Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

3KZ is Football is the king. Not surprised McStay looking to impress
He did send me a nice hamper and a signed jumper in return for my ten year old son’s goal kicking technique videos. Apparently Joe Daniher and McCluggage have shown an interest too. Tape is doing the rounds.

My opinion is easily supported by watching a replay. just focus on Joe. You'll see the poor efforts, poor skill, poor choices.......you'll also see extreme flashes of freakish brilliance. Not acknowledging some of his poor play just makes you a bit of a wishful thinker. That's great, but it's of little value when you need a slightly deeper assessment of a players real worth.

Same could be said of Cyril Rioli, your tin eared attempts at slighting one of our players are ill received exactly because you really don't seem to get that's Joe.

Take it or leave it but don't keep labouring a know issue. Relax and enjoy the ride, if you really are a true Lions supporter then the past few years have been like rain in a desert for you. If not then GTFO.

Same could be said of Cyril Rioli, your tin eared attempts at slighting one of our players are ill received exactly because you really don't seem to get that's Joe.

Take it or leave it but don't keep labouring a know issue. Relax and enjoy the ride, if you really are a true Lions supporter then the past few years have been like rain in a desert for you. If not then GTFO.
Daniher gets more possessions than any other KPF and kicks goals as well.

Every other team would gladly get hold of him if they could.

End of story.

Please, in future DON'T read any of my posts.......easy. No need to try and set yourself up as the arbiter of everything.

Do you have opinions on any other footy topic?

This one person crusade of yours against Joe Daniher is tiresome.

And it's Akermanis, not Ackermanis.

If you're going to attempt to draw a ridiculous equivalence between a key forward in 2022 and an outside midfielder who played is last game for the Lions over 15 seasons ago, at least make an effort to get the spelling of the latter's name correct.

Just watched the second half on replay - jeeze we got ****ed by some umpiring howlers in the fourth. Two goals gifted due to incorrectly paid frees (the Andrews 50 and the Dizzy no attempt call despite his arms being wrapped up and the umpire acknowledging he had no prior) and a woeful advantage call against Ah Chee despite it being no advantage and Ah Chee being corralled by a Pies player (was clear neither player heard the HTB call). Three big umpiring blunders that - if the game were a few goals closer) could have been the difference between 4 points. Absolutely shocking.

Just watched the second half on replay - jeeze we got f’ed by some umpiring howlers in the fourth. Two goals gifted due to incorrectly paid frees (the Andrews 50 and the Dizzy no attempt call despite his arms being wrapped up and the umpire acknowledging he had no prior) and a woeful advantage call against Ah Chee despite it being no advantage and Ah Chee being corralled by a Pies player (was clear neither player heard the HTB call). Three big umpiring blunders that - if the game were a few goals closer) could have been the difference between 4 points. Absolutely shocking.

The umpiring in that game was absolutely appalling.

To be fair, we got few that were puzzling, to say the least.

There were 50 free kicks paid in the game. I was at the game and I swear I had no idea of what half of them were for and nether did anyone else near me.

It was a cases of "PEEP"!!!!!!, hold your breath and see which way the umpire's arm went up.

Hugh got one on the wing after he fell over when being chased by a Pies player. The ball went OOB and Hugh was jogging to position for the ball up. The look of amazement on his face when he realised he got a free for falling over was priceless.

Yet there were several blatant infringements both ways where the umpires evidently suffered a collective case of the Sgt. Schultzes and saw "nothing".

Easily the worst umpired game of AFL I've ever seen live

You and I agree ...It's a "known Issue". Thing is I'm not happy to go ..."that's just Joe".

Do you have opinions on any other footy topic?

This one person crusade of yours against Joe Daniher is tiresome.

And it's Akermanis, not Ackermanis.

If you're going to attempt to draw a ridiculous equivalence between a key forward in 2022 and an outside midfielder who played is last game for the Lions over 15 seasons ago, at least make an effort to get the spelling of the latter's name correct.
OOOps Sorry. I meant Ackermanis sorry :rolleyes:

Just watched the second half on replay - jeeze we got f’ed by some umpiring howlers in the fourth. Two goals gifted due to incorrectly paid frees (the Andrews 50 and the Dizzy no attempt call despite his arms being wrapped up and the umpire acknowledging he had no prior) and a woeful advantage call against Ah Chee despite it being no advantage and Ah Chee being corralled by a Pies player (was clear neither player heard the HTB call). Three big umpiring blunders that - if the game were a few goals closer) could have been the difference between 4 points. Absolutely shocking.
I reckon the dizzy free was pretty fair. I thought Andrews open arms pose was totally not questioning the umpiring call.

No way I could see the Dizzy free as fair, he was grabbed with one arm pinned within a split second of taking possession of the ball, if that is holding the ball they mise well just be done with it and get rid of prior opportunity.

The Harris one I could live with if the umpire perceived it as confrontational... however after the lack of free kicks in following games for similar instances and in hindsight it was a one off ridiculous call.

Jeez I'm looking forward to Hipwood coming back, obviously not going to expect too much from him too early but he was starting to show some real signs of becoming a gun key forward at the start of last season. Had a few of those 'All the Goals' videos pop up from a couple years ago and he was involved in nearly 40% of goals I reckon.

If anything, Hipwood's lead from inside 50 to wing will keep at least one tall defender honest. More space for Daniher, McStay, Charlie and Linc to work inside 50. He'll be a good relief kick target to the wing as well.

I'd like to keep Fort on the bench even if Hipwood returns and put one of our utility/running players as a sub. Makes us too tall but I think a fresh Big O is more value than another runner.

however after the lack of free kicks in following games for similar instances and in hindsight it was a one off ridiculous call.
And in the same game prior. Watching games, players seem to be putting arms out/remonstrating every third or fourth penalty awarded. The only other 50 awarded for this sin has been against Clayton Oliver. The umpires have a whole raft of penalties that they can either choose to "not see" or pull it out if they see fit (this now seemingly is another one they can draw on when it suits them). It just leaves them open to accusations of bias.

Yep, Good for You.
It’s not good for me, or you or anyone else. Mate you have slagged him off ever since he got here. Last year he was just no good in general according to you, now he is killing it and winning us games he is no good because he doesn’t run down tackles back pockets. It’s ridiculous it’s like saying Caleb Daniel needs to start taking contested marks. It’s just weird bias not backed up with any reasonable evidence.

The annoying thing about umpire dissent etc, is the subjectivity dial is turned even more up (imo). Its not even a footballing act.

Is Harris just stretching his arms? is he trying to intimidate me? is he just exasperated? is he sarcastically cheering my shit decision?

I still maintain his one was quite different to the massive majority of other ones we see.

Maybe they should just say if you're still complaining 5 seconds after the whistle is blown it is dissent.

Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood