Review Round 18, 2022 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against GWS?

Probably one of Hugh’s best games Eva today.

He really benefited from the change in the M/F mix today where he was able to get to the outside more often . And wasn't marked when he went forward like the last few games.

Maybe GWS were a bit lazy with their matchups .There didn't seem to be much thought into locking down our most damaging players.

Any other players you'd like to pick out one piece of play and have a crack at ? Or talk about their deficiencies ? He comes out ,puts his body on the line , really gives us a spark we've been lacking and you want to knock him.

As for the staging bit this is the AFL . We've changed all the rules ,the head is sacrosanct ,the biggest stagers in the game are most of the key forwards.

His 'known' deficiencies will never be 'fixed' in your view. But he can do a job for us which might stop us losing games.
I was asked for specific instances. So I provided one. Now I shouldn't pick out one piece of play?

Of course Matho was under the microscope this game- it's been a major talking point. You're surprised I (along with everyone else) commented on it? And I gave him a knock as well as repeatedly labelling his stoppage work 'excellent' and noting that he deserved to keep his spot. He has positives and negatives. I listed both. Like Robbo, you get the good but you also get the bad.

Staging- I don't care who most of them are. I don't want our players doing it. It's a blight on the game. I know it's the AFL interpretation, but it's the player action, so both get the blame.

And sure, if you really want I'll discuss other player negatives too. I already lumped Joe in my list of annoying divers, and he was terrible at it today. Appealed for more frees than he took marks. Lyons is out of form. Sharp needs more time in the 2s, and has to learn how to use his pace in a match. Bailey needs to work through this patch and impact the game. Is that better?

Went to fend off when getting tackled near the boundary. Was a bit high and with the forearm I think.

I dont think there was much in it, but as a non-big name off broadway I also wouldn't be surprised if he got cited
Reported on Ch7 Kelly has concussion so Ah Chee will go.

It was a good game today and the effort across the field was very noticable. We seemed to almost play like our 2020 team where we moved from contest to contest, won the midfield battle, consequently the inside 50 count and just setup defensively to not allow any exits from our forward 50. It was a blanketing display that has really been missing all year.

When it came to player performances, it was clear Matho on the ground in the middle was making a massive difference to our mix, and he did a great job winning the ball in close and delivering for our clearances. There was a number of contests where his quick inside work out to Robbo easily won us a clearance, which I thought could of been from their connection of reserves games. You do want a bit of more composure from that position then what Robbo has at times, but his endeavour was great to see.

Noting our clear outs and their replacements, Cockatoo seems to be playing the other Rich role at the moment off half back and he has looked okay going forward and been solid defensively, but did get out positioned a few times in transition tracking back. Looks an interesting option in that part of the field though.

Wing wise I think it was evident today how hard Ah Chee is along that wing and how important he is. I thought he had a noticable game covering the ground to defend.

I though Sharp looked a bit rushed at times when he has possession, but his running capacity really allows him to just be involved in the game alot longer then other players, and in time could really build into a very good player, however he isn't there yet.

Another shout-out for Coleman who really is our POD and big hope for September. I won't be surprised to see teams put serious work into him over the finals series.

Payne was one who's intensity I thought wasn't there today. I hate the phrase "plays like Jane" that gets added to him, but I agree with the sentiment of him needing to use his size and strength more effectively.

Overall it's hard to drop players from the team on a big win, but adding a J Berry for Robbo, Prior for Sharp, Adams for Payne, Rich for Cockatoo and then squeezing Zorko back in (for Lyons If I was picking) will give us a team that is capable of shaking up September, even if we will be underdogs.

Big ups also the our defensive unit who did a great job killing the play at all costs. Gardiner and Andrews were spoiling everything all day.

Ultimately, it was just good to see us play like a top 4 team and actually control a game from pretty much start to finish against a mid table club like the Giants who still have solid strengths to their game we just completely denied. Bring that effort for the final month and I just might start to believe again.

Some good performances from a few blokes but another disappointing outing from Joe Daniher and Zac Bailey. Our big forwards really need to click soon.

I quite liked Cockatoos game today
Not sure how they did not register one single tackle on his stat sheet.
If Rich returns next week someone has to go
Will it be Cockatoo or Answerth to go?

Sharp will be overlooked next week so that makes way for Prior to return

Good win after last weeks loss
Now we need to break that W/L record that has prevailed for the last 9 games since the Adelaide win
W, L, W, L, W, L, W, L, W
Now for the Suns next week surely we can break the sequence
I liked Nakias game in the backs after him spending the last quarter there last week. Hasn't impressed me playing elsewhere so it might be his future with us. Has a bigger body that he was able to use and distributes reasonably well.

I’ve been watching Lyons for awhile now. He gets a lot of his disposals getting handball receives especially off of the ruckman. I don’t think it should be a Lyons v Matho debate. A midfield is made up of many parts and the inclusion of Matho as others have stated is that it possibly allowed Hugh to play just that little bit more outside. Matho brought a harder edge that is for sure. This also allowed Neale to not have to be the sole extractor of the ball. Good thing is that is does send a message hopefully to Lyons and also the likes of Dev

Anyone here saying that Matho got cheap free kicks needs to turn the commentary off and watch it for yourselves. He just plain put his head over the ball and went for it. It upsets me a fair bit because I do believe that the original head high tackle over the shoulder does not get paid anymore because of how clever players are. They used to protect the man going for the ball and yesterday some of Mathis free kicks was because of that. The harder you go for the ball than the opposition the more likely you will to get a free kick.

Major concerns around Sharp. Berry to hopefully come in for him next week. Poor Bailey is in a bad patch, not sure how he gets out of it. Maybe play as a high-half forward to get more up the field.

I think Hipwood is making slow progress but it is visible, by the time finals come around he will be ready to perform at his best.
Great to see Darcy Gardiner fresh and fit yesterday as well. If he can stay there it will be great for the upcoming finals as well.

I think Hipwood is making slow progress but it is visible, by the time finals come around he will be ready to perform at his best.
I assume you weren't at the ground as I cannot agree with your assessment based on what I saw at the ground yesterday. He applied zero pressure to his opponent and the game. The one great thing is he finally took a contested mark, something that has been absent from his play since his return.

Have a look at the Giants' second goal in the second quarter (I think it is this one). It was obvious at the ground that Eric ran past the contest rather than put his body over the ball. A bloke his size should have a physical presence. Matho's major addition to our team was a hard edge. Notice Matho got the off the play free as he 'bruised' so many with crunching tackles.

But let's hope you are correct, and I still have hope, as we still have many weeks to go. His up side, the Eric pre-injury, has to come back. However I would prefer the Big O as a permanent forward rather than Hipwood at the moment.

Lyons is in a similar boat. For the last two years he has been a gun but at the moment he isn't worth his place. I want him back in form, not in the twos but with Berry and Zorks to came back, time is running out.

These injuries may have a silver lining as it has forced Fages to throw the side around a bit, the absence of is a constant criticism of several in this forum. Matho is an obvious one but several have commented on Cookatoo who played the best game I have seen from him. Payne was OK as well. Without these injuries none of these three would have got a game.

One last thing: Matho was still hard at it at the end. All this talk about his 'tank' can be safely canned. You all are on notice. Tank talk is canned.

What's happened with Bailey? He must have some sort of injury I guess.

He is seriously out of form, has been for probably 6 weeks now (save for the H&S week he missed); coinciding with us losing more games than we've won in that period of time. Some might say he's played 'out of position' but not sure about that. He gives away frees, gets pinged for holding the ball quite regularly. He's bordering on being a liability at the moment. Electric when he's on song, I hope he turns it around very quickly.

He had more kicks than handballs. His handballs were fine- not excellent. Lachie's were excellent. Matho had some fine, some less so. Matho put Hugh into immediate trouble with a dumb handball. Hugh gave it straight back to Matho, who then... bombed it long.

Staging- I am not picking on Matho for this. I'm picking on Matho, Daniher, Ginnivan, and plenty of others. But he played for a fair few, and I hate it. People say it's within the rules- no, it isn't. Exaggerating contact to affect umpires decision making is illegal. If you play for a free rather than the ball, you should miss a week. If the EPL cracked down on that, I'd watch soccer again. AFL is going the wrong direction. If they were serious about policing it rather than "you took half a step on the mark- 50m", players would stop doing it.

Again, I reckon he keeps his spot. He played well. His clearance work was excellent. But I am still concerned about known deficiencies, which I didn't see as fixed.
It does not matter how great/good you are, there is always somebody that will criticise you. I have often seen posts on this site where their are a few people who do. Every player I have seen, they have some deficiency in their game - even champions of the game do. Tommy Hafey told me this that some players have exceptional abilities in their game which counteract the deficiencies. You have issues with Matho - Yes he does have issues in his game but he is not the only one. What he did was what I have been wanting to see all season - Grunt, Passion, In and Under, Strength and Accountability - a Great effort. Years ago, I sent a message to the club to get Joel Selwood in the draft - I got no reply. What a Champion at Geelong he has been - he has had his deficiencies but what a great player and leader. I see that you were a Soccer fan - what did you say when a soccer player hardly got a tap on their leg and they would go down on the ground acting as though they had several breaks in their leg. Come on, Matho gives his best at all times and if he can gain an advantage for his team I am more than happy for him to push the boundaries. We need our side to stand strong and not seen as a soft touch.

I assume you weren't at the ground as I cannot agree with your assessment based on what I saw at the ground yesterday. He applied zero pressure to his opponent and the game. The one great thing is he finally took a contested mark, something that has been absent from his play since his return.

Have a look at the Giants' second goal in the second quarter (I think it is this one). It was obvious at the ground that Eric ran past the contest rather than put his body over the ball. A bloke his size should have a physical presence. Matho's major addition to our team was a hard edge. Notice Matho got the off the play free as he 'bruised' so many with crunching tackles.

But let's hope you are correct, and I still have hope, as we still have many weeks to go. His up side, the Eric pre-injury, has to come back. However I would prefer the Big O as a permanent forward rather than Hipwood at the moment.

Lyons is in a similar boat. For the last two years he has been a gun but at the moment he isn't worth his place. I want him back in form, not in the twos but with Berry and Zorks to came back, time is running out.

These injuries may have a silver lining as it has forced Fages to throw the side around a bit, the absence of is a constant criticism of several in this forum. Matho is an obvious one but several have commented on Cookatoo who played the best game I have seen from him. Payne was OK as well. Without these injuries none of these three would have got a game.

One last thing: Matho was still hard at it at the end. All this talk about his 'tank' can be safely canned. You all are on notice. Tank talk is canned.

Matho only had 69% TOG. So no tank talk is not canned

I'd say Matho has improved his tank but he has come from a low base, he is never going to be an elite endurance player, he physically can not give anymore than he does, he runs to the point of exhaustion.

This is a review going on the footyalmanac

Going to the footy is a ritual that we all know about. It’s a bit like going to mass in another country (sorry you non micks). You cannot understand the language, but you know what is going on. Forward entries are forward entries, and the consecration is the consecration.

And so it was yesterday in Canberra. The relatives arrive. This time from Melbourne and Sydney to met for lunch and then to the ground. The ground is a very ramshackle affair. It’s ugly really, but the real problem was looking into the sun. Imagine going to Canberra to watch a game of footy and suffering like you do at the Suns games. I had my 45 year old beanie on but I needed a cap.

It was hard to see the other side of the ground.

The game opened ominously with the Giants winning the first four Leith Matthews stats. He would always hand the ball back to the umps at a ball up. He was at the bottom of the pack with the ball. The only ever Brissie played who came close to Matthews in this regard was Black. So at ball ups they were handing the ball back to the umps, meaning they were first in and getting their hands on the ball. Given the Lions midfield woes I was worried. The Giants scored first despite kicking into a couple of goals breeze and I was even more worried.

There was no reason to worry though as the Lions dominated the first half without dominating the scoreboard and there was one reason that the Giants were only seven points down at half time. Toby Green was by far the most influential player on the ground. The few times the Giants went forward he imposed himself on the game and as a lover of footy it was great to see a star starring but Starcs, “Get closer to him”.

The second half was a cake walk as the Lions thrashed the Giants and only late goals gave the Giants score board relief.

Hogan, who got two of those late goals, was owned by Andrews, who showed how much the Lions missed him last week. Gardner was very good seeing it was his first game back and let’s hope there is no more injuries coming to him. Matho showed that getting forty disposals every second week in the reserves means you probably will do well in the Ones . Darcy Fort dominated the centre square, hunting the ground ball like a rover. McStay and Robbo were great in the first half and Kiddy Coleman was pure silk gliding off the back flank.

There is an interesting contrast between Coleman and Rich. Rich is your souped up fighter jet with enormous fire power while Kiddy is a stealth fighter who destroys you silently. Teams are going to have to put time into Kiddy.

However, there was one player who stood above them all and that was Hugh McCluggage, who had a million possessions, most of them effective and kicked as many goals as Green. No more need be said.

The Kingston hotel next to the ground was booked out so it was pizzas at the son’s place, a bottle of Wynns Black label 2016 and watching North pull off the steal of the round. I take out North memberships every year so it was a derrinalphil day to remember.

Go Lions (and North)

Great to see Darcy Gardiner fresh and fit yesterday as well. If he can stay there it will be great for the upcoming finals as well.

Fresh, fit and cranky.

That boy is super cranky every time he plays. Love it.

we got pantsed by this team in the midfield on our own home ground not so long ago in probably the worst midfield performance this year in the first quarter (either that or essendon first quarter). coniglio in particular has been one of the form players of the comp over the last 6 weeks, but the collective giants midfield are their strong point as a team

we embarassed them in the midfield today in an away game, getting double the amount of clearances whilst losing hit outs. was happy to see handballs used more and out ball movement was great. but more importantly to me we did it whilst neale copped a fair bit of attention. getting tagged more and more as teams have come to the belief (probably correct before today) that we are really neale or nothing. whether matho is a long term fix to the midfield is up for debate, but having him in there feeding out to clug made him look that much more potent - just like at melbourne you can shut down one but not the other, im hoping clug and neale can become that formidable for finals, and maybe matho allows for it

taylor and greene were the two pillars who stopped this from being an absolute blowout. taylor in particular is an incredible defender

Bailey had 5 frees against yesterday and averages 2 against over the season. Runs himself into trouble too often.

Wonder if we put him more on the wing and JBerry on ball
Where Bailey used to find gaps he now runs into trouble . The other issue is that when he gets pinged or loses possession he doesn't follow up trying to chase the opposition down or run to put pressure on those who'll potentially link up in the chain. It was a big problem against Essendon.

I suppose the only answer is to get him in the play more and hope he finds form. Not that that's worked when we've put him in the M/F this year.

What's happened with Bailey? He must have some sort of injury I guess.
He is seriously out of form, has been for probably 6 weeks now (save for the H&S week he missed); coinciding with us losing more games than we've won in that period of time. Some might say he's played 'out of position' but not sure about that. He gives away frees, gets pinged for holding the ball quite regularly. He's bordering on being a liability at the moment. Electric when he's on song, I hope he turns it around very quickly.

He definately has been out of sorts which is unusual so I'm wondering whether he's had a longer version of Covid, perhaps building up to it without knowing.

Reason for this thought is that, on reflection, before mum was diagnosed with Covid she had been a bit "off" for a few weeks then she got it but it was still a week before it showed positive on a PCR. Too late for mum unfortunately.

Its a weird virus and in so many varients. It seems to affect people in so many different ways and length of time. Maybe Zac is one of them.

Just a thought as there has to be a reason for his drop off of form..

Review Round 18, 2022 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions