Autopsy Round 6, 2020: Fremantle v St.Kilda

I get the negatives. I really do. Today sucked, and I could go on all night about Geary, Ross and Hill's games (not for the first time this year either).
However, I decided to try to look for some bright spots to calm me down. Found 6 players to give a pass mark to.

Z.Jones (from 69% TOG): 15 disposals, 4 clearances, 2 goals. Bloke is a ripper
Hunter: Would have to check stats, but I have him 2 center clearances from 2 bounces attended (may have missed 1 or 2). The sooner he is playing in the guts full time, the sooner we are a good side. 18 and 5 intercepts wasn't a bad game, but IMO he is being wasted at halfback. Kid is a mid.
Gresham: 6 clearances and a goal. I thought he was the one that 'lifted' in that last 10 minutes and he nearly dragged us home
King: could have kicked 4 and was absolutely the right call at the draft (thank God someone overruled Richo)
Members: I know that miss late hurt, but 6 marks and 3.1 is a solid day at the office
Wilkie: Was about the only player that didn't look fumbly in the back half, and was the only bloody player in D50 in the last minute (Geary owes him a beer)

Steele, Howard, Carlisle and Billings I can also make an argument for, and Butler has earned a mulligan.

The other 11 are all on my sh*t list. But for tonight I am going to try and focus on King and Hunter, and the fact that these two are showing genuine glimpses of something very very special!

Good assessment mate. I hope this doesnt become a pattern but this stkilda side is a long way off seriously contending for a flag. As soon as a test comes we flop. I dont believe we should make wholesale changes next week, the more the group plays together the better we become and cohesion improves. We have the talent but we need the composure which will come with experience.
I get the negatives. I really do. Could go on all night about Geary, Ross and Hill's games (not for the first time this year either), but decided to try to look for some bright spots. Found 6 players to give a pass mark to.

Hunter: Would have to check stats, but I have him 2 center clearances from 2 bounces attended (may have missed 1 or 2). The sooner he is playing in the guts full time, the sooner we are a good side. 18 and 5 intercepts wasn't a bad game, but IMO he is being wasted at halfback. Kid is a mid.
Gresham: 6 clearances and a goal. I thought he was the one that 'lifted' in that last 10 minutes and nearly dragged us home
King: could have kicked 4 and was absolutely the right call at the draft (thank God someone overruled Richo)
Members: I know that miss late hurt, but 6 marks and 3.1 is a solid day at the office
Wilkie: Was about the only player that didn't look fumbly in the back half, and was the only bloody player in D50 in the last minute (cheers skipper)

Steele, Howard, Carlisle and Billings I can also make an argument for, and Butler has earned a mulligan.

The other 11 are all on my sh*t list. But for tonight I am going to try and focus on King and Hunter, and the fact that these two are showing genuine glimpses of something very very special!

I get the negatives. I really do. Today sucked, and I could go on all night about Geary, Ross and Hill's games (not for the first time this year either).
However, I decided to try to look for some bright spots to calm me down. Found 6 players to give a pass mark to.

Gresham: 6 clearances and a goal. I thought he was the one that 'lifted' in that last 10 minutes and he nearly dragged us home
Wilkie: Was about the only player that didn't look fumbly in the back half, and was the only bloody player in D50 in the last minute (Geary owes him a beer)

Good report. Made up stuff about king but go for it

If anyone is looking for a replay of the game it will be on the horror movies channel on Foxtel.
Depressing things I'll never watch again:

Dancer in the Dark
Grave of the Fireflies
Nobody Knows
Lilya 4-Ever
Any of our GFs since 97.
The Port prelim.
That 2nd "Look Who's Talking" movie.
Round 1, 2020 vs North
Today's game.

You know, on reflection, we are 3:3.
One game off the ladder leaders.

What is really bad is the manner in which we lost the three. Lots of work to be done.

But we’re not 1:5.

3-3 is acceptable but whats not acceptable is the manner of our losses against Nm & Freo. A team that has all the talent and leads by shit loads with opposition losing 2-3 men at half time and you still end up on the losing side is just weak mentality.

What is bad is the way we lost the three. But we’re not 1:5.

Depressing things I'll never watch again:

Dancer in the Dark
Grave of the Fireflies
Nobody Knows
Lilya 4-Ever
Any of our GFs since 97.
The Port prelim.
That 2nd "Look Who's Talking" movie.
Round 1, 2020 vs North
Today's game.

Also the scene in The Neverending Story with the horse. Equally traumatic with today's game

Where did I suggest no changes should be made at all?

Just advocating for bringing in players who are performing in the scratch matches over those who are still struggling at that lower level.

And from all reports, Parker is in that 2nd group.
Parker was listed as "in the mix" - I assumed he was showing something - doesn't need to be much to be better than Marsh. Long will be suspended so needs to be replaced, Ross's performance from a senior player was disgraceful and should not be accepted and Paton is not playing that well.

Parker for Marsh

Webster for Long

Byrnes for Ross

Bytel for Paton

Your thoughts?

So listening to Ratts press conf we will have a few changes with long and possibly marshall being a forced one. 100% i see a debut this week to recharge the boys. It'll take time and i hope it doesnt become a regular occurence of throwing games away.

For me outs: Marsh, Long & Kent/Lonie
Ins: Byrnes, Webster & Hind

Gears plays defensive fwd on Laird, Webster replaces Long & Byrnes gives us depth in the midfield

Really? I’d suggest that’s emotive rubbish. How many of those you mention have been there for years.
CEO 2014. 6th season.

Head Recruiter plus many in the recruitment team atleast 3 seasons. Head Recruiter was there pre 2014.

Coaching group bar lade and ratten atleast 3 years. Many around 2009-2012 for example midfield coach, backline coach, director of coaching.

COO since 2018.

Head of fitness 2015.

The new appointments are ratten lade roughhead slater and rath.

Go into the playing group and I'm sure you would agree theyve been there for a while.

Parker was listed as "in the mix" - I assumed he was showing something - doesn't need to be much to be better than Marsh. Long will be suspended so needs to be replaced, Ross's performance from a senior player was disgraceful and should not be accepted and Paton is not playing that well.

Parker for Marsh

Webster for Long

Byrnes for Ross

Bytel for Paton

Your thoughts?

I'm all for this, shakeup that's needed.

Marsh is a great team man but not what we need in terms of on field ability, I think Parker would take his second opportunity with both hands.

Webster should've been in earlier tbh.

Bytel for Ross and Byrnes for Hill, time to send a message.

What is really bad is the manner in which we lost the three. Lots of work to be done.

But we’re not 1:5.
This loss is season-ending, you don't come back from it.

36 points up against a poor team, 2 men from the opposition injured, on the verge of going top 3 on the ladder.

I can't wrap my head around how we managed to **** it up and this lost opportunity will haunt the club for a long time.

I think the time has come to see if we can expose more midfield capability.

I think we need to see how bytel and byrnes go. Atleast get a glimpse. We need to start pushing this midfield forward.

We need to accept that hanners won't be there forever (short term solution).

Ross and Dunstan won't cut it.

Steele what we see is what we will get. Does a decent shut down role.

Gresham unknown if he can cut it in there.

Clark and coffield too early to call.

Billings and Hill purely outside.

CEO 2014. 6th season.

Head Recruiter plus many in the recruitment team atleast 3 seasons. Head Recruiter was there pre 2014.

Coaching group bar lade and ratten atleast 3 years. Many around 2009-2012 for example midfield coach, backline coach, director of coaching.

COO since 2018.

Head of fitness 2015.

The new appointments are ratten lade roughhead slater and rath.

Go into the playing group and I'm sure you would agree theyve been there for a while.
Typical. You basically think 3 years is to long An respected funny respoce

This loss is season-ending, you don't come back from it.

36 points up against a poor team, 2 men from the opposition injured, on the verge of going top 3 on the ladder.

I can't wrap my head around how we managed to fu** it up and this lost opportunity will haunt the club for a long time.

I refuse to believe it. Prefer to think it may be the making of them.
Probably stupid, but although I’m desperately disappointed I can’t throw in the towel right now and I certainly hope they don’t.

Typical. You basically think 3 years is to long An respected funny respoce
Youve completely ignored that the majority have been there longer than 3 years!!! Especially at the very senior level.

3 years is a long time in footy.

How long do you want to give them?

What is bad is the way we lost the three. But we’re not 1:5.
And a game ahead of 17th.

Short season and havent played the top 4 teams, West coast or gws.

Club is going to have its mettle tested like nothing else, no more double dipping on wins against demons and GC like last year. Have to take every win you can get this year and theres a rough road ahead and who knows if we even play at marvel again this year.
Thats why this game stings so much, we keep approaching the corner but never turn it.

And a game ahead of 17th.

Short season and havent played the top 4 teams, West coast or gws.

Club is going to have to its mettle tested like nothing else, no more double dipping on wins against demons and GC like last year. Have to take every win you can get this year and theres a rough road ahead and who knows if we even play at marvel again this year.
Thats why this game stings so much, we keep approaching the corner but never turn it.

You are spot on.
Now I’m down in the dumps again. Thanks!

Autopsy Round 6, 2020: Fremantle v St.Kilda