Autopsy Roast & Toast vs Hawthorn, Changes for Melbourne, Sunday July 30

Best vs Hawthorn

I thought we where playing pretty good footy before we got the run on.

I was nearly going to say we where playing one of the best matches we have played despite losing if that made any sense.

It is good we got the win though, good for team belief and our connection improved. Taranto kicked some great goals, Coulthard added a lot, Graham was handy as well in a possibly different role, and I disagree with Mathew Lloyd, Baker should have taken the shot, he took the shot, kicked it and we won. If Baker gave it off high chance they would be tackled under pressure so gotta seize the moment so Baker was good in front of the sticks again.

I changed my vote, I thought it was a pretty even performance from the guys but a lot of you guys are too hard on JR. He kicked a few points but his connection and role was important in making the forward line work and giving our mids something including a outlet creating space and opportunity for others

Coutlhard and Banks into the mix is making a difference along with the improvement of Ross and even Graham's role is looking better with Baker having more forward time.

The youth, quickness and energy along with our team connection and development is giving the team a boost.

I thought Rioli had one of his most impactful matches and I think the mix with Banks, Graham and others is helping the team connection

Last time Cumberland played against Melbourne he got a renewed one torn for him by Old Mother Hibberd. Noah Slumberland being asleep at the wheel is not a viable play to counter May and Lever.

He also kicked 3 goals in the first quarter.
Hopefully he gets a chance to redeem himself.

Seems to have a lot of composure which is a good sign for a bit of class. I like his decisions, certainly needs more opportunity and improved our team

Apart from speed I think Coulthard improves our run.

We played better but we also run over Hawthorn from a run perspective, so team connectivity becomes more important especially when we have momentum

Cumberland In keep the forward 50 passes low
Cumberland as a hit up forward
Can't play the bombing it in game
Least now we get to see how good Mini is tacticaly.
u just know we'll bomb it in again

If Bauer is passed fit does he come in?

I did not see the reserves, I do not think Cumberland is not quite best 22 at the moment.

Maybe bring in Bauer for Mansell.

I like Ryan, but if he plays we probably do not run over Hawthorn.

I tend to think go we the current mob organically including Coulthard, maybe add Bauer for Mansell and see what happens. I like the way we went short to the likes of Taranto who kicked long goals. It changes the dynamic and gives us more options providing more space in the forward line, while Balta still does his thing down back with the others

We will probably have to rely on chaos and run to beat Melbourne anyway

Would be stiff for Bauer to come back through the VFL but that's what will happen.
They will rely on the reasoning of easing him back into it again.
If we were ever going to go against the grain it should be this seek when we will be desperate for more marking power.

I thought we where playing pretty good footy before we got the run on.

I was nearly going to say we where playing one of the best matches we have played despite losing if that made any sense.

It is good we got the win though, good for team belief and our connection improved. Taranto kicked some great goals, Coulthard added a lot, Graham was handy as well in a possibly different role, and I disagree with Mathew Lloyd, Baker should have taken the shot, he took the shot, kicked it and we won. If Baker gave it off high chance they would be tackled under pressure so gotta seize the moment so Baker was good in front of the sticks again.

I changed my vote, I thought it was a pretty even performance from the guys but a lot of you guys are too hard on JR. He kicked a few points but his connection and role was important in making the forward line work and giving our mids something including a outlet creating space and opportunity for others

Coutlhard and Banks into the mix is making a difference along with the improvement of Ross and even Graham's role is looking better with Baker having more forward time.

The youth, quickness and energy along with our team connection and development is giving the team a boost.

I thought Rioli had one of his most impactful matches and I think the mix with Banks, Graham and others is helping the team connection

I'm convinced you're a troll. The first 3 quarters were a shambles mate. Smashed by Hawthorns kids.

Would be stiff for Bauer to come back through the VFL but that's what will happen.
They will rely on the reasoning of easing him back into it again.

Maybe, but I would ease Short back into the reserves to. He is usually best 22, but I would not mess with teh current dynamic for at least a week

I'm convinced you're a troll. The first 3 quarters were a shambles mate. Smashed by Hawthorns kids.

Na, Hawks, where a little lucky, certain errors where made, but overall we where going quite okay.

One could see the improvement in Banks, Ross and Young amongst better team combinations with Dusty getting more mojo and Graham playing well

We got a nice run at the end, but in some respects we have better cattle in. We are playing better as a team to so that is on the coaching including Mini.

The fact Coulthard, Banks and others are doing well really helps Mini's prospects apart from the triumphs

Even McIntosh with his strong marks and positioning seems smarter to help the team. The fact the team got on a run, I think reflects the team is playing with more bounce and a gel like 2017, to a degree, is being recognise by the players. They seem happier with each other, giving each other pats etc..

You can convince yourself all you like of course but I would not worry about me if I was you

Guys like Banks have been in for 3 games and he has not faded, not phased by the jump. That is a good sign. Coulthard, straight in, no shirking of the task, another great sign!!! Helps lift the team and improve there overall confidence especially when it creates belief in the combinations which is all about teamwork and how the players gel and play football across the ground with each other

He also kicked 3 goals in the first quarter.
Hopefully he gets a chance to redeem himself.

He had 7 disposals. 3 goals...4 clangers, no other score involvements. He had an absolute shocker masked only slightly be having a "3 goal game." If there was a stat for how well the forward line functions when you are in it, Cumberland would be whipping in the whole AFL. We went 0-5(bottom 3 level) in games he played at least 50% game time this season, and in games he hasn't played at least 50% game time we were 9-1-3(top 4 level.) Games he played we averaged 68 points for and 103 points against. 4 of those 5 games were the 4 biggest losses Richmond have suffered in the last 35 games.

Now of course these things cannot all be slated back to Cumberland alone, and last year he did show he could be part of a functioning team and forward line. But there must be a risk in playing him this season given all of the above. The team's performances when he has missed or played under 50% game time this season clearly show he is not indispensable. Our scoring rose to 87 points per game on average, and our scores conceded plummeted to 73 points per game.

If he was just unlucky then refer to the Emperor Nepolean Bonaparte, who astutely observed that he would rather have lucky generals than smart ones.

Let's see if he gets picked but I remain doubtful.

Magic is not a troll. Its virus designed to eat away at the fabric of decent conversation and debate.

thats worse

means he'll miss chunks of 2024 cos of louie meehan

Cool "Healing" Hand Luke has done it again, got the injury list down to just 4 players. Farking soup herb effort. How did he do that?

giphy.gif

Posters undervaluing Jack Graham's game, I reckon he ends up with coaches votes
21 possessions (10 contested) @ 81% DE, 8 tackles, 5 clearances, 419 MG and team high 10 score involvements.
Six coaches votes, Jack Graham that is.

Richmond v Hawthorn​

10 James Sicily (HAW)
6 Jack Graham (RICH)
4 Noah Balta (RICH)
3 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
3 Dion Prestia (RICH)
3 James Worpel (HAW)
1 Tim Taranto (RICH)

If Bauer is passed fit does he come in?
His last competitive hit out at any level was about 3 minutes before his hammy gave out. Would be borderline irresponsible to bring him straight back in against a key match against Melbourne IMO without at least a game of VFL under his belt.

We aren't talking about an established best 22 player, the kid is still on the cusp atm so I'd be bringing him back via VFL and trusting more in exposed form from the weekend's game, e.g. Cumberland a better option this week.

If he plays well in the VFL, then definetely a candidate for the Doggies game.

If Bauer is ready to go he should be straight in. Badly need another marking target up forward.

Mate we’ve been winning with no forward line. I like the tiki-taka false 9 we’ve been playing. It’s ace.

Six coaches votes, Jack Graham that is.

Richmond v Hawthorn​

10 James Sicily (HAW)
6 Jack Graham (RICH)
4 Noah Balta (RICH)
3 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
3 Dion Prestia (RICH)
3 James Worpel (HAW)
1 Tim Taranto (RICH)
Graham been much better the last few weeks
Maybe it was just a case of getting use to a new position but he’s output over the last 3 matches is promising

Be very handy if he can nail the Lambert spot

Autopsy Roast & Toast vs Hawthorn, Changes for Melbourne, Sunday July 30