Game Day Round 3, 2025: West Coast vs Fremantle - The Owen Derby

No he isn’t, read my posts chump. Hall had a game leading 14 contested possessions which provided us plenty of first use and was hugely influential in the Bris game - in only 65% TOG too.

Fridge had only 5 CP in Rd1 and got it some more on the outside which helps our known problem of winning the footy initially far less.

We need them both in to be honest, but based on actual performances in a game each this season (and if you needed to take only one) you’d take Hall to address the issue that plagued us in Rd1 at the coalface

It’s facts
Yep, Graham also had 10 tackles to go with his 23 possessions, Hall had 3 vs Lions.

I daresay as the starting defensive mid, the coach is probably looking for Reid/Kelly to win the ball and Graham to play defense.

He can also play way more minutes, this reducing the need for rotations and extended time on the bench.

Hall being left out is disappointing, for sure, but he's a second year player. He'll get plenty more opportunities.

Hall dropped after that effort? What a pisstake.

Simmo’s credit crew is gone but McQualter’s is here now - of course he’s gotta play his Richmond mate over a performing youngster

'His Richmond mate' was one of the only blokes who looked like he gave a shit in round 1

Hall came in and replaced Graham because they wanted a like for like, he goes out because whilst Hall was great, Graham's more likely to get 10 more disposals than Hall.

So yes, he could've come in and replaced Long on HFF but clearly, he's being played as a starting mid and will likely perform better than Hall at it due to experience.

What would you lot rather do in that case, have an extra inside mid that doesn't get many minutes, or is forced out to a position he's no good at(wing/HFF)?

We've been pissing and moaning for years that in the past we played players out of position to fit them in the side, then complained when they had lacklustre games and stifled development.

Graham is far more likely to have a better game than Hall, playing in the exact same position, so while it sucks for him it makes sense to swap them.
You can't defend the indefensible mate.
No matter how much you want to spin it, he shouldn't have been dropped.

You can't defend the indefensible mate.
No matter how much you want to spin it, he shouldn't have been dropped.
Where does he play then?

Wing?

HFF?

As I said, people have pissed and moaned for years we bring young players in to play out of position, or move other players to unfamiliar positions to accommodate them yet when we finally don't do it, people complain.

Where does he play then?

Wing?

HFF?

As I said, people have pissed and moaned for years we bring young players in to play out of position, or move other players to unfamiliar positions to accommodate them yet when we finally don't do it, people complain.
So you're saying we can't play both?

You could always rejig a few things.

Halls dropping is pathetic.

Yep, Graham also had 10 tackles to go with his 23 possessions, Hall had 3 vs Lions.

I daresay as the starting defensive mid, the coach is probably looking for Reid/Kelly to win the ball and Graham to play defense.

He can also play way more minutes, this reducing the need for rotations and extended time on the bench.

Hall being left out is disappointing, for sure, but he's a second year player. He'll get plenty more opportunities.

Very fair assessment, but we could use a fair bit more first use against good midfields that what Kelly/Reid can currently conjure is the problem

So you're saying we can't play both?

You could always rejig a few things.

Halls dropping is pathetic.
Again, 'rejigging' is what's stuffed our team and development since 2021.

Let's not revisit that time again, thanks.

Clay's a second year player, he'll survive.

Absolutely nothing wrong with a young hungry mid having to force his way into the side. Hall was great last week but it was one game and he was in for Graham in the first place.

Great stuff Hall, now go and show us you can do that in the WAFL consistently, and maybe work on getting more of the ball in transition to add to it...the rest will take care of itself.

Doubt Hall is sooking it up as much as you lot are.

I agree but I guess the coach has a plan around stoppages, so doesn't want too many of the same type.

I’d say keep in your best performed this season of that type at all costs though coming into a derby. Kelly + Reid gives you one more CP combined so far and Hall was on reduced minutes. It’s still a wild call whichever way you slice it for the sake of team balance

IMG_0092.jpeg

Hall is stiff,
Elephant in the room. Harley reid, would probs be sub or at least forward rotation in alot of other sides after last weekend.
I know we are desperate for impact but that's the guy id shift around. Harley Needs a big response

We're still feeling mini out so alot to play out still from our perspective.
I trust our backs will stand up, will be keeping a closer eye on our mids this week.

Not saying he won't survive.

It's still a terrible decision.
It's really not.

He was good at getting contested possessions and clearances but had low Gametime and didn't offer much on transition or defence.

Great experience for him, now that he knows he can match it at stoppages with the premiership midfield, so now he needs to go back and do it consistently in the WAFL.

It's really not.

He was good at getting contested possessions and clearances but had low Gametime and didn't offer much on transition or defence.

Great experience for him, now that he knows he can match it at stoppages with the premiership midfield, so now he needs to go back and do it consistently in the WAFL.
We're not going to agree so there's really no point in keep going on about it.
I think it was poor.
You don't.

Agree to disagree.

I’d say keep in your best performed this season of the type at all costs though coming in to a derby. Kelly + Reid gives you one more CP combined so far and Hall was on reduced minutes. It’s still a wild call whichever way you slice it for the sake of team balance

View attachment 2264212
1 game isn't a body of work.

Again, he offered little outside of stoppage and for all the flak that Reid copped, for instance, he still had the better game.

It's not some great mystery why he, who came in directly to replace Graham, then goes out for him.

It's really not.

finally someone else who gets it

That’s some spin. He led contested possessions DESPITE 65% TOG, an area we severely lacked competitiveness in for Rd1

You think Hall was the sole difference between rounds 1 & 2 in the middle?

He contributed, for sure, but the fact we had a far more competitive rucka nd Baker went into the middle were big reasons for that.