Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

I had on of the many football panel shows on last night where I wasn't particularly paying attention but apparently this season we've improved from being the 10th best side in transitioning from the defensive 50 to a forward 50 entry to being the first and the argument was that Zorko was the one who was making the difference on that front. I only really saw the graphic so didn't hear the short discussion about it but food for thought in terms of where to play Zorko.
He absolutely is making the difference right now.

Questions on his fitness, defensive attributes and capacities in this role against the better teams are what many here seem to see as the negatives.

Coaches Votes

10 Lachie Neale (BL)
6 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
5 Joe Daniher (BL)
5 Jordan De Goey (COLL)
4 Jack Crisp (COLL)

5 votes for the great Joe Daniher. But what would Chris Fagan and Craig McRae know…

The umpiring in that game was absolutely appalling.

To be fair, we got few that were puzzling, to say the least.

There were 50 free kicks paid in the game. I was at the game and I swear I had no idea of what half of them were for and nether did anyone else near me.

It was a cases of "PEEP"!!!!!!, hold your breath and see which way the umpire's arm went up.

Hugh got one on the wing after he fell over when being chased by a Pies player. The ball went OOB and Hugh was jogging to position for the ball up. The look of amazement on his face when he realised he got a free for falling over was priceless.

Yet there were several blatant infringements both ways where the umpires evidently suffered a collective case of the Sgt. Schultzes and saw "nothing".

Easily the worst umpired game of AFL I've ever seen live
I reckon the AFL has a rules and umpiring standards crisis at the moment. I am even going nuts watching neutral games - it has far too frequently become next to impossible to work out which way the free is going and the inconsistency across games and within games is taking the joy out of watching the game...must be crazy hard for the players as well. The intent of the dissent rule made sense, its interpretation just a nightmare with different umps reacting differently. I can't ever remember it being so bad.

How do full season members put up with the ground chat from the two ladies every week, loud and cringe. They should just slap on some music and be done with it.
Could not agree more with anything that has ever been posted on Big Footy, it's worse than fingernails on a blackboard.

Make some noise.:rolleyes::sick:

How do full season members put up with the ground chat from the two ladies every week, loud and cringe. They should just slap on some music and be done with it.

MAAAAAAAKE SOME NOOOOOISE BRISBANE!

COME ON BRISBANE YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THAT

is there some data somewhere of what song each player has chosen for their goal song?

Daniher - Let it go - Frozen
Bailey - Disturbia by Rhinana
Ah Chee - Teen Spirit - Nirvana
Neale - Run the Road - Santigold
Cameron - Country Road -John Denver
Lyons - You make my dreams - Daryl Hall

Some off my head

I'm over Let it Go, I've watched Frozen with my granddaughter a number times... pick another song Joe OR only play it when you get a holding the ball.

is there some data somewhere of what song each player has chosen for their goal song?
Is it just me or does Charlie’s song go the longest out of all of them?

After Marcus Adam’s first shot at goal my mate and I wondered if he’d even bothered to pick a song and then after he kicked the goal we figure it was just an intern hitting shuffle on apple
Music.

Some off my head
Linc has Jesse's Girl, i think.

Time to bring back mugsy.

Bailey only attended 10 centre bounces against Collingwood. Would certainly like to see him get more time and opportunity there. Rayner too - he only attended two (for two clearances).

The challenge we have is JL not being versatile enough to play other positions - makes it hard to get more on-ball time to guys like Bailey and Rayner (and Cockatoo who didn't attend any in his last game).

How many did Zorks attend? Swear I saw him in a couple later in the game.

I reckon the AFL has a rules and umpiring standards crisis at the moment. I am even going nuts watching neutral games - it has far too frequently become next to impossible to work out which way the free is going and the inconsistency across games and within games is taking the joy out of watching the game...must be crazy hard for the players as well. The intent of the dissent rule made sense, its interpretation just a nightmare with different umps reacting differently. I can't ever remember it being so bad.
After watching Hawks vs Cats today I think there is a good chance next week the man on the mark will get 50 mtrs for shaking his head omgggggg.

MAAAAAAAKE SOME NOOOOOISE BRISBANE!

COME ON BRISBANE YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THAT

"I CAN'T HEAR YOU BRISBANE!!!!!!!!"

To which the thought bubble in my head invariably is:

"If you just shut the f*** up for a while, maybe you could"

I get email surveys from the club now and then about match day experience which somewhere or another asks me what would make it better.

I keep telling them to can the screaming banshee, or at least turn her down to under 50,000 decibels.

I find it insulting that they think we are such numpties that they think it necessary to employ Basketball style Crowd motivators.

Is it just me or does Charlie’s song go the longest out of all of them?

After Marcus Adam’s first shot at goal my mate and I wondered if he’d even bothered to pick a song and then after he kicked the goal we figure it was just an intern hitting shuffle on apple
Music.
When they interviewed him after the game he admitted he didn't submit one (or wasn't asked) as noone thought he would kick one

Linc has Jesse's Girl, i think.

I can't believe that no-one has Sabbath Bloody Sabbath as their theme song.

Need an old time metal-head in the team badly.

Review Round 5, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood