Suspended
Oct 7, 2008
here, there, everywhere
GWS, NA Roosters, ATL Falcons
What does everyone want the colours and the moniker (nickname) to be?

I really like a sky blue as the main colour, with either a green, black or a royal blue as the secondary colour.

For the clubs moniker, I dont really have anything jumping out at me as a preference, but I like Wolves, Cougars, and Dingoes.

What are some other ideas for either of these two aspects of the new club?

Not too sure on the moniker, but I like the idea of black and green, with maybe a touch of orange. For me, those colours capture my picture of WS pretty well: black with a touch of orange give it a last stages of sunset over urban sprawl kinda feel, with the green reflecting the meld into bushland in some parts, the more hilly areas, etc.

Would have to be done well though, those colours in the wrong mixes and tones could end up looking very bad.

I'd like to see the WS team go with royal blue+black to go against the Swans red and white, then throw in a touch of orange to seperate things a bit.

Or the AFL could try to win over as many bogans as possible and make your colours green and gold.

edit:

Created a couple out of boredom. This is what I picture when I think of GWS in the AFL.

GWS1.jpg

GWS2.jpg

I liked the first one more personally, but I thought I'd make the second one to differ the design from Melbournes.

I think either of those would be pretty good for GWS. Opposite colour scheme to the Swans to clearly identify as a different team, plus blue/black/orange isn't a colour scheme already in use.

sky blue and black to contrast with the swans red and white would be sweet :thumbsu:
as for their nom de guerre; i'm not particularly concerned at this stage as i'm a firm believer in teams being ascribed one organically over time as their character becomes manifest. as long as it isn't something wanky like power or roar or glory.

Sky blue and black is certainly a good option.
As is a green and black. I think that could work really well.

A two tone green would certainly be different from anything else in the league, I just wonder if it could be done so it wouldn't look ugly.

I'm thinking a two-blues look would be good. Jumper mainly sky blue, maybe with a navy blue sash or stripe, navy shorts and maybe two-blue striped socks. Wouldn't clash with anyone except maybe Port Adelaide, and the two-blues are traditionally Sydney/NSW colours.

Dark colours. LOVE the idea of green. (not to clash with grass) and def black to contrast to sydney. Was disappointed with GC17's choice of colours as similar to crows. Hope West Sydney go with heaps diff colours to everyone else!

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kevin-sheedy-swoops-on-sydney/story-e6frf9jf-1225795572148

I know that probably means nothing, but look at the colours that Sheedy is wearing ... black, white and green --- could this be the colours of Western Sydney?

I realize that this is clutching at straws, but why did they pick those 'superhero' colours for Sheedy? If they wanted to make him look like Superman, they would have used Blue, Yellow and Red.

Some things human eyes just weren't meant to see... and that picture was one of them. :(

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kevin-sheedy-swoops-on-sydney/story-e6frf9jf-1225795572148

I know that probably means nothing, but look at the colours that Sheedy is wearing ... black, white and green --- could this be the colours of Western Sydney?

I realize that this is clutching at straws, but why did they pick those 'superhero' colours for Sheedy? If they wanted to make him look like Superman, they would have used Blue, Yellow and Red.

Damn you stole my thunder, exactly what I was thinking. Green and white? Looks like NQLD Fury, Robbie Fowler playing Aussie Rules anyone? Let's start a coup with all codes, haha.

herald sun picture - SuperCoach advertising from early 09
gws picture - taken before the AFL officially gave them the liscence

wouldnt take anything out of either.

the only thing you could take out of it is that the logo they're using is blue red and white.

Bulldog fans may be upset if they go with that.

I have always from day one thought that Black and orange (if used in the right way) would be the way to go. Fit's in with the colour scheme of other football clubs in the area (from rival codes included) It's also a colour scheme which wouldnt clash to much if used well with other clubs.

Talking about it with a mate over a year ago and we come up with the idea that Bengal's would be a good idea. Western Sydney has a huge number of Asian (ie Pakistan, Indian, Srilankan) that would relate well with that mascot. Would also fit in well with the colours of orange and black.

What does everyone want the colours and the moniker (nickname) to be?

I really like a sky blue as the main colour, with either a green, black or a royal blue as the secondary colour.

For the clubs moniker, I dont really have anything jumping out at me as a preference, but I like Wolves, Cougars, and Dingoes.

What are some other ideas for either of these two aspects of the new club?

Wolves and Cougers are not Australian ... well, Cougars are if you count old desperate women.

Instead of an animal, why not something distinctly Australian, perhaps even mythological ... how about Bunyips?

Colours? How about Emerald / Metallic Green and Silver?

Growing up and living in the western sydney region, my thought is black, sky blue and yellow (rather than orange). Alot of representative teams in many different sports, from the Western Sydney area have these colours (Penrith=black, Blacktown=black and yellow, Parramatta=yellow and blue).

i also think Dizzy's jumper design is almost spot on (the top one) id say make it predominately black and make the thin V thicker and maybe into a W.

Talking about it with a mate over a year ago and we come up with the idea that Bengal's would be a good idea. Western Sydney has a huge number of Asian (ie Pakistan, Indian, Srilankan) that would relate well with that mascot. Would also fit in well with the colours of orange and black.

Isn't a Bengal a tiger?

That's the super coach advert he did months ago. The colours mean nothing.

As so many people think WS is doomed to fail, I thought it might be good to name the team WEST SYDNEY DOOM. Yeah yeah 'negative image' 'the kids will get scared' blah blah, cry. I reckon a skull for a logo would sell pretty well in West Syd... or maybe they could be called the SKULLS?

doom.jpg

west sydney sharks sounds good to me, maybe make the blue V go down a bit steeper, the join in to a shark. probably sounds dumb but i have an alright mental picture, il work on it.

Team colours/moniker?