Preview Round 5, 2024 vs Fremantle @ Adelaide Oval Changes & Pre-Match Discussion

Ken insinuated last week that Georgie is playing smaller/medium and higher up the ground. I wouldn't be surprised if SPP comes in and takes stoppage ruck contests in forward half as well as his usual forward role. Soldo to ruck the rest of the ground and centre bounces.

Bit of cognitive dissonance here - the evidence says we play 4 talls, so we are likely to stay on this path, yeah?
Yea but that was purely to squeeze Mitch into the team. It wasn't because we are set on playing 4 talls.

Jackson and Darcy is a huge ask for Soldo.

I think he can do it.
I think he can do it as well. The question is - do we want to burn him out? Such a long season and we need our best 22 fit and firing in September. Now that Ken doesn't have an August contract extension to play for, coaches should actually be thinking about playing the long game...

With Finlayson (likely) out, i reckon they should think about bringing Visentini in...

If Charlie can stand there and ruck in the forward 50, he can fill in and ruck for 5 minute periods in the middle to allow Soldo to rest.

Can also throw Esava in there for a few minutes if needed but rather keep that structure behind the ball.

If Charlie can’t manage 5 minute stints in the middle of each quarter, he shouldn’t be in the side.

What would we do in a final if Finlayson went down injured? I’m sure he could fill in.

Charlie can go into the middle, but it's a significant injury risk on him. Of course you take that risk in a final mid-game.

Would you go into a final with just Soldo and Charlie as the ruck pairing? No.

Either we bring Sweet in and park him forward ala Finlayson, or we play Soldo forward and Sweet goes the main ruck.

Visentini or Scully the other options - but either way, it should be a straight swap for Finlayson.

I think he can do it as well. The question is - do we want to burn him out? Such a long season and we need our best 22 fit and firing in September. Now that Ken doesn't have an August contract extension to play for, coaches should actually be thinking about playing the long game...

With Finlayson (likely) out, i reckon they should think about bringing Visentini in...
Yeah, a really good point about fatigue for the year for Soldo.
He's never played more than 14 games in a season.

Kenny usually runs everyone into the ground but I hope either Sweet or Visentini get a go.
I would prefer Sweet to see what we have.

Can't kick set shots, can't chop out in ruck, runs like an old man chasing a rolling tin of beans.. what's the actual point of Dixon?

The meanest of faces

f94b50a432262ece41940ccfdf299efe.jpg

Jase needs a full game either at AFL or SANFL, can’t keep picking the kid as the sub. I’d personally like to see him get a full AFL game.
He can be sub in the AFL, then play whatever minutes required in the SANFL a day later.

Didn't think of that, but even as a sub do they really want to play saturday night and then travel 2.5 hours to Waikerie and play another game the next day?

Yes. A quarter of footy is pretty much a training session.

The games we lose by a lot are usually a sort of cascade.
It starts with our rucks getting owned, then our midfield, as good as it is, getting overwhelmed by all the traffic headed in the other direction.
Then with our midfield down, we can’t generate drive in any other part of the ground.

Freo’s midfield is good enough that if Darcy owns Soldo, we could find ourselves in big trouble like our finals last season.

Is JHF likely to be pushed forward again with Wines coming back?
Port haven’t been able to play a full midfield rotation plus SPP this year due to suspension and minor injuries.

During the trials they were resting a mid forward (Rozee or JHF mainly, but Butters as well). I think a lot will depend on Boak, as they may push some of Wine’s minutes to the wing limiting the rotation up forward

The games we lose by a lot are usually a sort of cascade.
It starts with our rucks getting owned, then our midfield, as good as it is, getting overwhelmed by all the traffic headed in the other direction.
Then with our midfield down, we can’t generate drive in any other part of the ground.

Freo’s midfield is good enough that if Darcy owns Soldo, we could find ourselves in big trouble like our finals last season.

It is a cascade, but it starts from the coach being an inarticulate bogan and so on and so forth.....

If Finlayson is suspended, I would seriously think about giving Scully a run.

I don't think he's ready, still a big tall awkward kid learning how to football, but he would have Dixon, Marshall and Georgiades around him, along with a fire-breathing SPP, and Rozee, Butters and JHF delivering the ball.

He could chop out in the ruck a bit, have a bit of a run forward. He's not just a mark kick forward, he can crumb goals too.

Really doubt it would happen but would be exciting if they went left-field with a selection.

I don't think he's ready, still a big tall awkward kid learning how to football, but he would have Dixon, Marshall and Georgiades around him, along with a fire-breathing SPP, and Rozee, Butters and JHF delivering the ball.

He could chop out in the ruck a bit, have a bit of a run forward. He's not just a mark kick forward, he can crumb goals too.

Really doubt it would happen but would be exciting if they went left-field with a selection.
I like the look at Scully, but as you say, he is still very raw and because of the SANFL schedule, hasn’t really proven himself in league football under fire (so to speak).

If Finlayson goes out, they need someone who can ruck as Darcy and Jackson are a tough match up for Soldo solo. So it should be either Dante or Sweet, considering Lord is still injured.

Out Boak and Mead, in Wines and SPP

No more changes please.

I would against the right team but he'd get monstered in the ruck v Freo.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app