Review Round 23, 2024 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

Going to be weird atmosphere rocking up to the Gabba on Saturday night. Geelong will flog West Coast earlier in the day and need Lions to win for a hope of top 4 waiting for Port Sunday arvo

Sorry but I spent a decade watching finals from the outside. In that time several teams won premierships getting hot at the right time. If you're in it you can win it, and I don't want to go back to the years of futility that it seems like so many want to embrace.
Oh, I'm the same. The years since 2004 were traumatic for all of us. But we're there simply to make up numbers. Our hot streak was 9 wins in a row. They're done now.

Anyway, did the ladder predictor and it's unlikely we miss finals, unfortunately.

The writing was on the wall that we’d lose that the entire match to be honest. The regulation misses in front of goal are so costly and you knew they would be before it had even occurred.

Seriously though what was the free kick count in the 4th quarter? 11-2? We got absolutely reamed by the umpires with the lack of consistency. All one way. Combine that with the commentary barracking for the Pies it made a 1 point loss even harder to stomach than it already is. Lyons high pitched, excitable “this could cost the Lions top 4” in comparison with his deflated “Pies have been so brave, this could be the nail in the coffin” after Charlie’s goal was sickening.

Oh, I'm the same. The years since 2004 were traumatic for all of us. But we're there simply to make up numbers. Our hot streak was 9 wins in a row. They're done now.

Anyway, did the ladder predictor and it's unlikely we miss finals, unfortunately.
I don't think you're the same simply because you're hoping our season ends next week.

Freaking Bailey.
He hasn't looked like a first team player since he came back. It feels like he gets pinged holding the ball at least once every game. His lack of game awareness and confidence is actually a microcosm for the wider group.

Sorry
No way we got our frees they got there’s
We screwed it up
It was like watching the grand final again
Too many times we wasted the football

Anyone with multiple brain cells knows that two things can be true…we missed chance AND the umpiring was disgusting!

Emotions aside, which are pretty much at low levels. We just aren't coached well on game day.

I've seen far too many games now where we get mowed down. Maybe that's conditioning as well. We start so well and the way we manage these games is just awful. It's almost like we go into QT and the boys are told to slow it down and cool off. Like what, we just smashed the oppo by playing fast flowing footy and then revert back to kick around and let them set up and pick us off?

I love Fagan, aboslutely think what he has done for the club is next level, along with a few others. I've been quite open about my desires to see a succession plan put in place as I don't want him sacked but the club is just not fair dinkum if they're not even remotely considering it/planning it. You cannot extend him at this point, his age alone is catching up and we don't want to look at Port/Hinkley and see how things can get even worse with time between fanbase/coach.

Our winning streak papered over a few cracks, although I don't believe the dam wall has blown open. Arguably should have beat the Giants & Pies, didn't. On-field we wasted our chances against the Giants and off-field we were outplayed/managed by McRae & co.

Ultimately I still think we can do damage come finals, but I just don't trust this team anymore. I see our fast starting 1st quarters and I don't bite anymore, I know that any lead we obtain is easily erased. Very mentally weak and just lack the ability to stop the rot. I do apologise for the negativeness in this assessment but there is little positive to say this week. I hope this also doesn't come across as a "sack Fages" kinda post because it is not. I still think he can coach out next year as his last year, with a succession plan in place for 2026, I hope.

It's the multiple misses in front of goal that are the killer here. Our forward just need to be better than that.

The other call out for us is our lack of selfless players in the forward line. When running into goal. When there is a rolled gold opportunity for a goal, most of our forward line players will go with the 85% chance (I.e. take the shot themselves) rather than pass it off to a team mate to make it a 100% chance of a goal. Won't happen but somehow I hope our forward line becomes more selfless next year.

We butchered chances no doubt but the free kick spree in the final 3 minutes was something Tim Donaghy would have been proud of…utter bs

You literally could see the officiating approach change once the Pies got in front.

The black and white team and the yellow team but switched to their shutdown mode.

Upon calming down, it is what it is. We really need to put anyone on ice that needs it next week, we looked pretty banged up there. Unlikely we finish top four now but we aren't likely to miss finals. So if result go our way tonight and tomorrow to ensure we can't miss finals, just treat next game as a training run for some of the depth and just give the banged up guys two weeks off and hope it freshens them up for a run from 7th or 8th.

Not looking forward to facing Hawthorn though.

Lol the sack the coach bois have come out of their grottos

Here We Go Eye Roll GIF

Review Round 23, 2024 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions