Should players stop running during their goal celebrations?

Remove this Banner Ad

HugeJohnson

Just hanging out
Apr 25, 2009
Some point in space and time
AFL Club
Port Adelaide
Other Teams
Liverpool
Just watching Tom Papleys celebration after kicking that goal from 50 today, he exploded in to a full pelt sprint to celebrate the goal.

If I'm a coach, I'd be happy he kicked the goal, but I think I'd also be slightly concerned about taking the celebration too far. He could easily have pinged a hamstring, pulled a calf, snapped his achilles, anything. Not even to start about conserving energy for when the ball is in play.

Why are players expending so much effort on their celebrations rather than saving their energy for the actual match? I think the players need to reign themselves in a bit and save their legs, so to speak. Celebrate in a way that doesn't expend energy or lead to a risk of injury.

Let's start tackling the real issues.

Just watching Tom Papleys celebration after kicking that goal from 50 today, he exploded in to a full pelt sprint to celebrate the goal.

If I'm a coach, I'd be happy he kicked the goal, but I think I'd also be slightly concerned about taking the celebration too far. He could easily have pinged a hamstring, pulled a calf, snapped his achilles, anything. Not even to start about conserving energy for when the ball is in play.

Why are players expending so much effort on their celebrations rather than saving their energy for the actual match? I think the players need to reign themselves in a bit and save their legs, so to speak. Celebrate in a way that doesn't expend energy or lead to a risk of injury.

Cheers, Kano

Handstand?

And it did occur to me as Geelong mounted a late flurry that Papley would have looked pretty stupid if they'd lost.

If he'd played in the 70s one of his teammates would have left him with a black eye after the game.
Oh yeah, it was a handstand. I knew it was something like that.