Review Round 8, 2024 - Brisbane Lions vs. Gold Coast

Who were your five best players against Gold Coast?

Plenty of years to build up his tank. His TOG is alarming when we had no bench.

Players often blow up in their debut as they gas themselves out running on pure adrenaline early and also adjust to the speed of AFL which is an insane jump compared with state league footy. The fact we had limited rotations compounds this. Not worried about Reville’s tank at all.
According to AFL.com.au he had a corkie or something (as did Charlie) as he was listed as injured every time he came to the bench to be worked on. He kept coming back out and having an impact, which was great. Charlie we could hide at full forward.

So Berry played on the ball last night and Rayner didn't. Do we think that was planned with the inclusion of Sharp and Reville, or a response to the injuries?
Sharp was originally the sub, so it wasn't by design. When Starce withdrew they shuffled the magnets, which ended up in Sharp playing wing and Berry on the ball (and even Fletcher playing HB).

We know Berry can't sustain a full season in the middle, but both were fantastic last night. Hope they at least persist with it while we navigate these injuries.

I enjoyed the Brisbane crowd getting to say Bruce out loud a number of times. The character we needed !
From home it took me a few possessions of his to figure out why the crowd was booing every time he got the ball.

"BRUUUUUUUUUUUCE"

Hormone cycle related. Can't remember which part of the cycle but hormones impact connective tissue and things happen leading to more acls for women during a particular phase.

Problem is that medical research (in all areas) overwhelmingly looks at males because they are more consistent for to lack of hormone cycle. Which completely missed the point.

So while they know it's a problem they don't have any data around prevention.
It's a big issue - it's not just the hormone cycle, it's also around the ethical questions of drug trials when someone may fall pregnant, etc. Medical research has just been going "oh it's all too hard, let's assume all women are the same as men", which is a terrible idea but only in the last 5-10 years has awareness of the issue been changing and improvements being made (albeit piecemeal at the moment).

In a season that has started so poorly and had some very average performances - that win, under the most crippling circumstances was a win to saviour.

Can't see us doing much damage this year. We are coming from a long way back and now have the worst injury list in the AFL.

I will live with performances this year that might not be up to our standards from previous years due to our injury list, what I won't accept is us not having a fair dinkum crack.. Tonight we played a young team on the rise full of 1st round picks and a triple premiership coach and we put them to the sword with basically four less players for the night.

I hope the players get a massive lift from tonight. It's amazing what a couple new faces can do to inject enthusiasm into a side. Reville - Sharp and Morris all did that. They all played well and will get many more games this year with our current circumstances.

Thoughts with Linc and Darcy on what looks to be awful news impending. Or golden run with injuries is well and truly over.

BTW I'm sure someone has probably already raised this - but majority of the ACL's we have copped over the last 4/5 years have been against the Suns. Rich -Hippy- Rayner - two tonight. Was Ashcroft last year against Suns or Cats I can't recall.

Crazy stuff. But we still own them!

lol imagine being Logan Morris’ parents. Waiting for him to come up to his seat to watch the game and then seeing him getting rubbed down on the bench as sub.

Leonardo Dicaprio Reaction GIF by Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

McCluggage 32 possessions (14 contested), 4 tackles, 7 marks, 600m gained. 3 votes in any other game really. Interesting to see some were disappointed with him!

He was shanking them left, right and centre and when we needed a goal when we were tiring, he shanked it as he often does. I am not as worried as others if we lose him IF we get a strong return. More than happy to keep him obviously, he's a genuinely high quality player and seems a great bloke as well, just not unreplaceable (in my view).

I don't want to lose him under any circumstances. I think he's still got a lot of improvement in him and with players like him the accuracy can come back out of nowhere , he'll keep working on it .

No one's irreplaceable I agree but he's getting to his prime and he's one that will benefit strongly when we get our full complement back next year.

I thought we packed depth. I was wrong.

We have four acls ATM. Acl ruptures are clearly linked to hamstring strength.

I get that it's a landing issue and accidents happen, but strong hamstrings absorb the energy and protect.

Four at once could be viewed as a trend.

I guarantee the fitness coaches are under pressure to review hamstring strength testing and programs.

They say you never forget your first Afl game.

Logan Morris has the best story I can recall.

Two games, junk food, no boots and played in the game that restored the teams confidence and started a winning streak.

Bet you can't wipe the smile off his face today. When he finally wakes up that is.

As a physio I’d love to know what “preventative measures” you have in mind to prevent ACL injuries.
I have a physio friend who has worked at the AIS, a couple of Olympic teams and now at Tennis Australia and she talks extensively about preventative rehab to help minimise the chance of major injuries like ACLs. She does say that there is a fair bit of luck especially with impact injuries but there is a lot of work they do to reduce the risk. I know she has worked and studied with some of the Lions physios as well in this space (there was a PHD paper that one of our physio's presented at some point in this space that she showed me).

I thought we packed depth. I was wrong.

We have four acls ATM. Acl ruptures are clearly linked to hamstring strength.

I get that it's a landing issue and accidents happen, but strong hamstrings absorb the energy and protect.

Four at once could be viewed as a trend.

I guarantee the fitness coaches are under pressure to review hamstring strength testing and programs.
Dizz's looked like nothing . He was running for the ball and just changed direction slightly. But he knew straight away.

Devastating for him because no one's battled through more injury issues than Dizz.

Harris, Zorko, Neale, Dunkley, Wilmot. Berry unlucky. Gap to McCluggage. Overall, and despite the atrocious accuracy in front of goal, a very solid effort under trying circumstances.

We are all flying today, especially those at the ground. Atmosphere was awesome. That wave was hilarious.

But we won't beat other teams with our inaccuracy.

And we have lost Linc, who is our most reliable shot on goal.

We still have a between the ears problem in our senior players that desperately needs to be fixed.

Dizz's looked like nothing . He was running for the ball and just changed direction slightly. But he knew straight away.

Devastating for him because no one's battled through more injury issues than Dizz.

That's classic weak hammy. Not good.

We are all flying today, especially those at the ground. Atmosphere was awesome. That wave was hilarious.

But we won't beat other teams with our inaccuracy.

And we have lost Linc, who is our most reliable shot on goal.

We still have a between the ears problem in our senior players that desperately needs to be fixed.
We do but I think to win ugly like that and keep going will be a tremendous mental lift.

Zorko, Dunkley, Neale, Berry, Lester

Zorko turned the clock back. Amazing performance. Dunkley, Neale and Berry stood up and hard to split Lester and Andrews, but I went for Lester.
Remember the times if Zorko didn't get 35 disposals and kick 4 or 5 goals we could not win?

The Lions sit 2nd in the total marks for the year behind the Dogs.

Last night we eclipsed our previous high of 130 v Demons.
Lions took the round with 148 marks. The Suns could only manage 60.
I like the kick-mark game. it's controlled, it's patient. I hope we can continue to play it, and I hope more our forward line turn the corner and start kicking goals again.

McCluggage 32 possessions (14 contested), 4 tackles, 7 marks, 600m gained. 3 votes in any other game really. Interesting to see some were disappointed with him!
Also 96% or 95% TOG, unbelievable given he’s playing on ball. He was absolutely gassed.

They say you never forget your first Afl game.

Logan Morris has the best story I can recall.

Two games, junk food, no boots and played in the game that restored the teams confidence and started a winning streak.

Bet you can't wipe the smile off his face today. When he finally wakes up that is.
He is going to be a very sore boy this morning.

Logan Morris, 18 year old forward

13km in the VFL two hours before seniors
Ate maccas and soup on the way to the game
Didn't bring his boots so wore Will Ashcroft's for the game which were a size too small
9km in the seniors

:$

It’s a good laugh but I hope the club learns from this and makes sure at least one emergency only plays half a game of the VFL and also requires them to bring their basics if something happens.

They better be. Way too many serious injuries occurring across the whole team for it to be a coincidence.

Hard to see us in the finals now but at least we have a legitimate reason if we don't get there. A massive bonus if we do.

I'm so proud of our boys for how they performed last night.....and our newbies, wow! So exciting.

Huge thumbs up to Fages and players for the win.:thumbsu:

...and love and tears to and for our injured men.:'(:heart:

It’s a good laugh but I hope the club learns from this and makes sure at least one emergency only plays half a game of the VFL and also requires them to bring their basics if something happens.

Don't really want our 24th best player not getting as much game time as possible.

Worked out ok last night. Maybe we need a bit of chaos to bring out our best and bring back the joy that powers wins.

Review Round 8, 2024 - Brisbane Lions vs. Gold Coast