Autopsy Roast & toast vs St Kilda, changes for Brisbane, Thursday June 29

Best vs Saints

Fortunately we play on the Thursday after the bye so hopefully we aren't too sluggish after the break.
The changes I'd make are:
Out: Graham, MRJ, Ralphsmith
In: Hopper, Pickett, Banks

Fortunately we play on the Thursday after the bye so hopefully we aren't too sluggish after the break.
didnt even know ralph thmith played

Reckon our boys need the break,

2 interstate weeks followed by a slug fest in the wet.

Great timing IMO.

Ripper win, loved the intensity, esp from #4...apparently checked out, fmd. All the boys were really up for the fight. Timmy T looks like he's been mates with the boys for years.
Defence was outstanding and a few of the kids really contributed. Miller, Ross especially. Clarke didn't get it a lot but these games are gold to develop this kid, beautiful turn, speed and lovely balanced kick. Poise under pressure will get better with experience.
Umpiring has been said by others, but jeez I've never seen anger at that level before.
p.s. said Hi to the real Mrs H at the game...

Reckon our boys need the break,

2 interstate weeks followed by a slug fest in the wet.

Great timing IMO.
hope they dont get on the piss now

we havent won a post bye game for like 10 years

Gonna be interesting with Hopper back. Cotch has been in a lot of center bounces lately and we've looked good in there the last few weeks. Im certainly not convinced that 3 of Hopper, Prestia and Cotchin can work, neither are great in any other position and obviously none will ever be dropped. Surely we can't take away any of Bolton or Martins midfield minutes given the form they are in.

I thought MRJ looked lively early, struggled once the rain came down, I think he will stay in for now. Ryan looks unlikely, maybe Pickett just takes his spot up forward and go with Miller as 2nd ruck. If we go with Soldo in for Ryan, surely Pickett cant play as well.

I thought there maybe value in staying in F50 more often , soldo was good last senior appearance
I wasn’t impressed Bo and if he comes back I think it’ll be taking a step backwards as with Pickett and Hopper coming in that’s going to make us slow enough imho. Pickett replaces Graham and Hopper replaces Ryan. Hopefully Brown comes in for HRS as I think he’s looking ready to hit his straps. I was super impressed with his attack on the footy on Saturday and looks ready made.

I agree about the rain and to an extent 'opposition scoring'. The issue we have had all year is our fwd line pressure. It has been too easy for defences to rebound out of our 50 and set up a scoring opportunity. That falls mostly on our small forwards.
It's getting better but i get what you mean. Flooding back means you normally have more numbers in your defense than oppo forwards hence why teams play chip chip chip until they get numbers up the ground and we have STAND to thank for that which makes it easier for teams to do that.

One point I picked up from Cotchin's post match interview was his respect for how difficult the half forward role is. His return to form over the last two weeks combined with his move back into the midfield, is no coincidence. Cotchin and Dusty play their best football as midfielders. Dusty was incredibly damaging because he could confuse the opposition by unexpectedly moving forward as well. Cotchin has always been an inside midfielder who throws himself at the contest (literally).

What I do think we should also take away from those comments, is just how selfless you need to be as a half forward. You don't stand out as much. You don't get as much possessions or even as much goals as you would as a normal forward. This is why Pickett was so important to our recent rise. He's executed the role perfectly - bring the ball to ground, crumbing and making the oppositions half backs accountable. Clarke has also been playing the high half forward role along with Mansell. These roles are crucial to our structure and I think we need to give these players more kudos for the speed, spread and space they create for others.

Just as importantly, Picketts change of role has enabled Ross to play on the wing. Clarke and Graham's inclusion into the forwardline, have enabled Cotchin and Dusty back into the middle where they play their best footy.

Hoppers return concerns me though. He's a bull midfielder but who drops out for him to return? We have the right balance in our forwardline now so I don't want another resting midfielder in their just to try and keep as many midfielders on the park as possible. That was our mistake earlier in the season. I pray we've learned from it.

I hope they continue with this same structure moving forward and resist the urge to play too many midfielders all in the same team.

Well said.

The way Lambert played the role very few can. Even then he had the odd game with low disposals and impact, its the nature of the role and is why I defend Jack Graham a lot on here as the role itself is very hard.

Out of our midfield options Prestia is probably most suited to the role even if that means less output from him. He has rediscovered his form in midfield in recent weeks which is a good argument as any to leave him there but in the three weeks he played there he had 23 and kicked 3 vs West Coast, 19 and 1 against the Cats and a quiet game with 11 disposals against Essendon. I could live with those numbers of the basis the midfield balance is working with Hopper impending return.

We need someone to tag the third umpire goal reviewer.

I am confident despite umpiregate.

Lions will go from giraffes on Horlicks to Cheetahs on cocaine no doubt.

But we have OUR Hunger back!

Ripper win, loved the intensity, esp from #4...apparently checked out, fmd. All the boys were really up for the fight. Timmy T looks like he's been mates with the boys for years.
Defence was outstanding and a few of the kids really contributed. Miller, Ross especially. Clarke didn't get it a lot but these games are gold to develop this kid, beautiful turn, speed and lovely balanced kick. Poise under pressure will get better with experience.
Umpiring has been said by others, but jeez I've never seen anger at that level before.
I haven't seen Dusty run that much to tackle and follow up pressure ever. he really is putting in.

My favourite Dusty moments from the game are his celebrations after those late goals from Taranto and Bolton

He was celebrating just as much as the fans after those goals that essentially secured the win

micheal tuck played 100 + games in the magoos, i dont see an issue with starting Hopper there

I dont even know what to say to this reasoning to be honest

Autopsy Roast & toast vs St Kilda, changes for Brisbane, Thursday June 29