Autopsy Round 16, 2021: Collingwood v St.Kilda

Jack Steele is the new Lenny, 14 tackles along with 36 possessions, 8 clearances and 3 goal assists, a great captain's knock.

Inspirational.

AFL+Rd+2+St+Kilda+v+Melbourne+Ph_0kWng6v3x.jpg
Had 11 tackles at 1/2 time. He dropped off as well.

They seem scarred by that Crows loss. No lead feels particularly safe. When the tide turns against they go to water. With that said I'm not overly upset because we would have needed luck to reel back in that sort of % anyway. If we make finals through wins it will be an epic effort. Its going be a great end to the season to watch.

Would anyone be comfortable if we were 10 goals up at 3/4 time in a GF.
I’d personally still be shitting myself.
These are the risks you take to call yourself a legend in the game. I took a risk, it paid off. I am now a legend.

Dunstan since he came back into the side averaging:

27 touches
12 contested
7.4 tackles
7.4 clearances
6.4 inside 50s

Not sure I've seen a bigger turnaround.

I came in late so could already have ben pointed out but probably Hill's best game in our colours. A couple of errors but overall played a fantastic game with heaps of run and offering options to team mates. Exactly what we thought we'd get from him.

Byrnes again made some errors but can't fault his energy and second efforts.

Dmac is a soldier, plays with heart and energy, good solid game.

Paddy and Marshall make our mids look good but really the addition of Crouch and Dunstan makes Steele better. They win contests out of the middle, something we haven't had for years. Byrnes didn't look disgraced either when he got a run.

Wood is always one on my hit list but I liked his game again. He's not flash but he gets to good spots and is quite reliable- something that he never could have claimed until the year.

Butler was overall disappointing but actually scored so can't complain too much. Similar for Long, a bit more involved but missed shots and made some poor decisions over all not bad though.

Connolly was showing signs again too. Highmore looked okay but didn't't get many touches.

Can only keep 1 who you keeping ?

Billings Dunstan Ross

LOL
Ross kicked a half eaten pie into the forward line in maybe the 3rd quarter. It made me laugh. It just rolled into the 50 so it would register as an 'Inside 50' but I reckon he was just padding his stats.

We're getting back to playing our best footy but it's still in fits and starts, our 3rd quarter was awesome but our last quarter was pathetic.

Need a more consistent effort if we're going to beat Brisbane next week, we need to play at our best for 4 quarters to beat them.

They generally only really try when the game is relatively in the balance.

If we’re up by a lot or down by a lot the cue goes in the rack.

Yeah but there is more complexity to it than that. In basic terms you are right but we need to work out why it's happening.

I don't buy that the players are lazy and don't care.

I bet you gave a fu** when we did the exact same thing against the Crows a couple weeks ago.

I gave a **** that we lost yes.

Not sure what that has to do with how worked up old mate is about George making a thread too early.

They are two completely different things.

I came in late so could already have ben pointed out but probably Hill's best game in our colours. A couple of errors but overall played a fantastic game with heaps of run and offering options to team mates. Exactly what we thought we'd get from him.

Byrnes again made some errors but can't fault his energy and second efforts.

Dmac is a soldier, plays with heart and energy, good solid game.

Paddy and Marshall make our mids look good but really the addition of Crouch and Dunstan makes Steele better. They win contests out of the middle, something we haven't had for years. Byrnes didn't look disgraced either when he got a run.

Wood is always one on my hit list but I liked his game again. He's not flash but he gets to good spots and is quite reliable- something that he never could have claimed until the year.

Butler was overall disappointing but actually scored so can't complain too much. Similar for Long, a bit more involved but missed shots and made some poor decisions over all not bad though.

Connolly was showing signs again too. Highmore looked okay but didn't't get many touches.

Time to let Connolly loose on ball

I gave a fu** that we lost yes.

Not sure what that has to do with how worked up old mate is about George making a thread too early.

They are two completely different things.
Mowman

Autopsy Round 16, 2021: Collingwood v St.Kilda