Review Round 21, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Carlton

Who were your five best players against Carlton?

Good performance, not concerned about Joe. Weitering is a good player and the advantage of the 3 tall setup is you take away a best defender to free up other forwards. McStay benefitted from that tonight, and Hipwood is also building nicely.

Feel like it was a bit of self preservation in the last. Saints will still be a tough game so will await the injury report.

Good performance, not concerned about Joe. Weitering is a good player and the advantage of the 3 tall setup is you take away a best defender to free up other forwards. McStay benefitted from that tonight, and Hipwood is also building nicely.

Feel like it was a bit of self preservation in the last. Saints will still be a tough game so will await the injury report.
I thought Joe did a good job today in running weitering up the ground and making things a lot easier for McStay and Hipwood.

That was a team first effort by Joe.

Great effort and performance for three quarters. That last quarter was worse than the second half against Richmond. The amount of silly plays and lack of composure to go with lazy running was unbelievable at times. Still can’t believe it. But anyway. Bank the 4 points, take the positives and move onto the next big challenge.

Mentally I'm moving on to next week already. A game we need to win convincingly.

Still seething over Cripps dog act. Against one of the most fearless and fairest players in the game in Cal. Shame on him.
going to enjoy watching that campaigner see his team miss finals from the sideline

people can pot zorko's leadership for doing dumb bullshit

he wouldnt get himself suspended as captain with finals on the line like that flog

Yep, in a game where % is irrelevant. Imagine if we miss top 4 by a couple goals.

% is irrelevant - we need to win our next two to make top four. If we're relying on results to go our way to limp into the four, I honestly don't think we'd deserve the spot.

The fourth was shit but it is very easy to empathize and understand why we dropped our pressure. We did get a little scare but we then got the final three of the game to put it out of reach and a valuable lesson for both players and coach. We gained 4 points and a valuable lesson heading into finals.

we need to master the art of running down the clock and arresting momentum. some of our players great at it (rayner) others show very low footy iq in those circumstances

hard to pick votes

neale, big o, bailey, McStay

tough choice between Gardiner and Andrews for my final vote. gave it to Gardiner
No Matho? WOW rye.

The fourth was s**t but it is very easy to empathize and understand why we dropped our pressure. We did get a little scare but we then got the final three of the game to put it out of reach and a valuable lesson for both players and coach. We gained 4 points and a valuable lesson heading into finals.
On reflection I reckon we mentally turned off knowing that we had a 5 day turnaround.

And totally lost the momentum.

Hopefully learnt a lesson. If you're looking for a rest it's not much use stopping running because it can bite you on the backside.

No Matho? WOW rye.
curnow and mckay were very well handled by our tall backs and i think that needs to be acknowledged :roflv1:

could honestly put a blanket over 7-8 players after big o and bailey and be pretty happy with giving them a vote. matho included

% is irrelevant - we need to win our next two to make top four. If we're relying on results to go our way to limp into the four, I honestly don't think we'd deserve the spot.
I wouldn't say it's irrelevant.

If the Lions & Swans win their last two games, there will be a 3 way tie for second, percentage will be the difference.

Tin helmet on, but I don't think Cripps will miss games. His eyes were on the ball. Yeah, it was clumsy which made it look worse and unfortunately ah chee was collateral damage.
You'll need the tin helmet.

He charged him ,jumped in the air and collected him in the head. Then gave him another one in the head for good measure when he hit the ground.

He had no intention of getting the ball.

Thought we could have used Fort as the sub when Ah chee went off

;)
i can just smell the imaginary melts. We lose a runner, bring in a ruck, then the opposition brings in a runner late and claws back the lead.

surely that could never happen... ;)

one might say that was a master class in coaching by Fages in not having fort as the sub

almost... the match winning plan? :p

I wouldn't say it's irrelevant.

If the Lions & Swans win their last two games, there will be a 3 way tie for second, percentage will be the difference.

We'd be above Collingwood in that scenario.

Edit: I should add I think we could beat all teams week one of finals regardless if it's at home or away. Top two would be very nice, but imo I don't think it's the be all and end all, especially if we're going to be a genuine contender.

We'd be above Collingwood in that scenario.
Well I'm assuming Collingwood beats Carlton and loses to Sydney, in this scenario.

So all 3 would be tied and if we're behind Sydney on percentage, we'd finished 3rd.

Was a win. Bailey was great (highlights how much we missed him last week and Starc). Big O was outstanding. Charlies fwd pressure was very good. Andrews much better today. Daniher missing again, his fwd pressure is abysmal. Lachie had a good game but his clangers cost at least 4 goals.
5 day turnaround to the Sainters. AhChee will be missed and Adams possibly too. Keep winning we make the four.
Just need to learn how to have a 4qtr game. That last qtr was very poor and unacceptable in September.
Dans game has Pies fans breathing a sigh of relief.

Well I'm assuming Collingwood beats Carlton and loses to Sydney, in this scenario.

So all 3 would be tied and if we're behind Sydney on percentage, we'd finished 3rd.

Sorry yeah edited my post to clarify why I don't mind third.

Review Round 21, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Carlton