Preview Round 10 - Sydney vs Carlton @ Marvel Stadium, Friday Night Lights

I’m pretty sure some of our success this year was Georgie boy coming from you guys in tip top condition and making the statement this is how the swans do it. Then seeing him train the house down and the penny dropping with a lot of our guys. It takes a lot of hard work to succeed! Half arsed crap gives you September holidays!

He has just been an unbelievable pick up for us (I’ll go so far as saying the best pick up for the 2022 trade period and he was a free agent! Just wow) and for an amazing price, please understand I am not for one second being smart here …. I’m sure many in the know of your supporters knew u were losing an unbelievable talent and servant of the club but salary cap pressure is what it is and we too will soon be on the other side of things as well.

Simply put we got way more than just an awesome player, we got a teacher as well, someone completely professional who never leaves the field with anything left.

I honestly believe we will look back on that trade in a few years and see it as a massive part for our hopeful future success.

Damn you George Hewett and your good training habits [SHAKE FIST EMOJI]

disposal efficiency is the dumbest stat in the afl

Nah it's definitely leg speed.

I know it's not a stat, but it is the single stupidest thing anyone has ever said.

I’m pretty sure some of our success this year was Georgie boy coming from you guys in tip top condition and making the statement this is how the swans do it. Then seeing him train the house down and the penny dropping with a lot of our guys. It takes a lot of hard work to succeed! Half arsed crap gives you September holidays!

He has just been an unbelievable pick up for us (I’ll go so far as saying the best pick up for the 2022 trade period and he was a free agent! Just wow) and for an amazing price, please understand I am not for one second being smart here …. I’m sure many in the know of your supporters knew u were losing an unbelievable talent and servant of the club but salary cap pressure is what it is and we too will soon be on the other side of things as well.

Simply put we got way more than just an awesome player, we got a teacher as well, someone completely professional who never leaves the field with anything left.

I honestly believe we will look back on that trade in a few years and see it as a massive part for our hopeful future success.
A lot in the know reckoned that Carlton lacked two way running and that both Hewett and Cerra would improve that substantially. Ed Curnow was your best from that point of view but it seems that Kennedy has joined the club now too. Four good runners instead of one makes a heck of a difference!
And, as you observe, higher standards lift everyone. With Hewett and Kennedy supporting Cripps he has been able to avoid the defensive work that is his weakness and concentrate on his strengths.
I also imagine Voss is a more demanding coach than Teague which was probably necessary too.
Should be a cracker game.

A lot in the know reckoned that Carlton lacked two way running and that both Hewett and Cerra would improve that substantially. Ed Curnow was your best from that point of view but it seems that Kennedy has joined the club now too. Four good runners instead of one makes a heck of a difference!
And, as you observe, higher standards lift everyone. With Hewett and Kennedy supporting Cripps he has been able to avoid the defensive work that is his weakness and concentrate on his strengths.
I also imagine Voss is a more demanding coach than Teague which was probably necessary too.
Should be a cracker game.

Interestingly I'm not sure Carlton brought George in for his defensive work. Hardness, effort, work rate and professionalism, absolutely, but not so much what he offers defensively. Or if they did, Voss has viewed George differently and gone rogue.

Have watched all his games this year and can probably count on one hand the amount of stoppages or centre bounces where he's actually manned an opponent. If anything his role has been something of a sweeper. Gets loose out the back in space then distributes from there. That's exactly how he should be used and it's brilliant coaching from Voss to recognise his strengths.

Were you aware that all of our losses have come off 6 day breaks? With 3 losses for 6x6 day breaks, we're a 50% chance of a loss. Mind you, despite somehow Carlton having had a dream fixture so far with only the one 6 day break, you managed to lose that. So you're a 100% chance of a loss on a short break. Given it's a really short break, we're probably going to give you a right belting, but given we have a 50% record for six day breaks, we might let you win the first half. We normally give teams a head start anyway.

I hope you're OK with just watching half a game ;)
We're always a 50% chance of a loss!!:roflv1:

Colin O'Riordan named to play his first senior game of 2022.
"He's a flexible player, he's got some experience and can play down back on different types of players and can play through the wing," Longmire said.
"He's a player that can give us some run when we need it but he's got a strong defensive side to his game as-well."

EmergenciesBraeden CampbellMatt RobertsHayden McLean
Dylan Stephens

For those watching the reserves how close does Roberts look to making the first team?

He's pretty tough and has no issue finding the ball. I haven't seen anything too inspiring to suggest he'd offer anything different to any of the mids currently in our midfield. Even in the VFL side, as good as he's doing, he's not standing out. He's one of a handful who kinda show up and do their job but I wouldn't say he's starring or dominating, which is probably what the coaches are wanting to see. Even at 18 or 19, if you're looking too good for the reserves, that's a sign you might be ready for the elite level.

So I'd say Roberts is reasonably close to senior footy, but also a reasonable chance at remaining "reasonably close" all year, unless he elevates his performances.

Once again typical Swans / AFL Spin. Campbell gets managed last week and can't get back in the side this week even being injury free.

What a load of shit. He was omitted.

Gee we know how to **** these kids around.

I think it's safe to assume that what we sell to the public is different to how we handle the players. I doubt Horse tapped Campbell on the shoulder last week and said "Reckon you need a rest mate" only to turn around this week and go "Haha! Enjoy the VFL sucker!"

They would've known and Campbell would've known why he was removed from the 22 last week and I doubt the reasons for that have changed much this week.