a great last quarter. Martin and Bolton had been somewhat subdued, but they also came alive. I thought our inside mids held sway for 3 quarters, but Taranto and Prestia lifted when it mattered.

I won't lie. The defeat was painful to watch. But credit where credit is due: it was an excellent win by you blokes which kept your season alive.

However, I'm curious about the vitriol in here towards the umpires. Sicily got away with a jumper hold against Riewoldt and he craftily milked a free kick for the push in the back in another 1v1 contest.

Aside from these 2 decisions, what were the others that had you howling?

I heard the usual bellyaching from fans at the ground about every single deliberate OOB decision. We all know the umps are instructed to penalise players for kicking the ball out. But it doesn't stop fans and commentators from complaining every time it happens. One day the penny will drop and people will accept it. It doesn't mean every single time the ball goes out, the player must be penalised. It's when they have a clear possession and their kick goes towards the line and out. Simple. Not sure why everyone has such a hard time with this 15 year old rule interpretation.

Anyway, I saw a number of number of missed frees for the Hawks. Some blatant in the backs and high tackles. But that's part and parcel of being a biased footy fan. We all see every potential free kick for our own team. Doesn't mean we get 'em. :D

You did also score a vital goal just before 3/4 time when the ump missed a free to Sicily and then penalised him for "dissent" after he muttered something under his breath. Not exactly "demonstrative" dissent. The ump could've let that go, but he inserted himself into the action on that one.

So why the aggrievement, Tiges fans? Has it become part of your identity to play up the "us versus them" ?

We attacked & defended well for 3 quarters. But when you blokes turned up the heat in the last quarter and applied scoreboard pressure. We went into our shells, went away from our our gameplan and lost the plot defensively. Zero pressure from our forwards and some shocking turnovers allowed you guys to stream through the middle and pump it deep inside fifty for numerous one-on-ones.

Rioli had been erased by Maginness over the first 3 quarters, but he had a great last quarter. Martin and Bolton had been somewhat subdued, but they cam alive. I thought our inside mids held sway for 3 quarters, but Taranto and Prestia lifted when it mattered.

However, I'm curious about the vitriol in here towards the umpires. Sicily got away with a jumper hold against Riewoldt and he craftily milked a free kick for the push in the back in another 1v1 contest. But aside from these 2 decisions, what were the other frees and missed frees that had you howling? I heard the usual bellyaching from fans at the ground about every deliberate OOB decisions. We all know the umps are instructed penalise layers for kicking the ball out. But it doesn't stop fans and commentators from complaining every time it happens. One day the penny will drop and people will accept it.

I mean, I saw a number of number of missed frees for the Hawks. Some blatant in the backs and high tackles.

You did also score a vital goal just before 3/4 time when the ump missed a free to Sicily and then penalised him for "dissent" after he muttered something under his breath. Not exactly "demonstrative" dissent. The ump could've let that go, but he inserted himself into the action on that one.

So why the aggrievement?
I wasn't that concerned by the umpiring the whole match with decisions going each teams way.
We had more fans there so booed louder I guess.
The 3 in a row decisions going Sicily's way in the last frustrated me for sure though haha.

Hell of a way to limp over the line after doing literally everything all day to blow the game. :$ Much better 4Q, but we should do that against a side lacking that much senior run and experience.

Enough with the umpiring, it's so far beyond a joke now, making virtually all our games unwatchable. Sicily should get weeks for that stage, at least a dozen other howlers from the cheating maggots, far from their worst haul for the worst umpired year in the history of football. Go utterly **** up something far less important to people, Gillon, take your greasy, hand-picked clown-car replacement with you.

Hawks put up a great fight, their rebound from defensive half is fast and dangerous, they have the makings of a very good clearance unit, get some extra run in the legs of their kids, they'll be playing finals sooner rather than later. They look by far the most progressive of the bottom sides.

Reeves is a stand out, I strongly suspect he'll be spoken of among the top handful of rucks in the comp sooner rather than later, he's a massive unit and a real athlete with a smart footy brain. His battle with Soldo was entertaining, but the key take-away point from our immediate future perspective was the huge percentage of goals that came during the 22% game time Soldo was on the bench - 6 of their first 8 goals for starters (we eventually ended up using Pickett to stem the bleeding in the 2nd half and he did alright). Soldo didn't have a great game, which was more likely than not second up off a road trip to Perth (plus the head knock in the sling tackle wouldn't have helped), but we leaked goals massively when he wasn't in there keeping us competitive, winning our share of clearances and at the very least stopping their runs of clean, deep clearances.

Most of our top players were serviceable (with nearly all of them also having a bunch of horrific moments we'd all rather forget thrown in!), but for mine, by far and away the most pleasing thing out of the game was that our hardest working players, some fringe players and a couple of really green kids got us over the line. Graham and Ross took good advantage of our deeper midfield and along with Kmac, their run and stamina was a crucial difference. Ross had a couple of howlers (who didn't!), but overall he's been on a really solid improvement curve this season.

Banks already looks like he's a great chance to succeed at the level, good natural offensive and defensive attributes, another pre-season or two under the belt and he'll be an automatic selection on what we've seen so far. And what was not to love about Coulthard the debutant's cameo? :D The kid looks like he weighs 65kg wringing wet, but he's got some serious wheels! Typical shrewd selection from us. We look for flawed players with an elite attribute or two and back ourselves to minimise or improve on the flaws. Gonna be very interesting to see where he ends up, but what a wonderful start for the young man, he must feel incredible right now. Soak it up, Tiger!

Miller had some great cameos up forward, struggled in the centre, but Reeves is a tough unit.

Young being subbed out for more run was more like a batsman that has played a perfect innings retiring to let someone else have a go than any reflection on his game, the unheralded no-name keeping Kornes' #1 pick for future superstar at the Hawks, Grainger-Barras absolutely touchless. Pure gold - all while recruit of the season Timmy 'No Impact' Taranto is drilling set shots from way downtown and racking up quite probably more Brownlow votes to go with with his already sizeable haul at the other end.

For a football analyst, our old mate Kornesy makes a pretty outstanding fireman. :moustache:

Balta had a blinder, he's probably been close to our best over the last 6 weeks or so, glad the coaching staff are backing him to play as attacking as he is - we need it with Short out and the hard tag on Rioli today was also concerning along those lines.

Massive fortnight coming up, we've utterly screwed the percentage pooch so we just have to keep on winning, coz although history bodes well on that score, doing everything we can to prevent going to Adelaide needing a W in the last round seems our best chance of playing finals.

Do we deserve to play finals after two games running where we were bloody ordinary against bottom sides? I honestly doubt it, but one thing you can never doubt with this group, they are capable of beating anyone on their day, we're just blowing the simple stuff too often and too often it's our best players doing it.

That kind of 'almost there' form scenario can turn around really fast and a win on the biggest stage against an Oliverless (that was fun to type!) GoDees unit who are looking wobbly as often as not recently, could be just the kick starter to set us up for an epic season finish.

Go Tigers! :thumbsu::richmond:

Half an hour ago we were (rightly) weighing up Mini's future - but if the club can play with that passion for the remainder of the year and be in the hunt going into the final round.... that is a big endorsement of this guy as coach from the group. And ultimately, their vote is loudest.

Awesome effort. Instantly watching the replay to work out wtf i just watched
not sure why you are going to watch the replay mate, we won that as well plus Taranto and hopper played very very well;)

Rioli had been erased by Maginness over the first 3 quarters, but he had a great last quarter. Martin and Bolton had been somewhat subdued, but they also came alive. I thought our inside mids held sway for 3 quarters, but Taranto and Prestia lifted when it mattered.

I won't lie. The defeat was painful to watch. But credit where credit is due: it was an excellent win by you blokes which kept your season alive.

However, I'm curious about the vitriol in here towards the umpires. Sicily got away with a jumper hold against Riewoldt and he craftily milked a free kick for the push in the back in another 1v1 contest. But aside from these 2 decisions, what were the other frees and missed frees that had you howling? I heard the usual bellyaching from fans at the ground about every deliberate OOB decisions. We all know the umps are instructed penalise layers for kicking the ball out. But it doesn't stop fans and commentators from complaining every time it happens. One day the penny will drop and people will accept it.

I mean, I saw a number of number of missed frees for the Hawks. Some blatant in the backs and high tackles.

So why the aggrievement?

The deliberate against Grimes who kicked it 10m in front of Mansell but he chose to let it bounce instead of rushing to mark it was plain corruption.

The two you mentioned on/against Sicily are completely unexplainable and momentum changers.

Centre bounce free to Worpel for "high" was abominable as we were building momentum.

Yes there were some that went "both ways" but at the end of the day they tried their guts out to get you over the line.

The deliberate against Grimes who kicked it 10m in front of Mansell but he chose to let it bounce instead of rushing to mark it was plain corruption.

The two you mentioned on/against Sicily are completely unexplainable and momentum changers.

Centre bounce free to Worpel for "high" was abominable as we were building momentum.

Yes there were some that went "both ways" but at the end of the day they tried their guts out to get you over the line.

There were that many push in the backs on Jack that weren’t paid. One actually lead to a goal. Even Buckley and King couldn’t believe they missed it.

Hell of a way to limp over the line after doing literally everything all day to blow the game. :$ Much better 4Q, but we should do that against a side lacking that much senior run and experience.

Enough with the umpiring, it's so far beyond a joke now, making virtually all our games unwatchable. Sicily should get weeks for that stage, at least a dozen other howlers from the cheating maggots, far from their worst haul for the worst umpired year in the history of football. Go utterly * up something far less important to people, Gillon, take your greasy, hand-picked clown-car replacement with you.

Hawks put up a great fight, their rebound from defensive half is fast and dangerous, they have the makings of a very good clearance unit, get some extra run in the legs of their kids, they'll be playing finals sooner rather than later. They look by far the most progressive of the bottom sides.

Reeves is a stand out, I strongly suspect he'll be spoken of among the top handful of rucks in the comp sooner rather than later, he's a massive unit and a real athlete with a smart footy brain. His battle with Soldo was entertaining, but the key take-away point from our immediate future perspective was the huge percentage of goals that came during the 22% game time Soldo was on the bench - 6 of their first 8 goals for starters (we eventually ended up using Pickett to stem the bleeding in the 2nd half and he did alright). Soldo didn't have a great game, which was more likely than not second up off a road trip to Perth (plus the head knock in the sling tackle wouldn't have helped), but we leaked goals massively when he wasn't in there keeping us competitive, winning our share of clearances and at the very least stopping their runs of clean, deep clearances.

Most of our top players were serviceable (with nearly all of them also having a bunch of horrific moments we'd all rather forget thrown in!), but for mine, by far and away the most pleasing thing out of the game was that our hardest working players, some fringe players and a couple of really green kids got us over the line. Graham and Ross took good advantage of our deeper midfield and along with Kmac, their run and stamina was a crucial difference. Ross had a couple of howlers (who didn't!), but overall he's been on a really solid improvement curve this season.

Banks already looks like he's a great chance to succeed at the level, good natural offensive and defensive attributes, another pre-season or two under the belt and he'll be an automatic selection on what we've seen so far. And what was not to love about Coulthard the debutant's cameo? :D The kid looks like he weighs 65kg wringing wet, but he's got some serious wheels! Typical shrewd selection from us. We look for flawed players with an elite attribute or two and back ourselves to minimise or improve on the flaws. Gonna be very interesting to see where he ends up, but what a wonderful start for the young man, he must feel incredible right now. Soak it up, Tiger!

Miller had some great cameos up forward, struggled in the centre, but Reeves is a tough unit.

Young being subbed out for more run was more like a batsman that has played a perfect innings retiring to let someone else have a go than any reflection on his game, the unheralded no-name keeping Kornes' #1 pick for future superstar at the Hawks, Grainger-Barras absolutely touchless. Pure gold - all while recruit of the season Timmy 'No Impact' Taranto is drilling set shots from way downtown and racking up quite probably more Brownlow votes to go with with his already sizeable haul at the other end.

For a football analyst, our old mate Kornesy makes a pretty outstanding fireman. :moustache:

Balta had a blinder, he's probably been close to our best over the last 6 weeks or so, glad the coaching staff are backing him to play as attacking as he is - we need it with Short out and the hard tag on Rioli today was also concerning along those lines.

Massive fortnight coming up, we've utterly screwed the percentage pooch so we just have to keep on winning, coz although history bodes well on that score, doing everything we can to prevent going to Adelaide needing a W in the last round seems our best chance of playing finals.

Do we deserve to play finals after two games running where we were bloody ordinary against bottom sides? I honestly doubt it, but one thing you can never doubt with this group, they are capable of beating anyone on their day, we're just blowing the simple stuff too often and too often it's our best players doing it.

That kind of 'almost there' form scenario can turn around really fast and a win on the biggest stage against an Oliverless (that was fun to type!) GoDees unit who are looking wobbly as often as not recently, could be just the kick starter to set us up for an epic season finish.

Go Tigers! :thumbsu::richmond:
Well written

Exactly, it’s his footy brain that is keeping him afloat at the moment. I know he’s done but it’s sad knowing jacks only got 5 games left in the yellow and black
Would hate it if he & cotch played their last game in Adelaide.

If we don't have the senior core in the side today we don't win that game it's as simple as that. That is why you don't flick all your experienced types and just load up on kids, because when things get tight the senior guys can provide leadership and also understand how they can impact the game in a way that can change momentum.

Having said that, it doesn't excuse the fact that for pretty much the first 3 quarters we were bloody ordinary and made an average Hawthorn side look quite good. Our clearance work in the middle was poor, our entries into 50 were poor and our ball use left a bit to be desired.

What I liked the most today was the impact of some of the kids. Banks looked much more composed and assured across HB and his ball use stood out, Ross continued his fine form with another solid game coming off the wing, Young was solid down back providing support for Balta with some important spoils and touches. Coulthard when he came on provided an injection that we needed and his first disposal where he streamed down the MCC wing linking up with both Martin & Cotchin to set up Jacks goal got us up and going. Hopefully he gets a full game next week as we can use more excitement

If we play like we did the first 3 quarters against the Dees next week we will get smacked as they're not the type of side that will let a 6 goal lead slip when they're on top like Hawthorn were.

Autopsy Roast & Toast vs Hawthorn, Changes for Melbourne, Sunday July 30