Robert Harvey

This is something the boys should watch every week before the game, then take a good long look at themselves before walking out onto the turf.

[youtube]<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/x1Q_orMvXH0&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/x1Q_orMvXH0&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>[/youtube]
(http://youtube.com/watch?v=x1Q_orMvXH0)

This gives me chills every time I watch it. And I thought of it again when he ran through the centre last night, just beautiful as always, then dropped it on Milne's chest... only to see all that work become a behind. Agony - he deserves so much better.

Yep. Some of our boys should be ashamed of the lack of effort they put in in support of Harves. If only we could use him for inspiration like we did against the Weagles last year every game.

Speaking of Harves, 24 disposals last night, great again. Someone needs to bump that thread on the main board from that absolute ________ who thought he should retire, it must be getting embarrassing for him.

Beautiful - that clip brings me close to tears !

For this man, we must.

It's not over yet !

F_____ Hell, I don't want the day to come when he retires...

he deserves SOOOOOO much better than this!!

we need to do it for him.

Yeah he's an amazing St Kilda Passionate Clubman . Being a little bit older than him ( but Not Much) I'm fortunate enough to have been following his career from the start .Does anyone remember the flat top hair style he had as a teenager with us? One thing i DID notice was in the video clips in the first half how casual all his team mates were afterwards . No fired up celebrating pumping themselves up like other teams just a bit of a pat as he went past. This is the sort of thing thats concerning me at the moment. How do we turn these guys into an enormously proud passionate team with big hearts and a huge hunger and desperation for success for the St Kilda football club like him? :(

What an amzing clip. Harvey is an absolute legend and I can proudly say that I saw him play his first game as a 16 year old at Moorabbin.
He deserves to finish his career with a premiership medallion around his neck but it breaks my heart to see that this is not going to happen unless something short of a miracle happens.
I agree that this clip shoud be played before every game. It sure stirred the emotion in me and with any luck it would do the same for his team mates who at the moment don't appear to be playing with a lot of passion.
Harvey deserves so much more than what is happening at the moment.

He really wanted to win the game, but you can't do it off your own boot. When he marked in the forward line, the great unwashed (Collingwood fans behind me) gave him no chance. But you could see the determination - he was going to kick the goal. What was a shame after threading it to Milne, Harvs directed Milne to kick to Dal closer in. Milney decided not to, took the shot and missed.

lol, no explanation needed ;)

I wonder how many can look him in the eye after each game & honestly say they gave their all??

lol, no explanation needed ;)

I wonder how many can look him in the eye after each game
& honestly say they gave their all??

I wonder how many can look him in the eye, full stop. If I was dishing out the tripe some of them have been, in that last quarter stumbling around as if they're on crutches and half-blind, then saw a 36 year old charging through the middle as if the game's just started, running on nothing in his tank but love and devotion for his club, then I don't think I could look him in the eye.

If I did, then underneath my eyes would be some very red cheeks, shamed by my performance.:(

If our bottom six or so players played with half the heart that Rob Harvey plays with then it would make a start. It's the same old passengers that let us down every week. How they can look their team mates in the eye is absolutely beyond me. It's time Ross Lyon promoted players that are prepared to have a geniune crack and showed the half-arsed duds, and those playing on reputation, the door.

So that leaves Harvs, Kosi, Nick, Lenny, Max, Baker,Ball and a couple of others.......Where do we get the rest of the team from ?????????????

Harves is still your best player, he cannot retire, you can't retire when you are still the number 1 player at your club. Lyon must start using him through the middle again!

If our bottom six or so players played with half the heart that Rob Harvey plays with then it would make a start. It's the same old passengers that let us down every week. How they can look their team mates in the eye is absolutely beyond me. It's time Ross Lyon promoted players that are prepared to have a geniune crack and showed the half-arsed duds, and those playing on reputation, the door.

Maybe our bottom six are playing with passion. There main problem may be they are not up to AFL standard. They could play with all the passion they like, but if they are not talented enough, then it's useless.

Harves is still your best player, he cannot retire, you can't retire when you are still the number 1 player at your club. Lyon must start using him through the middle again!

As I sat in the Gabba members today watching him walk off at the back of the team, head hung down, I thought to myself "He's one of the few that can hold his head high". His workrate is amazing and his use of the ball amongst our best. How the hell are we gunna replace him? Simply, he has to go around again, he's still one of the few earning his place each week on performance.

I was there too Budgie.

This is his last year, if we cannot produce the goods this year he will just retire into the night without the premiership that the club basically owes him.

If this does not motivate the boys - then they simply cant be motivated.
We'll have to cut our losses and rebuild.

I am Lyon's least favourite fan. I hate the guy. But at least he has workled out the best way to use Banger is to play in solidly in the second half when he really comes into his own. The Brissie game proved he is still our best.

Round 9 against Carlton 1999. Get it on Name a Game. For mine, the master at his best

I am Lyon's least favourite fan. I hate the guy. But at least he has workled out the best way to use Banger is to play in solidly in the second half when he really comes into his own. The Brissie game proved he is still our best.

Round 9 against Carlton 1999. Get it on Name a Game. For mine, the master at his best

If I recall, this was a Friday night affair at the G. I recall The King coming out of half back and evading a few tackles in trademark fashion. Fraser Brown was about 30m ahead and had Harves in his sights, yet despite all of his mongrel, the King merely swept him aside and desposited a beautiful pass onto the chest of Big Buckets!!!!

I also remember giving it to Aaron Hamill that night as well as he was in Blues colours. God how I would do anything to have him back in red, white and black.

stop on Guidance. That was the game. To me 1999 was looking to be his best year. He was absolutely unstoppable until injury claimed him. almost a certainty to have won a third brownlow. if you can get some footage from that era, check it out.

I was in Melbourne for a holiday in april or may last year, and went down to training to see the boys in action. I was watching the fellas kicking at goal, CJ taking it easy ( may have been injured) and then there was Rob making his way off the ground before having a conversation with a mate, obviously someone he knew.

Anyway i was ears dropping into the conversation, and was shocked to hear " Yeah mate, it's time, I think i'll give a kid a go" obviously meaning he would retire at seasons end. He then signed my cards as i walked off with a sad face. I had a few photos with the boys after training and reckon i was the first to get a photo with armo. Anyway..

A few months later, my Dad and I went to St kilda v Freo at subi..to see the king do his hammy. As we walked to the Traino..my Dad said to me "We may ave just seen the great mans last game Jim" and I agreed considering what i had heard earlier that year.

The next day i hopped onto the computer to see the injury list, and banger would miss 3-4 weeks. It just so happened to be he was on around 345 games and another game at subi was due in that 5 week period. Thursday night came and I checked the Saints side to see Harves in the team flying to Perth.

The day came, we made our way to see the boys on the bus,but were 10minutes late. We saw the driver and he let us see the inside of the bus with a screen saying "350"in red hite and black. i held up the banner as he led the team out in his 350th milestone, and then saw the happiest man i had ever seen when that siren sounded to end the game. He came over to where were,the cheersquad. As he was carried off the ground..my dad and I started a "Haaarrvveeyy" chant.

And that is my story of the great man. And the story must completely finish with a Premiership medallion hanging around his neck.

Robert Harvey