Autopsy Round 12, 2022: Hawks pipped by Magpies

Quality game of footy. We are crying out for a proper ruckman

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
You really want to die on this Hill, eh?

Umpiring was shit both ways.

That free to Butler against Moore for tunneling the legs was tragic! One of the worse decisions I’ve ever seen.

The standard of umpiring in the AFL is a disgrace, but we’re not alone in this regard (EPL poor, cricket generally poor).

I’ve heard theories that the speed and complexities of sport in 2022 are just too difficult to umpire to a consistent level, and we’re probably playing a waiting game with technology to catch up and automate it.

Pretty stiff in the end we looked a different side when the rain started far more physical in the stoppage. Outplayed in the end, 6 of the first 8 goals from Hawthorn turnovers!

Positive signs for the future for a team that is sitting 4-8 it doesn't look pretty. I counted 10+ guys under 50 games with key roles another 3 not in today Dgb,Scrims,Ward.

I just hope we don't bottom out, it could be the difference between a free agent and a positive culture into 2023.

Blew several good chances in the 4th which would have sealed the game. Leaving Gunston out there hobbled was a crucial mistake as well.

Some great performances from the younger brigade. Nash, Day, CJ, Lewis, Dimma and Bramble were 4 quarter contributors. Newk and Jaeger were awesome in the second half.

Sicily excellent when not handballing and Morrison worked hard all game. CMac and Butler again showed some class.

Disappointing that we’re once again talking about the umpiring. Inconsistent and incorrect decisions all game (both teams lost 2 goals directly from incorrect frees). That HTB at the end and the free paid against CJ were disgraceful.

He’s been an awesome servant for the club, but it’s time to phase out Titch. He wins the ball but doesn’t have the skills or awareness to play the way we want to. Better off playing Ward, Worpel and Shiels.

Blew several good chances in the 4th which would have sealed the game. Leaving Gunston out there hobbled was a crucial mistake as well.

Some great performances from the younger brigade. Nash, Day, CJ, Lewis, Dimma and Bramble were 4 quarter contributors. Newk and Jaeger were awesome in the second half.

Sicily excellent when not handballing and Morrison worked hard all game. CMac and Butler again showed some class.

Disappointing that we’re once again talking about the umpiring. Inconsistent and incorrect decisions all game (both teams lost 2 goals directly from incorrect frees). That HTB at the end and the free paid against CJ were disgraceful.

He’s been an awesome servant for the club, but it’s time to phase out Titch. He wins the ball but doesn’t have the skills or awareness to play the way we want to. Better off playing Ward, Worpel and Shiels.

That free to Butler against Moore for tunneling the legs was tragic! One of the worse decisions I’ve ever seen.
I don't get this at all. That's exactly what the rule is for.

If Butler does a ankle or knee when Moore takes his legs, we'd have been ropable.

Maginness had 32 disposals and 3 scoring shots in the VFL today. Surely he comes in next week for Shiels?
We played North.

Lewis, Newk (2nd half), Morrison, CJ, Jeeves and Reeves, Macca - thought were all great. More time = more polish = look out!

Very glad to have a ruck back!

Impey, Bramble not so much 🤔Time for a spell (in addition to the bye).

Yeah, was thinking that was the stupidest comment I’ve seen on here today…
He has a thing for Reeves because his mate has to hand his account in when Ned plays 30 games. 😂

With 4:20 🤭 remaining in the last qtr. Can anyone explain why the free kick was awarded to Henry (coll)? The ball is hurriedly kicked out of our forward line and the ball goes through Henry's hands, CJ pushes off the front of Henry so as to make a move towards the ball. Ump blows whistle, but what's the free for? Killed any advantage or likely possession that we would have gained.
Other than some head scratching decisions by the maggots it was a ripper game in the end.

Loved the fightback , probably should have been a few goals up at 3/4 time and missed costly last 1/4 shots that see us hang on
First half was bottom 4 quality .

Once we get a decent midfield we will be a pretty decent side.
Great to have Reeves back , we look so much better with him there .
Nash and Newcombe are great watch and a physical threat.
Very happy with the young guys progression.

Another one like the Blues that got away

With 4:20 🤭 remaining in the last qtr. Can anyone explain why the free kick was awarded to Henry (coll)? The ball is hurriedly kicked out of our forward line and the ball goes through Henry's hands, CJ pushes off the front of Henry so as to make a move towards the ball. Ump blows whistle, but what's the free for? Killed any advantage or likely possession that we would have gained.
Other than some head scratching decisions by the maggots it was a ripper game in the end.
Just coz…

Umpiring was shit both ways.

The standard of umpiring in the AFL is a disgrace, but we’re not alone in this regard (EPL poor, cricket generally poor).

I’ve heard theories that the speed and complexities of sport in 2022 are just too difficult to umpire to a consistent level, and we’re probably playing a waiting game with technology to catch up and automate it.
Make football umpiring a full-time, professional occupation. It is honestly hilarious that a professional sport has part timers officiating the most difficult sport in the world. Will eliminate so many things we find frustrating as supporters

-25 Inside 50’s. Haven’t won a count all season. Our defence and front half have done quite well considering. Been happening all season long

It’s a reflection on just how bad the midfield is. Having two picks inside the top 25 in this years draft is going to help. Add Ward, Maginness, plus Day will be part of the midfield rotation at some point, there’s room for improvement.

Front on contact - despite not actually making contact in the marking contest.

I don't get this at all. That's exactly what the rule is for.

If Butler does a ankle or knee when Moore takes his legs, we'd have been ropable.
And if the umpire had paid the holding free to Lewis at the top of the square just before then we wouldn’t have to worry about that free. Lewis was held that many time by Moore it was beyond a joke.

Autopsy Round 12, 2022: Hawks pipped by Magpies