Review Round 10, 2020 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

There was a replay from another camera angle of the Lynch/Witho incident. The Umpire was in the foreground and looking towards Lynch. How did he not pay a free kick for the high contact!?!?

They're just gutless

Lynch's palm strike wasn't too dissimilar to Rance's dog act a couple of years ago that resulted in a 2 week suspension.. Do they practice skulling the opposition from behind down at Punt Rd or something..

Haaahha!
And Viney got the better of him afterwards too.

Just watched the game again and confirmed it one more time that we lost the game primarily because their mids smashed us proper. It was painful pleasure watching how skillful they actually were....so clean on the ground and their disposal was A+. On the other hand, our decision making around the ground was nothing short of abysmal, unprofessional & unacceptable at that standard. Our disposal by foot was embarrassing to witness. If it wasnt for Big O, we would have lost by much more. That was his best game I have seen him play by a long margin. Anybody blaming our inaccurate kicking at goal for losing the game is deluded. Richmond missed 4 sitters that you could argue were much easier than any of our missed opportunities. I also think we were totally out coached by Hardwick. Our game plan is way too 1 dimensional & predictable and easy for good sides to manage.

It's becoming evident in big games isn't it . The Tigers have played us 3 times in our last 12 games or whatever and smashed us by 6 or so every time.

Short to the pocket constantly no work against a well coached strong outfit.

Last night we had plenty of chances to go longer to some run on and refused to do it .

I played Little League for Fitzroy at VFL Park. Kicked the whole score...1.1
That was the pinnacle of my footy career and I’ve always kept an eye on that jumper.
Every game we play against you’se is one game closer to you winning.

Stevie J played 293 games of footy and only lost to the Tiges once.
2017 prelim.
Hope we play ya’s later on in the year.

Tom Lynch, Richmond, has been charged with Misconduct against Alex Witherden, Brisbane Lions, during the first quarter of the Round 10 match between Richmond and the Brisbane Lions, played at Metricon Stadium on Tuesday August 4.

In summary he can accept a $500 sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available evidence, the incident was assessed as Misconduct. The incident was classified as a $750 sanction as a first offence. The player can accept a $500 sanction with an early plea.

Harris Andrews, Brisbane Lions, has been charged with Rough Conduct (Dangerous Tackle) against Tom Lynch, Richmond, during the third quarter of the Round 10 match between Richmond and the Brisbane Lions, played at Metricon Stadium on Tuesday August 4.

In summary he can accept a $1000 sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available evidence, the incident was assessed as Careless Conduct, Low Impact and High Contact. The incident was classified as a $1500 sanction as a first offence. The player can accept a $1000 sanction with an early plea.

Now I expected Lynch would get a fine, was expecting $1000 though - $500 is a joke. But that's after the scrutiny of having it tweeted and on the front page of AFL.com.au, numerous news articles...

How the hell does Andrews then get double the fine for a tackle that had zero uproar at all???
Seriously? o_O
MRO has sadly degenerated into an inconsistent pattern of illogical outcomes without any apparent sense of what is fair or reasonable. Decisions have become nothing better than a chook raffle that unfortuanately doesn't even pass a pub test.

Totally agree with you. Yes our disposal is appalling and our Captain (Zorko) week after week is the worst. His efficiency must be way below 50%. Bombing it into the forwards is so predictable and easy for the opposition to defend. Our coaches must get smarter because it is so obvious for our opponents.

I still maintain getting rid of Walker was just fundamentally wrong.

I'd have him easily in front of Adams, Lester, Payne in terms of KPD and he always provided flexibility to either go forward or allow Andrews to go forward. We just don't have that luxury anymore with Walker being pissed off.

I think 98% of the time we get our trades / delistings correct, but definitely not the Walker one.
I blame us signing Adams. Without him Walker would have stuck around. Clearly Fagan and co saw something in Adams that they liked, but I don't know what it is yet.
As most would know am Josh's biggest (only) fan but we have lost Adams and Martin for most and possibly the rest of the season. Archie has gone down as well. If these injuries could have been predicted Josh would have not been cleared. I supported the recruitment of Adams initially but thought giving Archie a contract was an error.

Have a look at the North board. Josh did not have a great night but all North supporters loved his game. He played the way McStay is thought to by many on this site, crashing packs galore.

I supported the recruitment of Adams initially but thought giving Archie a contract was an error.
I fundamentally disagreed with both the recruitment of Adams (too expensive in terms of what we paid to get and what he is reportedly being paid) on top of just not rating him (IMO's he's had one good game against Geelong last year playing on Hawkins and worse still, has a long track record of barely getting on the park (including his time at the Dogs)).

As for Archie, like clubs re-signing coaches sometimes, I don't get why clubs extend contracts well beyond they're required when no other club is touching them and in the unlikely event another club happens to want them, they aren't a big loss.

I'm so pleased for Josh though, but personally, I wish he were still a Lion.

Not sure if this is the right place to put this but........ Eric Hipwood, and more specifically his marking technique. Hipwood s hands are 50 cm apart as the ball arives and he tries to then slam his Two hands together on either side of the ball. Any little mistiming and he fumbles. By contrast Andrews seems to mark with the classic thumbs together style with softer hands. Eric's poor marking is poor technique.....I reckon

As most would know am Josh's biggest (only) fan but we have lost Adams and Martin for most and possibly the rest of the season. Archie has gone down as well. If these injuries could have been predicted Josh would have not been cleared. I supported the recruitment of Adams initially but thought giving Archie a contract was an error.

Have a look at the North board. Josh did not have a great night but all North supporters loved his game. He played the way McStay is thought to by many on this site, crashing packs galore.

We loved guys like Josh Green too when we were a shit team.

Yes, you are definitely the only person on here who bemoans Josh's absence on a weekly basis. No one else whinges about it, and no one else complained about him losing his spot in the team last year.

Josh is fine. He probably would have done better than the under 10 gamers on Tuesday but that doesn't make moving him on a poor list decision. People love to forget the poor games he played last year, like when the ghost of Tex Walker repeatedly smoked him on the lead.

Review Round 10, 2020 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond