Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

Because I expect us to be right up there challenging Melbourne, and right now I can’t see it happening.

I haven’t been to a live game this year, so it’s hard to make a full observation, but I can’t say that I can identify a style of play for us, except for when we go back to kicking it down the line, because whatever else we’re trying to do keeps breaking down each week.

However, unlike previous year’s, we’re not the dominant stoppage team we used to be, to keep going back to playing it down the line.

I don’t know why, but we find it really hard at times to move the ball downfield from a turnover. Unless our players are in acres of space.
We don't need to beat Melbourne now. We need to beat them in September. All we need to do now is win games to get us a primo spot on the ladder.

WE dont need to beat Melbourne now. We need to beat them, in September. All we need to do now is win games to get us a primo spot on the ladder.

Although I'm thinking of flying down for the game in July so then would be good too 😎

WE dont need to beat Melbourne now. We need to beat them, in September. All we need to do now is win games to get us a primo spot on the ladder.
Honestly I understand this.

But to my eye, it looks like we’re playing worse than the previous two seasons, and for a team that I believe has this season and next season to win a premiership, before dropping off, this is rather concerning.

I do get that but I honestly do think we’re trying a couple different things so far this season. Naturally a new mid coach will do that but with positional/personnel changes and I do think we’ve tried to change a few angles in transition a bit more than in the last couple seasons. Defensively we’ve still got issues in transition and in the middle but I’m hoping those are still teething issues with the new set ups and players in there. Time will tell.

Opinions aren’t facts just an fyi.

You’ve stated the same thing as a fact multiple times and claimed the umpire made an assumption when this isn’t a grey area of the rules.

It’s a clear 50 and you doubled down with another example which just proved you don’t know what you’re talking about.
Your one fact were some rules that i quoted back to you. I note you didn’t refer to another part of them for some more facts.

AFL is mostly grey area for umpires. That’s why so many decisions are contested. Ah Chee could be in the protected area with sidebottom, but not without him. At what point had sidebottom left him? When he was 1m away? 3m? 5m? Or is it measured in seconds?

Anyway i blame me for bothering to get into an argument on a friday night with the sort of bloke who says ‘just an fyi’.

I think i’ll log out for a while.

Sorry for the feed pollution to the rest of you and go lions.

Was perplexed by the talk of weeks here and elsewhere, there is no precedent for weeks with that action.

I was thinking it would be a fine or a week, with additional loading for touching a Daicos.

Gary Lyon on Fox tonight suggested that while Gardiner’s act looked bad to the eye, Cox’s knee to Starcevich’s spine was far more dangerous and likely to cause serious injury.

I do agree but to be honest I would rather what Gardiner and Cox did get a week than what Robbo did in round 1.

Yeah it’s just the wheel chair/neck/concussion stuff that leads to Robbos and similar actions being a week.

Perhaps that late/back hit does need to be a week, but a new precedent would need to be set.

TBH the worst penalty of them all in the 50m pen. Often the strikes, sling tackles, bumps arnt even cited in game or are called incorrectly, for me - justice was done on the night in some ways.

So just to confirm.
As a comparative, Our 4-1 start this year, we are playing worse footy than our 2-3 start last year?

So just to confirm.
As a comparative, Our 4-1 start this year, we are playing worse footy than our 2-3 start last year?

Yes. Last year we beat superstar teams such as Essendon and Collingwood meanwhile this year we've beaten....oh nevermind.

I totally get the anxiety about a repeat of the last 3 years in Finals.

No matter what happens we won’t know how we’ll play in September until September.

We can look into the signs and read the tea leaves but the reality is we’ll probably track the same way as most teams do, we’ll get better as the year goes on and try to enter finals primed and ready to go. In all honesty I think we fall short again but we can’t know that until it happens.

I’m not saying don’t talk about it or worry about it. I do think it’s worth trying to enjoy what’s happening right now if possible. It won’t last forever.

Yeah it’s just the wheel chair/neck/concussion stuff that leads to Robbos and similar actions being a week.

Perhaps that late/back hit does need to be a week, but a new precedent would need to be set.

TBH the worst penalty of them all in the 50m pen. Often the strikes, sling tackles, bumps arnt even cited in game or are called incorrectly, for me - justice was done on the night in some ways.
Honestly I think they all have the same potential to cause the same injuries, the difference is Duursma had the chance to approach the ball properly and protect himself. Daicos and Starce had no choice or control over that situation.

I totally get the anxiety about a repeat of the last 3 years in Finals.

No matter what happens we won’t know how we’ll play in September until September.

We can look into the signs and read the tea leaves but the reality is we’ll probably track the same way as most teams do, we’ll get better as the year goes on and try to enter finals primed and ready to go. In all honesty I think we fall short again but we can’t know that until it happens.

I’m not saying don’t talk about it or worry about it. I do think it’s worth trying to enjoy what’s happening right now if possible. It won’t last forever.

2019 was my favourite season as a supporter - I was in late primary school-early high school in the three peat so didn't really appreciate how rare winning can be. A season when you can just enjoy the ride and wins and not have any expectations or worries about winning a flag was just the best.

It's worth remembering how bad some of those years in the dark decade were and taking that perspective into watching games. #Flagculture is one of the worst things in the sport right now imo, and having a good team that fails to win a flag (as 17/18 teams each year fail to do) shouldn't be seen as such a negative.

I see Fagan more of a serious consistent face this season which makes me think he is very concerned something is wrong/not working .
That mate, is simply the weight of expectation.

We are starting to run out of easy excuses for not getting the job done.

Fages growth will mirror the teams, this is new territory for all of them, they're learning as they go

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Can I just summarise last nights performance?

Same old really. Unsighted for 10 minutes at a time, takes a mark kicks a goal from down town. Brilliant, the commentators go wild, then ruins the next 2 forward entries. refuses to pass the ball cause he thinks he can kick it 70 meters, misses. Refuses to tackle....etc

in the meantime Ah Che or linc bust their nuts at EVERY contest to get the ball to their team mate.

he's been like this his whole career.
4e3e54d8ecb1bedfae8ac2ee454d821bfcd8a3b868904008181afd7ae0af8b99.jpg

Same old really. Unsighted for 10 minutes at a time, takes a mark kicks a goal from down town. Brilliant, the commentators go wild, then ruins the next 2 forward entries. refuses to pass the ball cause he thinks he can kick it 70 meters, misses. Refuses to tackle....etc
I think you just summarised every key forward that's every lived except a lot of them can't kick 70 metres. Joe is not the problem, the problem is that we're not giving enough chances to Joe he's the key forward his job is to kick goals not run after halfbacks.

I think we could put Neale and Lyons back in the middle to get more of the same. We've found that it doesn't take us that one step further in September. We need Rayner, Berry and Bailey types in the middle to provide crash and dash. Fort tapping down will need some adjustment as well. I think its going to take time so they better experiment the combinations now. We're doing enough to win anyway so fingers crossed we gel better in the second half.

I think you just summarised every key forward that's every lived except a lot of them can't kick 70 metres. Joe is not the problem, the problem is that we're not giving enough chances to Joe he's the key forward his job is to kick goals not run after halfbacks.
After 10 years of senior football his craft as a forward and as a footballer in general is poor. To not chase is unacceptable for a pro player, not to pressure also unacceptable. He's a guy that only works hard when there's the possibility of doing something heroic and specky. And that what gets my goat about him. He's one of the most talented players in the league and he can't or won't do the basic things that an average amateur would do. Most people on this site seem happy for him to do his 2 heroic things per game but seem to forget about the 6 times that he totally blows it.

sad

After 10 years of senior football his craft as a forward and as a footballer in general is poor. To not chase is unacceptable for a pro player, not to pressure also unacceptable. He's a guy that only works hard when there's the possibility of doing something heroic and specky. And that what gets my goat about him. He's one of the most talented players in the league and he can't or won't do the basic things that an average amateur would do. Most people on this site seem happy for him to do his 2 heroic things per game but seem to forget about the 6 times that he totally blows it.

sad

You picked a really bad game to go after Joe.

Sad.

Take Neale or Daniher out and we lose that game.

I think you are inflating our previous form. Right now, we're not playing as well as our best footy over the past two years. But within those seasons, we played some pretty average football, probably worse than our current form. The footy we are playing right now is better than our worst but not as good as our best. It is consistent B-/C+ footy as compared to our best. But it is probably a solid B or B+ overall, when compared to the rest of the comp.

There is another team right now having a similar start to the year. I heard it described the other day that Melbourne are playing at 70% of their best. I reckon that's about where we are too.

The one key difference is that Melbourne know their side can play league best footy and win a flag and we don't know if we can reach the same heights. But that's the case for 17 clubs every year.

It is the lot of the challenger to have uncertainty. In 2001, despite being clearly the best side for a half of a season, I still thought the great Essendon side would be too good for us when it counted in the GF. That one day meant 2002 was a year of confidence, knowing our best was the best.

I'm not saying that we will definitely win a flag with this group but I don't think we have anywhere near enough evidence to suggest that we're in a bad spot. Sure, we need to improve in a lot of ways but I suspect that's exactly how Fages wants it.

If we lose a game we should win, or if we fail to match up against another top 4 side, I think we can get more critical. Right now, the hand wringing just isn't justified.

sad
So what do you want to happen you want fagan to drop Joe? I don't really understand this fairytale mentality of wishing for a different player than the one we have. No matter how much ppl cry he's not gonna change into this hypebeast marathon runner that drops halfbacks like bags of potatoes he's a key forward his job is to kick goals and it's the small forwards' jobs to chase and tackle. I really can't for the life of me think of any key forward in the league that kicks 50+ goals and also runs around like a madman chasing after defenders all game.

You picked a really bad game to go after Joe.

Sad.

Take Neale or Daniher out and we lose that game.
Yes I think I'd agree without Joe we'd probably have lost.....though it's hard to say, but his good game could have been a great game but Joe rarely has great games. The 6 times a game where he totally blows it, ie the missed goal from 30 meters, the attempted 50 meter headhigh pass, the look away failed handball or probably the worst, the non tackle/non chase/ non interest in anything defensive.

Replay the game and just look at the stuff Joe does that's totally b grade.

Your one fact were some rules that i quoted back to you. I note you didn’t refer to another part of them for some more facts.

AFL is mostly grey area for umpires. That’s why so many decisions are contested. Ah Chee could be in the protected area with sidebottom, but not without him. At what point had sidebottom left him? When he was 1m away? 3m? 5m? Or is it measured in seconds?

Anyway i blame me for bothering to get into an argument on a friday night with the sort of bloke who says ‘just an fyi’.

I think i’ll log out for a while.

Sorry for the feed pollution to the rest of you and go lions.
Shame you’re logging out when you’ve shown again a lack of understanding for the rules especially when you’ve taken the time to read them.

Your level of confidence when time and again being wrong is admirable.

I’ve copied and pasted from the laws of the game where it clearly outlines the trailing opposition player needs to be within 2 metres.

This also kills your stupid argument that the umpire should reset the mark in these cases.

“No Player shall enter and remain in the Protected Area unless the field
Umpire calls ‘Play On’ or the Player from the opposing Team is accompanying or following within two metres of their opponent. Any Player caught in the Protected Area must make every endeavour to immediately vacate the Protected Area.”

Really not that hard to understand for most people.

Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood