Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

So what do you want to happen you want fagan to drop Joe? I don't really understand this fairytale mentality of wishing for a different player than the one we have. No matter how much ppl cry he's not gonna change into this hypebeast marathon runner that drops halfbacks like bags of potatoes he's a key forward his job is to kick goals and it's the small forwards' jobs to chase and tackle. I really can't for the life of me think of any key forward in the league that kicks 50+ goals and also runs around like a madman chasing after defenders all game.
Most footballers improve over their careers. I want him to improve. I want him to put away the 2 bob lair Joe and find the consistent Joe, the Joe that does the team thing not the Joe that thinks he can kick it 70 meters.

Look at someone like Jason Ackermanis. Yes a 2 bob lair but his team play could never be questioned. Super skilled, super reliable, tough, hardworking etc.
Joe has only one of those qualities. pure talent. His finals series last year showed what we can expect in the future

Most footballers improve over their careers. I want him to improve. I want him to put away the 2 bob lair Joe and find the consistent Joe, the Joe that does the team thing not the Joe that thinks he can kick it 70 meters.

Look at someone like Jason Ackermanis. Yes a 2 bob lair but his team play could never be questioned. Super skilled, super reliable, tough, hardworking etc.
Joe has only one of those qualities. pure talent. His finals series last year showed what we can expect in the future
You want joe to run around like a brownlow medalist? That's fantasy land.

The funny thing is Joe has actually been very reliable this year in probably the most important factor in the game: kicking goals.

You can talk about any stat you want but if you cant kick goals you can't win the game. Averaging over 3 goals a game is up there with the best averages of all forwards for about the last decade

After 10 years of senior football his craft as a forward and as a footballer in general is poor. To not chase is unacceptable for a pro player, not to pressure also unacceptable. He's a guy that only works hard when there's the possibility of doing something heroic and specky. And that what gets my goat about him. He's one of the most talented players in the league and he can't or won't do the basic things that an average amateur would do. Most people on this site seem happy for him to do his 2 heroic things per game but seem to forget about the 6 times that he totally blows it.

sad

C'mon - even Buddy doesn't chase and put manic pressure.

Joe's leading Coleman and we are winning on the back of him kicking those goals. I'm quite happy with what we've got going presently.

In a world where we didn’t have Daniher:

“Why haven’t we gone after a key tall?McStay isn’t a number 1 target. Our talls are too vanilla. We just don’t have a tall target to bring it ground. No one can take a contested mark inside 50”
Jeez I'm looking forward to Hipwood coming back, obviously not going to expect too much from him too early but he was starting to show some real signs of becoming a gun key forward at the start of last season. Had a few of those 'All the Goals' videos pop up from a couple years ago and he was involved in nearly 40% of goals I reckon.

Good teams win, even if it's ugly. No one inside the club would be happy with how we played, except maybe Joe who seems to be happy no matter what happens (whatever he's on I want some).

We are still a bit on the slow side so early season when the turf is firm and players can run on top of the ground we can get found out, like last year.

Except this year we are 4-1 and can look forward to heavier grounds and tiring youth against our mature bodies.

Give me an average win over an outstanding loss any day of the week.

Loving Joe's season so far, I'd be happy if he was just a 50 goal a year forward this year, but he's tracking better than that.

Kai certainly got my attention, great effort & intensity, was only half a second away from the ball getting to him in goal scoring opportunities on quite a few occasions. I'd be giving him a few more games on the back of that game.

Kiddy comes straight in for mine, as does Hippy. Some fun there for the match committee. Lucky I only get to cast judgement on their mistakes in hindsight rather than do that job. Wouldn't be easy.

The best part of the weekend was reading the headlines of the game. 'Plucky' and 'Brave' were terms that were used to describe us a few years back. Now it's the teams that we beat. :D

You want joe to run around like a brownlow medalist? That's fantasy land.

Newsflash:

Joe kicks 12 straight, lays 14 tackles, has 22 marks and 37 possessions

beardancer is unhappy 'coz Joe didn't chase some chip-scab half back flanker hard enough at the 33 minute mark of the last quarter

Newsflash:

Joe kicks 12 straight, lays 14 tackles, has 22 marks and 37 possessions

beardancer is unhappy 'coz Joe didn't chase some chip-scab half back flanker hard enough at the 33 minute mark of the last quarter
your living in a fairy tale mate. Joe will never kick a bag, never play a 4 quarter game, and definitely never chase anyone.

if you are ok with that, good for you, but I want a real forward. I want the next Lynch, Brown, Bradshaw or Merrett.

your living in a fairy tale mate. Joe will never kick a bag, never play a 4 quarter game, and definitely never chase anyone.

if you are ok with that, good for you, but I want a real forward. I want the next Lynch, Brown, Bradshaw or Merrett.

Personally right now I'd rather the next Gary Ablett Jr. Our forward line is fine.

Edit: or to put it in purely Brisbane terms, I'd rather the next Voss.

Give me an average win over an outstanding loss any day of the week.

Loving Joe's season so far, I'd be happy if he was just a 50 goal a year forward this year, but he's tracking better than that.

Kai certainly got my attention, great effort & intensity, was only half a second away from the ball getting to him in goal scoring opportunities on quite a few occasions. I'd be giving him a few more games on the back of that game.

Kiddy comes straight in for mine, as does Hippy. Some fun there for the match committee. Lucky I only get to cast judgement on their mistakes in hindsight rather than do that job. Wouldn't be easy.

The best part of the weekend was reading the headlines of the game. 'Plucky' and 'Brave' were terms that were used to describe us a few years back. Now it's the teams that we beat. :D

'Plucky' and 'brave' were terms I'd use to describe the umps in this game. They were up against it all night but never gave up trying, bless their hearts

Yeah, none of those forwards you mentioned were chasing down small defenders so I don't know exactly what you want.

Really feel for Harris Andrews - the impact of some of these frees against on him could easily sap the joy out of his footy. Who would want to be a backman and cop the blatant nonsense he has to endure?

I’ve got so many great memories of Bradshaw, Lynch and Roger Merrett going full gazelle mode and desperately gut-running and chasing down and tackling opposition half-back flankers.

Not to mention Plugga who kicked 1000 goals all from desperate chase down tackles and holding the ball frees.

Really frees up your Lewis Taylor types to go forward and take the big contested grabs.

Anyone criticising Joe about chasing and tackling might want to turn their attention to Charlie. As a small forward you would expect that to be an expectation but not our Charlie!

I’ve got so many great memories of Bradshaw, Lynch and Roger Merrett going full gazelle mode and desperately gut-running and chasing down and tackling opposition half-back flankers.

Not to mention Plugga who kicked 1000 goals all from desperate chase down tackles and holding the ball frees.

Really frees up your Lewis Taylor types to go forward and take the big contested grabs.
Yep got it, Forwards over 190 cm don't tackle, they just stand there and wait for a mark:oops:. Don't you remember Lynchy chasing down Shaw stripping him and snapping the goal????????in 2002. Plus Bradshaw and Lynch were noted backmen and Roger was very hard in close.

Just face it mate, when it comes to defensive efforts joe is nowhere.

Yep got it, Forwards over 190 cm don't tackle, they just stand there and wait for a mark:oops:. Don't you remember Lynchy chasing down Shaw stripping him and snapping the goal????????in 2002. Plus Bradshaw and Lynch were noted backmen and Roger was very hard in close.

Do you remember Joe getting a holding the ball free literally 3 days ago?

And no, I don’t remember Lynch chasing down Shaw in 2002.

I remember something in 2003 but it wasn’t quite like you described it. It was more along the lines of Shaw trying to be too clever in selling candy, falling over and fumbling the ball essentially unforced, allowing Lynch to clean up.

Your confirmation bias is distorting your grasp on reality.

Anyone criticising Joe about chasing and tackling might want to turn their attention to Charlie. As a small forward you would expect that to be an expectation but not our Charlie!
It's a shame because Charlie has the traits to be a Cyril Rioli level pressure player ie. his mere presence in the area causes panic.

To reiterate what HK mentioned I distinctly remember a couple of other gut running chases from Joe on Thursday night and posted that I thought he was pretty good with his chasing that night early in this thread.

Do you remember Joe getting a holding the ball free literally 3 days ago?

And no, I don’t remember Lynch chasing down Shaw in 2002.

I remember something in 2003 but it wasn’t quite like you described it. It was more along the lines of Shaw trying to be too clever in selling candy, falling over and fumbling the ball essentially unforced, allowing Lynch to clean up.

Your confirmation bias is distorting your grasp on reality.

It's the new "Lewis Taylor is shit because he can't contested mark". Utterly bizarre.

Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood