Preview The 2022 Pre Season Training Official Thread

How did Crouch look. It feels like there is a lot of contrasting information coming out. I know the club finally did a positive piece on him - which would suggest that they are confident in his progress.

ROB said he looked great (felt like he was implying back at 100% fitness), others have said they just saw him running laps with the injured players.

I would love to hear that he is moving freely and at full pace? The Hip and Groin injuries are obviously linked and he wasn't lightning fast before the injuries.

Last week
- Separate kicking drill and running in separate group. No match Sim.
This week
- Running in separate group for match sim. Included in training drills.

Obviously the contested work is his bread and butter, but was tackling well with intensity, and dishing hand balls out while tackled.

Looks leaner then 2020 Crouch, think he might have slimmed down in 2021.

Really can't comment on how he is until he gets included into match Sim, if he he's slower that would be a concern.

I don't know about ROB he always looks stiff to me. But last week he had a fair few of his signature incept marks. I found it interesting in that interview he talk about working on his leap in ruck contest.

I saw strachan win his fair share of taps this week so that's why I said it's wide open.

ROB was in all the match Sims I've seen, haven't seen him running laps.

Hope that helps, happy to pay close attention to any player you want me to watch next Wednesday.

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Last week
This week

Obviously the contested work is his bread and butter, but was tackling well with intensity, and dishing hand balls out while tackled.

Really can't comment on how he is until he gets included into match Sim, if he he's slower that would be a concern.

I don't know about ROB he always looks stiff to me. But last week he had a fair few of his signature incept marks. I found it interesting in that interview he talk about working on his leap in ruck contest.

I saw strachan win his fair share of taps this week so that's why I said it's wide open.

Hope that helps, happy to pay close attention to any player you want me to watch next Wednesday.

Hey mate not sure if you commented on this but how did newchurch, rowe and nankervis look?

Cheers

Last week
This week

Really appreciate it mate. Very interesting to see what version of Matty Crouch we get.

My 3 players I am fascinated to watch are Matty Crouch, Jackson Hately, and Lachie Sholl.

Hey mate not sure if you commented on this but how did newchurch, rowe and nankervis look?

Cheers
Newchurch kicked a few goals on the blue team. One running into goal and Worrell gave up chase. He seems to be really able to hold his high pace for long distances. Looks to have put on more weight, but not a heaps. Still didn't seen any F50 tackles from him but i think the other poster on here deeztreez was watching him closer then I was. I would like to see him get a run. Notice a nice synergy happening in the SANFL last year with Cook.

Rowe I haven't paid heaps of attention, I did see Jimmy struggling along in some of the long distance running the other day, started well and then dropped off. Tells me there's still plenty of improvement left in him. He's face from an interview the other day showed he was noticeable slimmer. Missed a goal in match Sim

I hope we play Cook up fwd this year not on the wing. Goals sense and capacity to kick bags, think Newchurchs pace and finishing is an asset but needs to take the pressure fwd role to get into the team.

Im playing these guys ahead of Newchurch and Rowe even if they are not true small fwds

Cook
Berry
Pedlar
Rachele

Other small fwd positions I think are already locked in

Mchenry, McAdam

The only one that should be playing the small forward role ahead of Rowe round one is Rachele initially if his fitness is considered up to AFL level.

I'd even have Rowe ahead of McAdam at this point just on consistency of effort unless Shane lights up the pre-season games and intra-clubs.

By all accoubts Rowe's fitness levels have improved measurably and along with his already well honed offensive small forward game we may see improvement in the defensive side of his game that extra fitness will no doubt bring.

What do you think will make Rowe successful?

To me it seems he is a good kick, has some smarts about him and seems handy around the goals - but he doesn't seem to have an elite skill that will equate to a long term AFL career.

His defensive pressure is a worry and he feels to me like a player who will excel at SANFL but just isn't athletically gifted enough to excel at AFL level.

To me it seems he is a good kick, has some smarts about him and seems handy around the goals - but he doesn't seem to have an elite skill that will equate to a long term AFL career.

His defensive pressure is a worry and he feels to me like a player who will excel at SANFL but just isn't athletically gifted enough to excel at AFL level.

If he becomes a 30 goal a year forward that will classify to me as successful

Some smarts?

He has footy smarts in spades.

Footy smarts around goals is way way more important than athletic prowess, he's never going to have Charlie Cameron's speed, defensive pressure or athletic talent but I'd back him over Cameron for actual natural footy smarts. Like I said let's see what the Burgess effect is like especially in players like Rowe.

Also quite adept around clearances in the forward line in case you hadn't noticed.

Newchurch kicked a few goals on the blue team. One running into goal and Worrell gave up chase. He seems to be really able to hold his high pace for long distances. Looks to have put on more weight, but not a heaps. Still didn't seen any F50 tackles from him but i think the other poster on here deeztreez was watching him closer then I was. I would like to see him get a run. Notice a nice synergy happening in the SANFL last year with Cook.

Rowe I haven't paid heaps of attention, I did see Jimmy struggling along in some of the long distance running the other day, started well and then dropped off. Tells me there's still plenty of improvement left in him. He's face from an interview the other day showed he was noticeable slimmer. Missed a goal in match Sim

I hope we play Cook up fwd this year not on the wing. Goals sense and capacity to kick bags, think Newchurchs pace and finishing is an asset but needs to take the pressure fwd role to get into the team.

Im playing these guys ahead of Newchurch and Rowe even if they are not true small fwds

Cook
Berry
Pedlar
Rachele

Other small fwd positions I think are already locked in

Mchenry, McAdam

I think Newchurch will get a run at some stage this year. He was more impressive than Rowe at match sim - small sample though

Some smarts?

He has footy smarts in spades.

Footy smarts around goals is way way more important than athletic prowess, he's never going to have Charlie Cameron's speed, defensive pressure or athletic talent but I'd back him over Cameron for actual natural footy smarts. Like I said let's see what the Burgess effect is like especially in players like Rowe.

Also quite adept around clearances in the forward line in case you hadn't noticed.

Not having a crack. Just genuinely curious.

Its hard not to love the kid because of his enthusiasm, the family history. I would love to see him succeed.

Its extremely rare to see players under 175cm succeed in the modern AFL without an outstanding physical attribute . All of the 6 players in the AFL that are shorter than him have explosive pace (Caleb Daniel/Brent Daniels/Kosi Pickett/Tipungwuti/Joel Western/Stengle).

Just screams Ian Callinan to me. A guy who have a great season in a stacked forward line, but needs everything to go right to succeed.

Not having a crack. Just genuinely curious.

Its hard not to love the kid because of his enthusiasm, the family history. I would love to see him succeed.

Its extremely rare to see players under 175cm succeed in the modern AFL without an outstanding physical attribute . All of the 6 players in the AFL that are shorter than him have explosive pace (Caleb Daniel/Brent Daniels/Kosi Pickett/Tipungwuti/Joel Western/Stengle).

Just screams Ian Callinan to me. A guy who have a great season in a stacked forward line, but needs everything to go right to succeed.
Stengle explosive pace?

Come again?

Really appreciate it mate. Very interesting to see what version of Matty Crouch we get.

My 3 players I am fascinated to watch are Matty Crouch, Jackson Hately, and Lachie Sholl.

I think will get end of 2020 matt crouch after 3-4 games back.

Hately....I've put a line through him. Time to try him out as a incept defender with his marking ability. Or he's just depth.

Sholl looks good, let's hope he's back to his best. Think he has the wing position if seedman isn't good to go. If he's in the sanfl we need to play him in the midfield to develop his tackling and inside game. Some of his tackle efforts end of last year were embarassing.

Things we should be excited about:

Players returning

Wayne Milera back and moving well is a bit exciting. We weren't sure how he would return, if he would loose his power. Wing, hb or hf. He will add to all these position.

Brown back, feel like not locking down small fwds cost us games last year. Collingwood game for example when Elliott got hold of McPherson and Kelly and kick 6. We went on to loose by 5 points.

Crouch back, if we get a fit and health Crouch ball use out of the midfield, and contested ball number will be up. Interested to see were he fits in the midfield.

Seeing Pedlar out there getting match Sim is exciting. Exciting mid/fwd prospect being taken under Sloan's wing.

The forgotten recruit Hinge is back, our replacement for Kelly, looks to be moving well in preseason and getting an opportunity on the wing. Think he's on the verge of breaking into our best 22 and once he's in I think he will hold his position. Seems to have a well rounded game.

New players

Dawson slots straight into position left vacant by Lynch, and strengthens the battle for the wing position. Upgrade our ball use and inside 50's. I think we need to be patient for him to make an impact, but imagine he will find his feet by the middle of the year.

Rachele, been crying out for more out put from our small fwd brigade as we are to reliant on Tex to kick goals win games. Think he's finishing skills if can transition to AFL we have add to that out put.

Emerging players

Jones becoming a damaging HB, showing signs of further development and confidence. Tenacity to not loose a one on one, closing speed to incept and spoil, elite kick all on display. He will fill a massive void left by our much loved brodie Smith when he retires in a few years and cover his drop in out put as he ages.

Schoenberg showing signs of becoming elite midfielder. More minutes better ball use out of the midfield. Long range goal outside 50, shows that your apprenticeship starting in the fwd line can create goal kicking mids.

Keays looks like he's taken a step fwd this preseason looked powerful in the contest and evasive in traffic, pulling a few dont arues. He average .5 goals a game finished the year with 12, this is average but had 1.3 shots on goal at game that is elite. If he can covert more he's going to get high goal scoring numbers for midfielder.

Mchenry the work horse, he took massive step fwd towards the end of year, I felt he real shines toward the end of quarters, had a huge 13 score involvements in the last game of 2021 while not having a huge out of goals for a small fwd, if he can raise that this year's

Thilthorpe 18 goals from 14 games last year, I've seen him take a few more contested grabs in match sim, backing him to not have secound year blue and hit above 30 goals this year.

Berry 2nd year apprentice starts to get more midfield minutes. Be interesting to see what a full preseason does to his performance are string together 17 games last year. He had Elite tackles and pressure acts, see if it starts to convert into goals this year.

Hately....I've put a line through him. Time to try him out as a incept defender with his marking ability. Or he's just depth.

Sholl looks good, let's hope he's back to his best. Think he has the wing position if seedman isn't good to go. If he's in the sanfl we need to play him in the midfield to develop his tackling and inside game. Some of his tackle efforts end of last year were embarassing.

Players returning

Wayne Milera back and moving well is a bit exciting. We weren't sure how he would return, if he would loose his power. Wing, hb or hf. He will add to all these position.

Brown back, feel like not locking down small fwds cost us games last year. Collingwood game for example when Elliott got hold of McPherson and Kelly and kick 6. We went on to loose by 5 points.

Crouch back, if we get a fit and health Crouch ball use out of the midfield, and contested ball number will be up. Interested to see were he fits in the midfield.

Seeing Pedlar out there getting match Sim is exciting. Exciting mid/fwd prospect being taken under Sloan's wing.

The forgotten recruit Hinge is back, our replacement for Kelly, looks to be moving well in preseason and getting an opportunity on the wing. Think he's on the verge of breaking into our best 22 and once he's in I think he will hold his position. Seems to have a well rounded game.

New players

Dawson slots straight into position left vacant by Lynch, and strengthens the battle for the wing position. Upgrade our ball use and inside 50's. I think we need to be patient for him to make an impact, but imagine he will find his feet by the middle of the year.

Rachele, been crying out for more out put from our small fwd brigade as we are to reliant on Tex to kick goals win games. Think he's finishing skills if can transition to AFL we have add to that out put.

Emerging players

Jones becoming a damaging HB, showing signs of further development and confidence. Tenacity to not loose a one on one, closing speed to incept and spoil, elite kick all on display. He will fill a massive void left by our much loved brodie Smith when he retires in a few years and cover his drop in out put as he ages.

Schoenberg showing signs of becoming elite midfielder. More minutes better ball use out of the midfield. Long range goal outside 50, shows that your apprenticeship starting in the fwd line can create goal kicking mids.

Keays looks like he's taken a step fwd this preseason looked powerful in the contest and evasive in traffic, pulling a few dont arues. He average .5 goals a game finished the year with 12, this is average but had 1.3 shots on goal at game that is elite. If he can covert more he's going to get high goal scoring numbers for midfielder.

Mchenry the work horse, he took massive step fwd towards the end of year, I felt he real shines toward the end of quarters, had a huge 13 score involvements in the last game of 2021 while not having a huge out of goals for a small fwd, if he can raise that this year's

Thilthorpe 18 goals from 14 games last year, I've seen him take a few more contested grabs in match sim, backing him to not have secound year blue and hit above 30 goals this year.

Berry 2nd year apprentice starts to get more midfield minutes. Be interesting to see what a full preseason does to his performance are string together 17 games last year. He had Elite tackles and pressure acts, see if it starts to convert into goals this year.

Few poignant things in this post.

Hately, I haven't yet put the line through, but I have to admit I don't see a place for him at all in the best 22. Especially if that groin has permanently zapped his pre-draft top gear.

Hinge, wouldn't surprise me to see on the park in week 1.

Milera is probably the biggest Xfactor we have this season.

Tex / Thilthorpe / Fog could all see the best kicks to advantage this season that they've seen. Recruiting skilled kicks in Sholl, Dawson, Rachele, Taylor, and Scheonberg is gonna really start paying dividends soon. Predicting career years for Thilly (not hard for a 2nd year player), and Fog. And possibly even a better season from Tex then last year after he comes back from the suspension.

Players returning

New players

Emerging players

I would add Murray to the emerging players list. I love the way he is so intense at training and his attack on the ball, hates to lose.
Looks like we have found our new backline ‘bull.’
IMO he will become one of Hamish’s best smokey recruits - seemingly plucked from nowhere.
Hope I’m not getting ahead of myself…

Players returning

New players

Emerging players

So glad to hear Pedlar is out there and involved - he's obviously progressing OK (I assume he's not at full training yet, but was worried he was still in cottonwool). Great news.

Was interesting Matty Crouch single out Harry in a recent interview. Reckons he's flying this year and is really looking forward to playing along side him.

Few poignant things in this post.

Hately, I haven't yet put the line through, but I have to admit I don't see a place for him at all in the best 22. Especially if that groin has permanently zapped his pre-draft top gear.

Hinge, wouldn't surprise me to see on the park in week 1.

Milera is probably the biggest Xfactor we have this season.

Tex / Thilthorpe / Fog could all see the best kicks to advantage this season that they've seen. Recruiting skilled kicks in Sholl, Dawson, Rachele, Taylor, and Scheonberg is gonna really start paying dividends soon. Predicting career years for Thilly (not hard for a 2nd year player), and Fog. And possibly even a better season from Tex then last year after he comes back from the suspension.

Sorry maybe I dont understand the meaning of poignant. Thought the Hately comment is the only poignant thing in this post. I don't rate him, everyone's got an opinion.

Watch him continually turn the ball over under pressure at training, got nothing to do with your groin. Maybe he's out of touch but I saw alot of that last year in SANFL.

Everything else you said was backing up what I said?

Preview The 2022 Pre Season Training Official Thread