Opinion Sack Hinkley 7 - "Turn it around or watch out"

I was at the international rules game where the drunk skydiver plumetted into the roof of the outer terrace and killed himself. That was bleak

And the time when someone was killed in a car bomb explosion at the shopping centre car park during a game?

Say what you want about the SANFL but they really went overboard with the match entertainment back then

Football Park is closer to Alberton than Adelaide Oval is.

Yes, back when Adelaide Oval was a novelty.

Port were still playing at Football Park in 2013, which was Ken's first year as coach, and the crowds flocked back to Port games that year, meaning they didn't have to put tarps over seating bays anymore.

The tarps didn't come off because of Adelaide Oval, they came off because Ken managed to bring an exciting brand of footy to Port in 2013.

Your club obviously sees something in Ken to make them keep him on as coach next year, and I have no doubt they've looked towards Longmire, who's managed to turn it around after back to back bottom 4 finishes in 2019/2020, and Hardwick, who turned it around after a disastrous 2016 despite every man and his dog wanting Hardwick sacked after that disastrous season.

That, and the fact Ken has managed to turn it around before, going from 10th in 2019 to back to back top 2 finishes and preliminary finals in 2020/2021.
Sod off numbnuts.

And the time when someone was killed in a car bomb explosion at the shopping centre car park during a game?

Say what you want about the SANFL but they really went overboard with the match entertainment back then
I think his name was Shuttleworth but I stand corrected. Maybe related to that Crowie who used to read the sport on Channel Ten and now works at the Crom.

Port were still playing at Football Park in 2013, which was Ken's first year as coach, and the crowds flocked back to Port games that year, meaning they didn't have to put tarps over seating bays anymore.

The tarps didn't come off because of Adelaide Oval, they came off because Ken managed to bring an exciting brand of footy to Port in 2013.

Your club obviously sees something in Ken to make them keep him on as coach next year, and I have no doubt they've looked towards Longmire, who's managed to turn it around after back to back bottom 4 finishes in 2019/2020, and Hardwick, who turned it around after a disastrous 2016 despite every man and his dog wanting Hardwick sacked after that disastrous season.

That, and the fact Ken has managed to turn it around before, going from 10th in 2019 to back to back top 2 finishes and preliminary finals in 2020/2021.

‘Your club obviously sees something in Ken to make them keep him on as coach next year’

Well we can’t pay him out and he won’t leave, sooooo that’s about it.

Wasn‘t his wife, and her lover, charged with the murder?

Melbourne based fans won't go to Marvel which is down the street, didn't go to Waverley to the point where they decommissioned it, and now we've got one telling us there's no difference between the soulless concrete bowl of Footy Park and Adelaide Oval.
Melbourne based fan overrates concrete bowl stadium. Colour me shocked.

I think his name was Shuttleworth but I stand corrected. Maybe related to that Crowie who used to read the sport on Channel Ten and now works at the Crom.

Wasn‘t his wife, and her lover, charged with the murder?

I was young at the time and have no personal memory of it but car bombs are rare in Adelaide so it is sort of in Adelaide folklore now. Found this in the SAPOL mag from a few years back for anyone interested. Not sure how it relates to a thread on Sacking Ken, but hey, add it to the list.

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 7.07.41 pm.png

I was young at the time and have no personal memory of it but car bombs are rare in Adelaide so it is sort of in Adelaide folklore now. Found this in the SAPOL mag from a few years back for anyone interested. Not sure how it relates to a thread on Sacking Ken, but hey, add it to the list.

View attachment 1505782

Kenny probably sold a few bombs in his time as a salesman. He has killed the hopes of supporters.

Clearly it fits

Fwiw the tarps were still used due to contracts in 2013 and membership that year was the ticket to Adelaide Oval advanced seat selection. Playing good football probably helped yes, but getting first dibs on seats at AO helped more.

Crows would have sacked Ken Hinkley in 2016 with the results he'd delivered up to that point.

I think both the Crows and Power are in the worst predicament of all the clubs in the league due to being under AFL control, meaning there's no way members of either club can spill the board.

Also, I look at the Eagles and Dockers who are both controlled by the WAFC and after seeing how strong both those clubs are under their current set up, it makes me wonder why the SANFL gave up control of the Crows and Power and handed both their licences to the AFL, especially when the previous set up and arrangement both SA clubs had was similar to that of the WA clubs too.

Is there any way you guys as members can gain control of your club so it becomes a member owned club like the Victorian clubs and Brisbane? I can't help but think both SA clubs are being hamstrung under the current arrangement, and the AFL knows the Crows and Power are too focused on one another to realise their clubs are being hamstrung by being under AFL control.

Whats with all the clueless carnts in every thread at the moment? lol.

Not just these blow-ins, but people who claim to be Port supporters as well.
Port and the Crows are both AFL controlled and aren't meant to win flags under this set up.

WA sides and SA sides winning flags isn't what the AFL want because it doesn't benefit them.

However, the Eagles and Dockers are controlled by the WAFC, and are both rich and powerful clubs as a result, hence why the AFL is trying to get the Eagles and Dockers licences back from the WAFC.

AFL want big VIC clubs winning flags because it generates them big $$ and NSW and QLD clubs winning flags because it grows the game in rugby territory. Simple.

Port and the Crows are both AFL controlled and aren't meant to win flags under this set up.

WA sides and SA sides winning flags isn't what the AFL want because it doesn't benefit them.

However, the Eagles and Dockers are controlled by the WAFC, and are both rich and powerful clubs as a result, hence why the AFL is trying to get the Eagles and Dockers licences back from the WAFC.

AFL want big VIC clubs winning flags because it generates them big $$ and NSW and QLD clubs winning flags because it grows the game in rugby territory. Simple.
The only part of your post I disagreed with was where you said that Port was too focused on the Camries to notice. Camry fans get excited in any season they beat or finish ahead of Port because that's their entire reason for existing. Port fans want flags.

We're well aware of the issues involved but its being able to make meaningful change that's difficult. Just look at the coaching situation - stuck with Hinkley for yet another year because we can't afford to make a bold play because there are those on our board who don't want success, they want stability and mediocrity.

The only part of your post I disagreed with was where you said that Port was too focused on the Camries to notice. Camry fans get excited in any season they beat or finish ahead of Port because that's their entire reason for existing. Port fans want flags.

We're well aware of the issues involved but its being able to make meaningful change that's difficult. Just look at the coaching situation - stuck with Hinkley for yet another year because we can't afford to make a bold play because there are those on our board who don't want success, they want stability and mediocrity.
If we could somehow find a way to get rid of Koch, then I reckon the other cards would fall our way pretty quickly. Question is, how the hell do we get rid of Koch?

This Power Play bloke/dunce has a knack of distorting reality.

Good coaches don't have appalling records against top 8 teams. Says it all about Hinkley the fraud.
This is what galls me about people who say, "Ken has a 58% success rate as coach, which means he's elite." No he's not - we're excellent front runners against mediocre opposition, but the moment we come up against decent opposition, we go missing almost every time. If it was only happening occasionally, it'd be a different story, but it's now ingrained into the minds of the players that when the going gets tough, it's too hard.

We need a McRae at Alberton, who will instill belief. Whether you love Collingwood or loathe them, one has to applaud what they've done in such a short space of time. We can do it too, as long as we bite the bullet and get rid of the "near enough is good enough" mindset that currently plagues our club.

This is what galls me about people who say, "Ken has a 58% success rate as coach, which means he's elite." No he's not - we're excellent front runners against mediocre opposition, but the moment we come up against decent opposition, we go missing almost every time. If it was only happening occasionally, it'd be a different story, but it's now ingrained into the minds of the players that when the going gets tough, it's too hard.

We need a McRae at Alberton, who will instill belief. Whether you love Collingwood or loathe them, one has to applaud what they've done in such a short space of time. We can do it too, as long as we bite the bullet and get rid of the "near enough is good enough" mindset that currently plagues our club.
He's elite in the same way that Eddie the Eagle was an elite ski jumper for the UK until he came up against skiers in the Winter Olympics from countries with actual mountains.

Crows would have sacked Ken Hinkley in 2016 with the results he'd delivered up to that point.

I think both the Crows and Power are in the worst predicament of all the clubs in the league due to being under AFL control, meaning there's no way members of either club can spill the board.

Also, I look at the Eagles and Dockers who are both controlled by the WAFC and after seeing how strong both those clubs are under their current set up, it makes me wonder why the SANFL gave up control of the Crows and Power and handed both their licences to the AFL, especially when the previous set up and arrangement both SA clubs had was similar to that of the WA clubs too.

Is there any way you guys as members can gain control of your club so it becomes a member owned club like the Victorian clubs and Brisbane? I can't help but think both SA clubs are being hamstrung under the current arrangement, and the AFL knows the Crows and Power are too focused on one another to realise their clubs are being hamstrung by being under AFL control.

It's a helpless feeling for sure. If there is a way to get the club under member control, everyone here would be for it, I'm sure.

The SANFL holding our license was actually worse than the current set-up though. The AFL just want us ticking along quietly but the SANFL wanted us rebranded or shipped off to Tassie. The SANFL is run by people that have watched Port destroy their dreams for their entire lives and saw them holding our license as a way to exact revenge.